We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational central CBD luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane (QLD)
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sensational central CBD luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed at the Westin a few times over the past months for business and can't imagine stashing anywhere else now, I have been completely spoit for other hotels. Both the old heritage rooms with the high ornate ceilings and old world charm pt the modern towers with views out over Martin place and beyond. As with all Westin's the beds are to die for... Love the hotel and the amenities, central location, staff are always helpful curteous and unobtrusive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear surfside9640

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and delighted to learn The Westin Sydney is your preferred hotel when travelling to Sydney. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,133
    592
    166
    73
    65
See reviews for
291
746
173
555
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved it. Well located and good vibe inside. Good breakfast and nice bar at ground level. Very well located and walking distance to most of the major stuff to do in Sydney. We spent 4 nights there and it was great. Wifi is expensive 56$ for 3 days, wifi should be free in these type of hotels....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Bernard F

Thank you for your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location as well as our SuperFoodsRX breakfast.

We appreciate your comments regarding our internet offering and as you may be aware it is currently our practice to allow our guests the option to purchase this service if they wish. We do also offer complimentary wireless internet access in the Lobby, Mosaic Restaurant and The Bar. We sincerely regret if this service did not meet your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Good thing about staying at this hotel you always know what to expect. A well appointed room with deep tub and rain forrest shower. Comfortable bed and a great view over Martin Place. Always great service and professional staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear woofiedo

We are grateful for your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your visits at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Having never stayed at a Westin hotel before only there sister hotel ! Stayed on the 9th June in a club room with my two teen daughter we had a fabulous time ! Check in was lovely and friendly , we where early so our bags where taken care of why we went shopping . We came back for afternoon tea the services was wonderful as we came back for drinks before we headed down to the harbour to see the lights the staff wish us a happy night . We came back later that night and had dinner down stairs . Next morning had breakfast in the lounge which was excellent . Our view from level 26 I think club level was wonderful , a very quiet floor . We had two double bed which was great for the 3 of us and nice and quite . When we arrived back home I released I had left something in the room so I rang and they had my article they said they would keep it for me for three months which is great as we live in newcastle , so today we went back and within 15 min I had received my article . Very friendly Thank you tall the wonderful team . We will be back .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Karen J

Thank you for conveying your comments following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of our central location to attend Vivid 2014. We were also very pleased our associates could assist with storing the items you left behind during your stay.

We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your family again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This hotel is fantastic. I really enjoy staying here when on business in Sydney. It is very convenient to all the CBD locations, food and service impeccable.

The hotel service is also very good the only downside is that the rooms can be a little small sometimes but for a business hotel these are adequate and very stylish.


A return visit is imminent !

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Rma123

We are grateful for your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed again - once again I was not disappointed. Right from the moment you set foot in the lobby the experience is warm and friendly with top efficiency.

Room was really well provided in terms of facilities and its always good to have good internet speed.

As for the location what more can you say - easy to access from airport by cab or train - Wynyard station is a mere few hundred metres from door on George Street. Some of the funkiest Sydney street bars a short stroll or you can sit downstairs and watch the many different Sydney types cross bustling Martin Place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks Martin Place - don't worry about the clock it stops chimining at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Stuart3124

We are pleased to read your review following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and you could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not that The Westin Sydney needs another fantastic review, but I'd just like to add my own praise for this fabulous establishment.

The staff were friendly and professional, the rooms were immaculate and spacious. Bathrooms in hotels are a big make-or-break for me, and their bathroom did not disappoint. Large tub, separate toilet and shower. Loved the generous sized wardrobe with mirrors.

Had a drink at the hotel bar, which was quite pricey, we racked up $60 for 2 cocktails. Wish out reservation came with a bar voucher! Well, I guess you'd expect things to cost a kidney at such a beautiful luxury hotel.

Great location, walking distance to Pitt Street mall, QVB, and most restaurants and bars in the CBD, taxi rank just outside, and train station close by if you need it.

Really enjoyed our stay, and would definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Samantha F

We are delighted to read your review following your recent stay with us. We are appreciative of your recommendations and thrilled you enjoyed staying with us. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.