We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills...but perfect for what we needed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Sydney to your Saves list
Travelodge Sydney
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“No frills...but perfect for what we needed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I booked the Travelodge for two reasons...price was affordable for Sydney, location close to Sydney Entertainment Centre & I could have a connecting room for 6 girls, 3 in each room (which also meant 2 bathrooms plus each room had lucky three mirror areas - handy for that many girls).

We were in Sydney for 2 nights to see Roxette (excellent concert) and wanted to be able to walk to most places which with Museum station just around the corner, Circular Quay was only two stops away & the beautiful Hyde Park (worth a walk through the centre) meant nothing felt two far away. Also Darling Harbour in the other direction a 10-15 min walk...down past Chinatown, with Paddys Markets & also the Entertainment & Convention centre in this location. It is a little confusing when you first leave the hotel as to the direction of where you need to go, due to the many streets going in all directions, but ask the front desk, use google maps on your phone or use this simple tip....exiting the hotel - Hyde Park to your left, Darling Harbour, Chinatown to your right.

The hotel itself had a small but friendly reception area...we were lucky enough to have our room ready when we arrived at 11am from airport, which I have heard that almost does not happen at Travelodge. We did not have the reception area busy...but on occasion we come down and the area was very busy...but the staff seemed to clear this very quickly.

Our room was on the sixth floor...they are on the smallish size (but ours had three single beds in each)...their was a small table, kitchenette area (sink, microwave, kettle) and small bathroom which was adequate for a shower. The room had iron & ironing board plus hairdryer in the bathroom, plus an area to hang clothes if required. The beds were not something I would rave about but they did the job...we spent most of our time out of the room, just coming back to rest our feet and get ready for the next adventure...so we found this adequate for what we required. We were not woken by noise of any kind or the lifts that our rooms were close to...however in saying this both nights we arrived home late & were exhausted from our day/night out.
One thing that I would complain about is the air conditioner...it did not really ever get the room cold...which we found it a little frustrating when the hallway of hotel was cooler than our room...we managed... but would make me not want to go in the heat of summer to this hotel.

Internet down in the front waiting lobby area (bar area) with the cost being $2 for 30 mins (might have been 20mins)...with print outs costing around 50c each (if you need to print your boarding pass).

Luggage room was helpful to leave bags after check out...we helped the girl place all ours in the room which helped when finding them as this room gets extremely packed with bags.

Area tips....
1. Great dumping place called Din Tai Fung which is on level 1 of the World Square Shopping Centre building around a 5min walk away. Always busy...so get in early or be prepared for 45-1 hour wait for table.
2. Nice thai place just up the road - Longgrain. You need to book as gets very busy, prices are up there around $35-$40 a main..but the atmosphere is nice and they have a cocktail bar downstairs.
3. Convenience Supermarket - across the road (7-11 style)
4. Bigger Supermarket - just down road to your right

Hope this helps...have fun in Sydney!
Kirst

Room Tip: Once I had made the booking on line...I rang them before we came around a week to check that we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Kirst0001

Thank you for your recent review which we appreciate. I hope you will come back to Travelodge Sydney when you are next in Sydney.

With thanks
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    926
    521
    158
    91
See reviews for
348
699
269
284
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

I'm glad we didn't stay in circular quay area as it would have been too far from points of interest around town. Travelodge wentworth is within walking distance of everything around cetral. Rooms are clean, reasonable space, and beds are comfy enough. Service can be improved as they didnt replace the handtowels during our stay. If you want a room with a view this may not be the hotel for you. But for the price, convenience and quality, hard to beat this one.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear happyrichcouple_lol

We appreciate your recent review and hope you will return to stay when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Rooms small, pillows rock hard, airconditioning unit leaked leaving puddles of water and wet iron, "Extremely Noisy", would not recommend at all.

Staff friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Travelbug 0809

Thank you for your feedback. If you would like to discuss please contact me at the hotel, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012 via mobile

Good place to stay if all you're wanting is a bed for the night. Good location with shuttle bus to the airport. Downsides: parking is a block away, lifts can be temperamental, no room service available, no mini bar, no fitness facility and rooms are quite small and stuffy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear BronL

Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate it! I hope you will consider staying here again when you are next in Sydney!

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Travelodge Sydney on Wentworth, however, we sadly mistook this hotel for the Travelodge at Wynyard. We got off the train at the Wynyard hotel which looked very nice and modern. We were directed to the hotel on Wentworth which was not as nice. I couldn't believe that there was NO Internet in the hotel, not even a wired connection. There were two computers in the lobby that you paid for but the browser was antiquated and incredibly SLOW.

The room was small and not very clean. The walls in the bedroom and bathroom was dirty and they only left us 2 towels for a triple room. When we went to call the front desk, we realized the phone wasn't set up to call downstairs. The A/C didn't work very well and despite being set at 17 degrees, it never even got close to that.

The upside of the hotel was that it was only 2 blocks from the Museum train station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
Dear scstar2000

Thank you for your recent TripAdvisor review, I am sorry that you don't appear to have enjoyed your stay.

Specifically to address your comments there are 4 computers located in the upper lobby for guest use which the hotel does not operate but I will be sure to go and check them myself for the speed of the internet.

With regards to wifi, it is provided on Levels 14-18 - that is 100 rooms in the hotel and I can assure you we never have 400 guest rooms requesting use in fact on average we have about 30 rooms a day who use the internet.

I appreciate your feedback regarding housekeeping and will certainly address the issues you have raised with the housekeeping department today.

If you would like to discuss further please don't hesitate to contact me at the hotel.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Have several occassions to book this hotel on business trip in Sydney.

Location is a little far away from George Street, like 4-5 blocks to World Square, and 2 blocks to Hyde Park.

Closet station is Museum with the circle line.

Room is standard travelodge style, no fancy thing and you got a mini kitchen with Microwave, Fridge and sink. You got a shower in bathroom neat and clean.

I always prefer other hotels than this one, as it is far from George street. When it comes to busy season, this one won't disappointed me to come within my business budget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Travelodge, and we could not fault it,staff were very helpful as my husband had to call a Dr for me when I became very ill,the staff had a Dr to our room within five minutes they then checked on me for the next two days.Very clean,good location, We will be definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelodgesydneygm, General Manager at Travelodge Sydney, responded to this review, February 12, 2012
Dear Pateena's

Thank you very much for your positive TripAdvisor review, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the team were so helpful.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Joanne Jenkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Sydney

Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.