We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Hextable, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

If you are looking for clean, safe and good reasonably priced accommodation in Sydney - very near bus routes and the monorail - then you can't go far wrong. You have everything you might need including a safe, ironing board and iron, reasonable shower, plenty of storage space and small kitchenette. We were on 13th floor which meant when the pubs and clubs kicked out any street noise did not disturb us and there are three lifts so you never wait for long. The bed was large and comfortable although two pillows would have been better.

Our only disappointment was on departure as despite having booked and paid for the airport shuttle 36 hours beforehand it failed to turn up and it turned out that Travelodge did not submit the booking. The next shuttle was full so I, reasonably I thought, asked for a cab at Travelodge's expense. The desk clerk did not handle the situation very well and when you need to get to the airport in prep for a 24 hour flight, you really can do without the hassle. Having said that, when I demanded to speak to the duty manager she was very good and had us in a cab and on our way in about 3 minutes flat! That's the way to do it to keep your customers happy.

Room Tip: High up means quieter stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you found Travelodge Sydney to be clean, safe and reasonably priced accommodation.
Please accept my apology that there was an issue with the shuttle bus, but I am pleased to read that the duty manager had you on the way to the airport quickly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    1,071
    608
    198
    109
See reviews for
418
819
323
343
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Good location near to Museum Station and also to the free bus service that runs down to the main ferry quay. The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We had a minor problem which was sorted in the best manner they could.

I would have rated this excellent except that the WIFI was very expensive and to my mind the breakfast (which we did not eat) was too expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you found the location to be in a good position and close to public transport.
I was also delighted to read that you found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Travel lodge went worth was our first stop in Sydney however the last stop was Novotel Hotel darling harbor on our way back from Melbourne.

During the check in time, we were asked to wait till 1:00 p.m. We humbly requested the front desk officer to accommodate us by 12:00 p.m as after long Haul flight (15 hours), we were pretty dead tired. Nevertheless, we were accommodated at 12:00 p.m. But seems that Hotel check in policy (2:00 pm) is quite stringent even if the rooms are available than.

The best part of our stay was the hotel location as we walked all the way to Darling harbor as well as Circular quay with our 5 years old daughter and indeed found it easy to manage:). Also its very close to Museum Station, in case if you plan to take train from Airport to CBD.

We got 3 single beds room which was pretty much sufficient for 3 of us therefore in case if you are family of 3, pls ask the front desk staff to allocate you one of those rooms (without any additional charge). The room which was allocated to us was clean with microwave, cutlery, teapot and fridge in it which was very handy for us to make our own breakfast. We didn`t try hotels breakfast hence can`t comment on it.

In a nutshell, if you want to stay close to all happening places in Sydney at a reasonable rate with a nice room, than Travelodge Sydney should be in your consideration set!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
Our check in time is guaranteed at 2pm, if the room is ready prior to this we are more than happy to check our guests in prior to 2pm, however if the room is not ready, we can store your bags for you until the room is ready. I would always encourage those who are arriving early to book the night prior so your room is guaranteed to be ready as soon as you arrive.
I am pleased that you found the hotel and its location perfect for your family to explore Sydney and close to public transport.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was a great place to stay. We were close to everything in the CBD of Sydney. Our car was safe so we left it and went mostly on foot around the city. The room was clean with a beautiful veiw of the city. The bed was big and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our stay was a lot of fun and we loved the motel. Oh and the price was fantastic...all in all we will be telling friends about our stay. Thanks for everyhing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you have found Travelodge Sydney to be in a great location to explore Sydney by foot. I was also delighted to read that your found the team to be friendly and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Adequate Hotel - generally good value if you can snare a good deal on their website. Tuesday's they have specials regularly. Have stayed here frequently over the past year. Reception staff, hit and miss. There always appears to be someone in "Training" on the front desk when I check in. Rooms are a little on the small size, basic fit out though very well insulated - never heard a neighbour and minimal noise from corridor. Bathroom basic though adequate. Fine for a short stay and somewhere to sleep. Rooms always appear to be clean. Small table in each room with plenty of power outlets which is handy if you have to work.
Hotel always appears full of sporting groups - tracksuits and ugg boots - so beware of the bogans, The breakfast is very ordinary - mass produced buffet with questionable eggs - not sure if they're real. Coffee is disgusting. Walk around the corner to College St or wander down to East Sydney, Darlinghurst cafes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your continued support and for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am pleased that you have found Travelodge Sydney to be a clean, good value and the rooms well insulated during your numerous stays with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland WA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent two nights here. The room was small but clean and, despite its size, very functional. The breakfast that was included in the rate we signed up for was adequate and, given the high price of everything in Sydney, a good value.

Although we had requersted double beds, all that was avaialble was a room with twins. Fortunately the beds were comfortable so it wasn't any big deal to ot get our original request, We weren't bothered by street noise. It's easy to get to from the airport (two blocks from the Museum station on CityRail). We were abvle to walk to everything we had time to see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found your room to be clean and functional and that your thought breakfast was good value. I was also pleased to read that you thought Travelodge Sydney to be in a good location to explore Sydney.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The first impression - at the check-in counter was the deciding factor - I will not return. We booked a Queen room and were told we had been allocated a room with two single beds - then the counter staff and duty manager proceeded to try to make it our fault. Only persistence led to them finding a double room.

Bad attitude and no concept of service or pleasant manners

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeidiHuynh, Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
In regards to your comment about booking a queen but being allocated a twin room, I can only imagine that you have booked on a website where we clearly state that the bedding will be either a queen or a twin and cannot be guaranteed. We do ask you to advise your preferred bedding, and while we try to accommodate all requests, there are some times when it’s just not possible, however I am pleased on this occasion we were able to meet your request.
If you would like to discuss any part of your stay in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.