We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Cambridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

stayed in the Westin for 5 nights in October, what a brilliant hotel!! we were met upon arrival and bags were taken from us. we were whisked to reception to check in. as it was 7am the room would not be available to a few hours. the receptionist took my mobile phone number and said she would call when the room was available and sure enough at 10am i got the phonecall.

when i arrived in the room the bags were already there. the room was gorgeous! very big with a huge bed which was so comfy that everytime i sat on it i nearly fell asleep!! the bathroom was just as good with a huge shower and a rainforest showerhead too! (i struggled to get the rainforest showerhead to work but reception staff were very helpful) the bath was big enough for tow people and had a huge glass window looking out into the room. great if you were with a partner and were happy to be seen in the bath but if not there was an electronic blind that came down.

the room was cleaned every day and the shampoos etc replaced every day. there was even free bottled water and ice every evening!

staff were very helpful and polite. i did not eat in the hotel but the prices were quite high. a little tip, if you go down the stairs in reception there are a vast array of restaurants and bars that serve lunch. (i did not spot them until the final day and it looked very busy but i cannot comment on prices or quality of food).
great location 10 min walk from harbour, 5 minutes to the right of the hotel was a huge food court with great choices of food at great prices!! also brilliant shops within 10 mins walking distance!

i would def recommend this hotel to people and would def go back! worth the money i paid to stay there!

  • Liked — great room! great location!
  • Disliked — prices of room service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    566
    163
    72
    62
See reviews for
270
713
168
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2008

We had a great weekend escape at the Westin Sydney. Lovely furnishings & great location if shopping is on the agenda. Taxi's at your door and the atmosphere is comforting.

  • Liked — Let's go shopping!!!!
  • Disliked — A fair walk to the habour.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2008

I decided to treat my wife to a mini break by staying at the Westin Hotel in Sydney, Australia.
We have previously eaten to this Hotel on many occassions and have been well treated by the team and have really enjoyed the experience.
When we arrived at the Hotel for our stay, the receptionist was engaged with a customer, but within a split second, we were approached by another staff member (badge said supervisor) and were booked in quickly and efficiently wit a full explanation of all services at our disposal. He even booked a table at their Mosaic restaurant for us.

The room was very well appointed and in modern taste, which we were very comfortable with.

The service and quality of the food was exceptional. The wine list a little underdone, but adequate.

In the morning, the breakfast was fantastic.

The checkout process was fast and efficient.

We will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We stayed at the Westin for 2 nights in July. We had an Executive Superior Room which overlooked the clock tower. Having booked on the internet, we got a very good price for our room. This included breakfast in the Westin Club room, not a huge selection but adequate for my husband and I. We found the room to be spotlessly clean with beautiful clean white linen (I'm very particular about clean linen and duvet covers). The bathroom was lovely and having a seperate WC. The two shower head option was nice and I did not have a problem with water pressure. The location is very good, only 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and Hyde Park, one minute walk from Pitt St Mall.

Concierge is very helpful. Great food available in the lower level food court. The internet is available in their business centre and it was fast and also had printers available for guests use, which I found to be excellent.

We will be staying here again upon our return to Sydney and we will be recommending this hotel to our friends.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

I couldn't find anything to dislike about the Westin Sydney, but then again, I'm usually not a 5-star hotel traveller, so maybe it was easy to be impressed! The check-in process was prompt, and the staff were reasonably friendly. The view from the room wasn't great, and we didn't get a room with a bathtub separated from the bedroom by a sheet of glass (what you will see in some of the travellers' pictures here). But we didn't have any major complaints, because the bed was very comfortable and the room was always clean and well made-up when we got back every evening. It was also very spacious, with the toilet and shower partitioned off from each other. The concierge in the lobby was friendly and knowledgeable and readily gave us directions to the factory outlets when we asked. Even though we weren't business travellers and certainly weren't dressed as such, I didn't notice any difference in treatment as some reviewers have noted here.

  • Liked — Accessible location, comfortable bed and luxurious room
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is the second time I have stayed here and I didn’t like it 2 years ago and I still don’t Oh yes, you’ll be impressed by the décor and the general finish of the place. But just wait till you have a shower. Now you know how annoying it is when you have a shower and someone in the house washes their hands or flushes the toilet. Well, imagine that in a hotel. The fluctuations were so severe I tried to shower very late at night but even then I kept getting frozen or burnt. Unbelievable, in 2 years they never bothered to fix it. Also, I don’t know why but the Heavenly bed just didn’t feel so heavenly.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS + CPH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in the end of August 2008. The room was a executive floor room on the 29th floor, with a nice view of the Sydney skyline. Included in the rate was breakfast at the Westin Club.

The location is certainly central. Placed in the middle of Pitt street, it's a 5 minute walk to the harbour. It IS a central business district style location, and not touristy, but i preferred it that way.

The hotel is part of the huge Martin Place 1 highrise, which also features the main post office (historic building), super markets, shops and offices. The lobby and reception area is nice. and modern and well lit. There is a lot of people in the lobby area at all times.

Checkin was quick and easy. No problems. There seems to be lines at the usual check-in and check-out times, but I arrived very early, so that wasn't a problem for me. As part of the room charge, they allowed early check-in (7 in the morning), so that was great.

The room was nice. The design is obviously contemporary which I personally prefer. The build quality and look/feel of the recent renovation, wasn't really that great. In the details, there are certainly room for improvement. Bathroom fixtures mounted a bit crooked, mended paint jobs, a spot of mold in the shower, etc. I mean, honestly, they are small points. TV worked good, reception was good, some pixelation once in a while on the cable/satellite feed. Lighting system was among the best I have seen, very easy to use, and well marked. The bed was sort of a mixed experience. I noticed the gentleman on this site, who mentioned he couldn't get a nights sleep in the bed - I sort of agree. The bed is very very soft. If you are used to a firm bed, it will be complicated getting used to. Also, it seems that one matress was firmer than the other, im not sure if this is by design, or because one has seen more use. The curtain between the bathroom and room was a cute novelty detail.

Internet connection was wired only. They provide a (short) cable in the room. Phone system was easy, as everything goes to a call center sort of function, and that was brilliant - instead of the usual 8 numbers you have to call.

Cleaning was sort of ok. The first day I arrived the floor was dirty because someone had installed/repaired something in the vicinity of the TV system. so there was little white bubbles from the electronics wrapping + some screws and a loose jumper on the floor. Sunday cleaning never happened, as the staff left early, but monday cleaning was much better. No fresh flowers. Anemities are simple and not really luxurious in any way.

Room service food was poor. I tried 3-4 different dishes and they were pretty sad. Even the classic room service burger had low quality meat, dry, boring and tasteless. The complimentary water appeared on two out of five days. The minibar was replenish 3 times. Room service and minibar prices were OK compared to the location and country.

I guess the real question here is - is this a 4 star hotel or a 5 star? I'd say its a upper end 4 star. And at that it's good. It's no where near international 5 star level. Prices are fair - so take it for what it is. :)

  • Liked — Design
  • Disliked — Food, bed, cleaning
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.