We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #26 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Historic Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

From the moment I pulled up in valet I had to pinch myself. At least two valet staff were outside ready to open my vehicle door, greet me with a friendly demeanour and unload my luggage.

I was ushered inside to checkin, and although the lobby was busy, i was greeted with a friendly smile and hello by no less than three other staff before i made it to the checkin counter.

Within 10 minutes I found myself wondering through to the 'Historic Wing' which I was hoping didn't mean old and drab. I was pleasantly surprised as i entered my room which was spacious, beautifully decorated with modern antiquity.

Spotless, neat, well maintained and comfortable, unlike most hotel rooms it was a pleasure to relax in and I felt no need to rush out.

The restaurant and bar offer more excellent customer service and the food was good. If you are a little introverted you can find more options downstairs inside the hotel, but if you are up for an adventure you are in the middle of Sydney's CBD so head outside and explore.

On a final note, the room service was prompt and the food quality high plus I also had a massage in the day spa attached to the hotel and would highly recommend for any professional or holiday goer looking to relax.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear brendon b

We are very much appreciative of your review following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and you enjoyed our Heritage accommodation rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,198
    632
    180
    78
    66
See reviews for
307
796
176
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Two years ago, I stayed at the Westin and I absolutely loved it. So when this hotel came up again when I booked a Wotif Secret Stay earlier in the year, I was curious to see whether I would still be as blown away with it as I was the last time and whether I would be still be as impressed with both the hotel and its rooms and the quality of second-to-none service I received the last time. On the first count, as to the beauty of the hotel and the amazing quality of its room rooms, the answer is an absolutely overwhelming unconditional, beyond doubt 1 million per cent yes, The second count is more difficult to answer. Service is still excellent and, in some areas, it is still second to none but there is room for improvement in other areas

Unfortunately, my trip got off to a bad start. When I arrived at the hotel, lugging three heavy bags and with the relatively obvious disability that I had, I was not impressed that there seemed to be no porters/doormen at the entrance to meet me and help with my bags. At approximately 3:00PM on a Friday afternoon, shortly a hotel of this star rating could and should do better and indeed I’m sure it did the last time I was here. I was further distinctly unimpressed by the porter/baggage clerk or whoever it was on the desk nearest to the door whom, when I entered noticeably struggling with my heavy bags, made no effort to come and help me until I suggested it to him. This was further compounded, after having checked in, by having to wait an indeterminate amount of time for my bags to be delivered to my room, to the extent that I actually had to call up the one touch service people and tell them I was waiting for my luggage. I think the people on duty that day really could have lifted their game a bit

Having said that, I found the porters/doormen on subsequent days to be very friendly, helpful and receptive when I needed help getting a taxi. This was particularly true of whoever was on duty on Sunday night, who was very warm and friendly and took a personal interest in my plans for that evening. And the porters and baggage staff who helped me out with my check out were also wonderful –attentive, helpful and delivered my bags right into the boot of the car that was picking me up. Really great service on their part

This hotel is every bit as breathtakingly beautiful in its design and decoration as I remember it –really pleasing on the eye and an absolutely marvelous structure and interior that is just amazing to see. Really, the people in charge of the design and decoration of this place really cannot be commended enough for their creativity and genius in coming up with such an absolutely out-of-this world result

My room was modern, upmarket state of the art, spacious, beautifully designed and decorated, immaculately furnished and just an amazing once-in-a-lifetime experience within itself. Whoever designed these hotel rooms and decided on how it should be furnished and decorated must have had a creativity on a whole new level because, each time I stay here, I am totally blown away by how breathtakingly beautiful and well-designed the rooms are. I said in an earlier review that the hotel rooms here are among the best that I’ve ever stayed in during my worldwide travels and I absolutely stand by it. From the immaculately beautiful carpeting, to the wonderful and elegant furnishings, to the wooden paneling in certain sections of the room to the beautiful blue vase-like lamp on the way to the bathroom to the elegant marble design of the bathroom, to the beautiful blue doors that enclose the cordoned off toilet and shower (and, as noted last time, the amazing design of that whole area in the bathroom is really a very creative and well-thought out novelty in itself) to the way that the light in the bathroom reflects through and out from those blue doors –the whole room really is just such a magnificent artistic masterpiece. The design of the room also radiates an ambience that is so pleasantly upmarket and sophisticated and yet so warm and welcoming and which makes it an absolute pleasure in which to stay. As I said in my earlier review, I could (and did) spend hours in the room just enjoying my surroundings and soaking up the wonderful environment. Really, the rooms here are out of this world and it is always such a great privilege and pleasure to stay in them and I am already missing my room and the surreal experience I had while in it

The room also has the luxuries and amenities you’d expect in this type of hotel. If it were lacking anything, I did not notice it and –indeed –it had everything I needed and wanted for a great stay. It was wonderful to have three types of showering options available –a hand shower, a bath and an overhead shower (even if I couldn’t figure out how to work the overhead shower, which was not a big issue) and it was impressive that –even with all the facilities placed within it –the bathroom was still so amazingly spacious. I liked that there were chairs on both sides of the room, although a footrest would come in handy for at least one of them. The softness and the comfort of the bed and pillows made sleeping here both amazingly comfortable and pleasurable. The radio clock was easy to turn on and off, although the time on the clock seemed to be several minutes behind the actual time. I also note that the clock had not been reset since the last visitor here, meaning I was startled on the first morning to here classical music seemingly coming out of nowhere! That was actually quite a pleasant surprise, however, and I actually kept the timer on that setting for the rest of my stay. While I didn’t use it much, the TV was easy to operate and straightforward to use –something that has sometimes been a problem in other hotels so I really appreciated that. I liked how the bar fridge was well stocked but still with more than ample room for you to store your own products, not like some hotels where you have to squeeze everything in with delicate maneuvering. The temperature in the room was easy to adjust and very pleasant

I was in a different section of the hotel from last time and, this time, the view from my window was of what I presume to be the atrium of the hotel. It was still very beautiful and impressive and pleasurable to look out upon

I have only one quite major complaint about my stay in this room –why were there so many power outages in my room while I was there? The lights in my hotel room went out at least twice every day and the power was off for quite a while. I’ve never encountered such a frequent loss of power in any other hotel of any star rating during my worldwide travels and my guess is that there must be some fault with the electrical wiring somewhere? The hotel might want to get their electrical system examined. I must concede that, to be honest, it didn’t bother me for much of my stay because the overall loveliness of the room largely negated it but, on my second last night here, when the lights went off at approximately 2:00AM in the morning, it really frightened and unnerved me. This is not acceptable from a hotel of this star rating and is very disappointing

The room service menu seemed to be lacking a few items from last time and was slightly overpriced but that, having been said, the portions were generous and what I had was really good value for money. I was absolutely amazed on the first day at the size of the breakfast delivered, I don’t think I have ever seen that large a breakfast in any other hotel I’ve stayed in that I can remember. I was suitably impressed

Also, I couldn’t find the usual guide that one usually finds in a hotel room that lists all the hotel’s services and facilities. Was there one in the room? This was slightly confusing for me, perhaps I just wasn’t looking in the right places

Internet charges here are still too high and I don’t understand why many Australian hotels need to have them at all, given that most hotels around the world offer internet access in your room as a complimentary service. Nevertheless, the Internet connection –for the most part –worked smoothly and efficiently



In terms of the wider hotel, concierge service at the hotel was, for the most part, excellent and I can’t really fault it but it seemed for the most part to lack the warmth and charm of the last time, when the staff seemed to go out of their way to take a personal interest in you and well-being. Perhaps the concierge team during my last visit set an unrealistically high standard of customer care but it would be nice to see it come back. Nevertheless, the concierge team that was on duty throughout my stay this time –although slightly detached and aloof –were very helpful and informative when asked for advice and directions so, as I said, I don’t want to sound this to sound like too harsh a criticism

I must in particular single out the cleaning service, one touch phone service people and the bar staff, who really outdid themselves in helpfulness and friendliness. The bar staff in particular were very welcoming and friendly - although I do note there seemed to be some misunderstanding when I ordered high tea and they gave me the wrong one but this was not a big issue and it was still delicious and served very professionally –and had a warmth and a personal interest in your well-being and enjoyment of what they had to offer that truly matched the star rating of this hotel. The one touch phone service people were also great at fixing things up and organizing room service and other things I needed and having them delivered promptly -really a credit to the hotel. The cleaning staff were really wonderful -unobtrusive, very apologetic if they disturbed you and did their job to perfection

Being in somewhat poor health during my previous visit here, I didn’t get to explore the surroundings of the hotel to the extent I would have liked. Although I did note in my last review that the hotel seemed to be in a good location with many good shops surrounding it, it was only on this visit that I truly got a picture of what a great geographic location the hotel is in and how many wonderful shops and eateries are either on the hotel grounds or in close proximity to the hotel. I was particularly impressed with the food court on the ground floor beneath the hotel and the wide diversity of cafes and restaurants available at 1 Martin Place. I was also impressed at the interesting range of stores near the hotel such as Dymocks, Haigh’s Chocolates and so on. This hotel is really one of the best in terms of geographic location and range of shopping and eating options that I have stayed in

All in all, staying at this hotel is a wonderful pleasure and privilege and an out-of-this world experience that has the potential to totally blow you away with its beauty, its geographic location and the really magnificent beyond belief hotel rooms that it has to offer. In fact, I’d recommend this hotel for its rooms alone –I cannot emphasize enough what a surreal experience it is to stay in a room in this hotel. I am already making plans to come back and I immensely look forward to doing so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear OL1981

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Sydney and for sharing your wonderful comments. We are of course delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity to take advantage of our central CBD location. Please rest assured we have taken the liberty to address your concerns with the relevant managers to further investigate the service failures you encountered upon arrival and in your accommodation room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

A brilliant place to meet, lunch, drinks, snacks and drinks... This venue has been a favourite of mine for 14 years since watching Sydney Olympics finals over much champagne with friends on the big screen! The quick lunch menu and deal $25 with a glass of wine is great and a more leisurely afternoon with share plates and a bottle even better... ambiance and service fantastic. A teensy bit expensive but you get what you pay for.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Liz P

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are grateful for your loyalty and delighted to learn that The Lounge, Bar and Room is your favourite venue. We certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

What a beautiful hotel. Right in the heart of town easy access to Circular Quey, Q.V.B and The Rocks and Darling Harbour. Rooms very comfy and breakfast outstanding . Highly reccomended. Lots of nice places to eat around the lobby and staff very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Toulla H

We are appreciative of your review following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Room was fantastic it was upgraded as the room that I wanted was not available. Room was spotless and had everything I needed. I went to business services which was a bit of a hike but had everything there that I needed. I would recommend this hotel again :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Postwoman

Thank you for posting your feedback online following your recent visit at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you had an enjoyable experience and you could take advantage of a complimentary room upgrade on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Westin Hotel in Sydney is like a beautiful sunset: constant and always a pleasure. Situated in Martin Place in the heart of this busy city it provides a sophisticated calm while making you feel special. The rooms are delightful and the bed, heavenly as advertised. It is worth the money you pay for the experience. My only negative comment is that it is a pity you have to pay a tariff for room service, makes for an expensive cup of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Victoria W

Thank you for posting your comments online. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. Thank you also for your observations regarding our in room dining service offering. We hope to have the opportunity to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The rooms are fresh and spacious. Great bed and bedding. My view was of the clock tower and I worried that the chiming would keep me awake all night. It obviously stops chiming overnight so not a problem at all. The reception staff are worth mentioning as they were very friendly and welcoming. Even came out from behind the counter to direct me to the lifts. A really nice touch. The only staff that could have been a bit more friendly were the staff looking after bags in reception and the staff at breakfast. In the breakfast room staff were in the way several times and didn't try to get out of the way. Quite rude. Otherwise a very pleasant stay and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear holidayitisAustralia

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you took comfort in our accommodation rooms as well as in our signature Westin Heavenly Beds® . Thank you also for acknowledging our Front Desk associates, we will be sure to pass along your recognition to the wider team. We are however sorry to learn that our Concierge and Restaurant associates came across as unfriendly and unwilling, this is disappointing and certainly not indicative of the service standards we strive to maintain. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.