We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the basics with no make up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“All the basics with no make up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like fancy hall way, concierge, valet etc. do not go there but if you want all the comfort inside your room and do not care the dreary hall corridors basic reception then you will love the location and the amenities inside your room. It is like being in a four start room inside a backpacker shell in a very good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the rooms to be comfortable and that you enjoyed the facilities that the rooms have to offer. Thank you also for your comments about the location of the hotel, I agree that it is a good base for exploring Sydney.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    927
    524
    158
    91
See reviews for
348
700
272
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel provided good value for price given its location. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. I had a business meeting nearby the next day which was convenient. No frills, but not as basic as the Travelodge chain in the UK

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be good value for money and that you found the room to be clean and comfortable.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is just around the corner from Hyde park and is in a really good location. The rooms are really nice and they even have a mini kitchen with a microwave, fridge and cutlery which was good if you wanted to stay in instead of eating out. On the day we checked in there must have been an issue at reception as another couple walked into our room. I know that on the rare occasion this must happen in some hotels and we wasn't too happy but the Manager of the hotel (Heidi) contacted us twice and couldn't be anymore apologetic which I though was really nice. This restored our faith in the hotel and even though this did happen we still wished we could have stayed longer as we enjoyed the rest of our stay. The breakfast was lovely and had a lot of variety and even had decent coffee machines so you could grab a latte or cappachino instead of just normal tea and coffee. If I was visiting Sydney I'd defiantly stay here again, it can be abit pricey for a travelodge but you are in the heart of the city and all the staff are always willing to help.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you still enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel to be perfect for exploring Sydney and that you enjoyed the facilities the rooms have to offer.
I was also delighted that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

good value, great location within walking distance to everything. Ice machines, microwave in room along with sink and cutlery, dishes etc. Big Westfield down the road, Citystore across the road and not far to Central train station. Quick and painless check in and check out. Would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect and that enjoyed the facilities the rooms had to offer and that you found the hotel to be good value.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is just in the RIGHT place! You can live in the heart of the city just for the very reasonable price. The hotel is clean, room is spacious. I will recommend this hotel to everyone, because this is a really good value for your money. Everything I need from the good hotel is tidy and soft bed, clean shower room and central location and I had it all. But if you expect to see marble bathroom, Egyptian cotton sheets, luxury toiletries ...etc then go to the Hyatt :) this is Travelodge, guys!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect and that you found the room to be spacious and good value for money.
Thank you again for your feedback and for recommending Travelodge Sydney, we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed there with a toddler. First thing to mention if you are coming by train - DO NOT USE THE MUSEUM STATION unless you are happy to carry your bags and stroller up multiple stairs as there is are no lifts at all and the station is deep underground. Reach the hotel from the central station instead. Otherwise the location is perfect - within walking distance to all the best attractions, especially Darling Harbour. Rooms small but pleasant. Service very nice, we felt welcome. One of the cleaning ladies (I think her name was Babie, Thanks!) helped us to set up the beds for the little one. Air conditioning was working fine. Overall we were very pleased. On departure we could leave our bags by reception after checking out and pick them up later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be perfect and that you found the rooms to be pleasant.
I was delighted that the team made your feel welcome and that Babie was helpful, I will be sure to pass on your feedback.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here, had booked business trip for 3 nights, I left after the first night..
Room was damp, cold, dark, heating was inefficient.. and worst of all the smell of cigarettes in a ''NON SMOKING HOTEL''!! made the night hell!
Next morning complained to staff, that looked 16 years old.. say sorry out of their control, I said well, i cant stay another night.. then the little [--] had the audacity to say well "you can get a refund on your other 2 nights"" ,I told her that's fine, id rather lose $250 than take 2 more nights of that place... and I went to the Medina.. Emailed Jessica Bergman the manager and she was not even concerned about the conduct of her staff!!
Overall this place reminds me of an over rated youth hostel.. Parking charges are ridiculous and 5oo meters away! staff are uneducated and were all under 20 years old.
it gets one star.. Peace.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay from August last year.
I am sorry that your stay was not the positive experience that I hope all of our guests have.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.