We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive, but then again, so is everything else in Sydney” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very expensive, but then again, so is everything else in Sydney”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by a very nice receptionist who gave us the card to our room, (incidentally, the key cards are needed to use the lift, saw a lot of people struggling to use the lift because they didn't realise this).

The room was nice, with a view of the building next to us, which on the bright side meant no traffic noises.

Overall a rather nice experience if not hampered by the exessive price of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tonytourist92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found your overall stay was a nice experience with a good room and nice team members.
I am sorry that you found the hotel to be expensive, we believe that compared to other hotels in our area with the same rating, Travelodge Sydney is fantastic value for money.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
wigtownshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel within 15 minutes walk of Sydney Harbour and all it's attractions. Walk through Hyde Park- it's beautiful. Staff were very helpful and friendly . We were able to deposit our luggage and check in later on in the day. You can book a shuttle bus to the airport at a sensible price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizziewigtownshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be comfortable and in a good location for exploring Sydney.
I am delighted that you found the team to be friendly and helpful during your stay.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Close to Museum Railway Station makes this hotel handy for those looking for clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation with easy access to International and Domestic airports. The hotel is also within an easy stroll to China town and Central station making it a great base for a stay in Sydney.

Reception staff are friendly and helpful.

In my view this hotel is best suited to the business traveller or for those requiring no more than one or two nights accommodation.

Don't waste your money on breakfast. I thought it was overpriced for what was offered...better off going to one of the nearby cafes which are opened early morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and affordable with easy access to the airports via museum station.

I am sorry that you thought our breakfast to be overpriced, we believe with variety of hot and cold selections in our all you can eat breakfast buffet it is very good value for money, however I do appreciate your comments.

I am delighted that you found the team to be friendly and helpful during your stay.

Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Surprisingly the room is a lot better than what I had excepted.
I booked 30 days in advance and got 2 nights with 30% off the regular special price. :-)
Good location
No car park in the building but good deal with the Secure Parking a block away.

Room Tip: King bed is huge easily sleep 3 if you must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOT1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you were pleasantly surprised in regards to the room and that you enjoyed the location of the hotel .
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

While we enjoyed our stay at Melbourne travelodge, it's not the same for this one. We booked a twin room and found a doble bed, at our request to divide it, at the reception they told us that we should do it ourselves, just brought us a sheet and forgot the quilt, so we had to ask for it. They told us that the following day everything would be in order, but it didn't happen for the two following days, then we left. I had the sensation that the pillow was not so clean. At arrival the receptionist was a very kind girl, when we left there was a very rude person at the desk, while the girls that showed us where to deposit and pick up our baggage have been very kind. The position of this hotel is very good for going everywhere. Bath towels definitely not big enough.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank koalatrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am sorry to read that Eeele and you did not enjoy your stay at Travelodge Sydney. In regards to your comment about booking a twin but being allocated a queen room, I can only imagine that you have booked on a website where we clearly state that the bedding will be either a queen or a twin and cannot be guaranteed. We do ask you to advise your preferred bedding, and while we try to accommodate all requests, there are some times when it’s just not possible. I am sorry that you were asked to make the bed yourself, please be assured that I will address this with the team.
I was pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the bed to be comfortable the room clean.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We've been there for three nights, after a very good esperience at travelodge Melbourne.
We booked a twin room, but the room we've been given was a double one. I called the reception asking if it was possible to split the bed.. The answer? Of course was possible, but we had to do it by ourselves!! A member staff came to the room to give us one single bed sheet. WE SPLIT THE BED, and at that point we had one single sheet, one double, and only ONE QUILT!! the reception staff told me they were out of bedding stuff, and the day after the would have fix everything.. That never happened. Also, the pillows were quite dirty.
The bath towels were definitely too small. The bathroom was cold. Only ONE FACE TOWEL!!! The staff keep being unfriendly and quite rude in the following days.
The bed was confortable and the room quite clean, but the service was really disappointing.
IS NOT ACCEPTABLE WE HAD HAD TO MAKE OUR OWN BED!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eeele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am sorry to read that koalatrees and you did not enjoy your stay at Travelodge Sydney. In regards to your comment about booking a twin but being allocated a queen room, I can only imagine that you have booked on a website where we clearly state that the bedding will be either a queen or a twin and cannot be guaranteed. We do ask you to advise your preferred bedding, and while we try to accommodate all requests, there are some times when it’s just not possible. I am sorry that you were asked to make the bed yourself, please be assured that I will address this with the team.
I was pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and found the bed to be comfortable the room clean.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

stayed 3 nights for boat show attendance 2013
room on 8 th floor.. a twin with 2 single beds. table 2 chairs. smallish tv with many channels on cabinet (not wall mounted) has microwave and kettle (no toaster) ironing board and some toiletries in bathroom.. bathroom is smallish but has everything.. all day hot water.. don't have to use keycard to make electricity in room work so things can be charged when you're not there . .good fast lifts. we never waited luggage stored securely no charge. and best of all the seemingly all female front desk and supervisors are well trained and very efficient and friendly even when under pressure from the large number of Asians using he hotel.... this place is very handy to most things and this is our third stay so I think that speaks for its self

Room Tip: higher up will eliminate noise from street level which is noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brentt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney and for your continued support.
I am pleased to read that you enjoy staying at Travelodge Sydney and that you are happy to return.
I was also delighted that you find the team to be efficient and friendly.
Thank you again for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney again in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney
Central Business District
Y Hotel Hyde Park
Y Hotel Hyde Park
#109 of 181 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 stars 1,034 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#55 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 3,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#62 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,189 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Phillip Street Sydney City Hotel
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#72 of 181 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing