We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your SPG points nor hard earn't cash on this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #26 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Don't waste your SPG points nor hard earn't cash on this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

After staying at the Westin Sydney for one night I have come to realise that these 5 star hotels better start picking up their game if they want to survive in the global economic crisis we are flowing in.

I wasted 4000 SPG points and $67 AU dollars on this place, I thought was going to be a belated birthday treat for myself.

The check in staff were surley, non helpful and really couldn't give a rats about you even if you were an SPG client, were we are suppose to get preferrential treatment.

Thank god I didn't pay full price for the room, and I recommend NO ONE pays full price for the room.

Room service food at night was cold and soggy for a childs meal and the fish nuggets smelt dodgy.

$18 the next morning for Eggs Benedict that looked like it had been sitting on the breakfast buffett for a couple of hours. After complaing about this at check out expecting at least some monies to be taken off the bill, all I got was "I'll take your complaint up with management". Not good enough, treat your customers right for god sakes, if the food is rotton refund the money.

$8.00 delivery charge and a GST on top of that, get real!!!!!!!!!!!

Air con that rattled all night with temperatures all over the place and when I advised the reception on check out all I got was "did you call when this was occuring" my response was, ummmm not it was 3.00am in the morning and I didn't want to wake my child up, me being awake was bad enough.

Over pricing for room service, non appealing menu, and basically feeling like a third rate citizen when checking in and out. Thanks but no thanks.

I don't recommend this hotel to anyone, don't stay there, if your an SPG member go to Four Points Sheraton, there you'll be treated how an SPG client is meant to be treated.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    631
    179
    78
    66
See reviews for
307
793
176
596
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I have just returned from a 'heavenly' four night stay at The Westin, with my husband and two adult daughters.
We had separate tower superior rooms, with views of the clocktower.
The hotel is beautiful architecturally- it was like entering a temple-( the hotel is incorporated into the old GPO building)-and very centrally located- shops/department stores, public transport, The Rocks, Circular Quay, all an easy stroll. (Coles was a few doors down, which saved us a fortune on mini-bar purchases!)
The quiet rooms, ( I had to remind myself I was in the middle of a capital city), were decorated in a modern, classic style. The very clean, marble bathrooms included a shower with a choice of two showerheads, (I liked the rain shower), and a deep bath, large fluffy towels/robes and a good selection of toiletries.
The beds were indeed, as advertised, 'Heavenly'-very comfortable/beautiful, white linen.
The pool was quite a walk , up stairs, down corridors and I would not consider it to be 5 star-($5 charge for towels)
Without doubt, the highlight was the buffet breakfast in Mosaic-superb food/lovely ambience.
Definately worth trying to find a room rate including breakfast, as it is $42 dollars if you don't. (Try the advanced purchase rate on The Westin website)
Already planning a return visit-next time-the Executive Suite!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

Though this hotel is in a great central location with modern, clean rooms, the service leaves a lot to be desired. A hotel with great infrastructure and bad staff is not a great hotel; it makes for a merely average property, one I wouldn't visit again, unless I got a great deal. The concierge was generally not helpful, did not smile and did not appear to really want to help. Sydney is not a particularly easy place to explore, given its confusing bus system, and the concierge provided absolutely no help in this regard. The front desk was just as unhelpful and had a generally bad attitude.

The room was spacious, with a large LCD TV and a nice marble-clad bathroom with one sink and a separate tub and shower. Oddly, there was a large closet but no drawers, so we basically had to live out of our bags. This was the only design flaw in an otherwise well designed room.

The gym situation is terrible--hotel guests have privileges at a large health club. It is a 5-10 minute walk over internal bridges, up and down some stairs and down some elevators. Moreover, you must bring a towel from the room to use the gym; otherwise, they charge you $5 for the use of a towel, which is simply outrageous. The hotel only alerts you to this fact via a small placard in the bathroom.

This could be a great property in a world-class city. As it stands, it is an average to above-average property in a world-class city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

I just finished a week long stay in a tower deluxe room at the Westin and was extremely pleased. The property is certainly a flagship within the Westin brand and the combination of the old General Post Office and high-rise tower provides for interesting architectural contrasts and updated standards of luxury.

Our room was quite large, the air conditioning strong yet quiet, the Bose music system pleasant to the ear, the lighting superb, and the bed and bath worthy of their "heavenly" moniker, especially the extremely deep soaking tub and the separate shower with both rainbath and hand showerheads.

The room was virtually spot-free and the housekeeping service timely and efficient each day. Breakfast (normally $42 per person) was included in our special SPG promotional rate and was bountiful and of great quality, and the restaurant really showcases the architectural interest of the building.

Food in Sydney tends toward the expensive side yet the quality of the meal is often unremarkable. Given that, we ate several meals at the casual restaurants in the bottom level of the hotel, even though they aren't directly affiliated with the Westin. Quite satisfactory pizzas and fishes can be had quickly for less than $20 AUD, and we found that a good option compared to food that was no better, but twice the time and money.

Because I loved so many things about the hotel, I'm giving it a top rating, but I did have a few niggles:

1. The health club available to hotel guests within the complex doesn't belong to the hotel, and while the equipment was decent and plentiful, the steam room and change areas weren't of 5-star luxury status and the pool had been closed for an emergency issue.

2. I fully agree with other reviewer comments about staff attitude. Many were great but some were not. The concierge mentioned in an earlier review had a condescending attitude that was laughable and since it has been mentioned in more than one review, the manager should polish that up a bit.

3. I always get Hilton upgrades and never need to even ask, but I often have trouble getting the comp. upgrades with SPG. The young lady who checked us in didn't even mention my Gold status, and when I asked about the upgrade she simply responded that it was not guaranteed. I then indicated that I knew upgraded rooms were available for the length of our stay and that if she was having trouble finding them in inventory that perhaps we could consult the manager. That said, she produced the upgraded room in a blink.

The location is excellent and actually a bit quieter than some other tourist areas. Sydney is quite walkable, but ferry and bus service are both excellent and the Wynyard Station is 3 minutes away and gives train service direct to Circular Quay. We stayed a week and found the $46 combined transit pass a bargain, especially if you use the enjoyable ferry service and travel out to Bondi and Bronte Beaches.

The Opera House tour is memorable and if you arrive without having secured performance tickets in advance, it is wise to go immediately to the box office as soon as you arrive in the city, as seats to better-known performances can be difficult to come by and do sell out. The food hall at David Jones nearby is worth a look, especially for snacks and pastries, and if you are looking for a cocktail with the hip crowd, skip down George a few blocks toward the rocks to the Establishment.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

Our family of 4 (incl. 2 kids under 3) stayed here on the weekend and had a wonderful time. Everything was of the highest quality and the breakfast was absolutely world class. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very quiet and private. Would recommend it to anyone. A superb experience and so close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

This place is amazing. From the grand entrance through the old GPO, to the great service, gorgeous rooms, amazing bathrooms and very comfortable beds, this place is by far the best hotel we've stayed in in Sydney. Not only that, but unlike a lot of Sydney CBD hotels, it's extremely quiet. Because it's on Martin place (which is not open to traffic) and behind the old GPO building, the rooms are completely free of any traffic noise. Not only that, but the walls are thick and well insulated, and we didn't hear a peep the whole time we were there (we stayed on the 7th floor of the tower).

People have mentioned over-priced room service, but it seemed pretty average for a hotel of this quality, and we ordered some huge sandwiches with fries for only $21.

One thing you can't miss out on (and we were lucky in that it came complimentary with the room) is the ENORMOUS buffet breakfast in the mosaic restaurant. This restaurant is located on an indoor balcony on the 1st floor overlooking the GPO and the massive glass ceiling. The staff there are very friendly and it's all you can eat style with everything you can imagine: from hot meals to sweet breads to fruits and cheeses. All of it is delicious (I think I ate about twice as much as usual) and the setting is superb. Even if you try it just once - make sure you do!

Anyway, I can't say enough about this hotel and we will certainly stay there again when we're back in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2009

The Westin in Sydney has a great location, only a 30 minute walk to the Opera House, same distance to Darling Harbour and smack in the middle of the Business District. The hotel caters for business travelers, and I suppose these people don't mind whether or not the staff is friendly. Because they're not really. Don't get me wrong: they're not mean or arrogant, it's just that they can't be bothered to smile or go that little bit extra for the customers.

Rooms are divine: very large, beautiful bathroom and of course the famously comfortable Heavenly Bed. Internet was not wireless nor free, but the speed was ok. Breakfast was included in my rate and definitely to be recommended. Fresh fruit galore, egg station, fresh bread and pastries, juices, cappuccino, you name it.

In all, it's a fair hotel, and with a good rate a very safe and comfortable bet. But there are nicer, friendlier hotels out there, of which the Four Seasons beats them all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.