We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel, but....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Up to 50% Off!
Ranked #26 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“lovely hotel, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked a very good deal via a hotels website for one night, as a get away from the kids experience, and we checked in after work on a Friday night. Not enough time before our dinner booking to enjoy the hotel facilities, so we decided a sleep-in, morning swim, checkout and breakfast in the city would be a good way to start our Saturday, before returning home to family life at lunchtime. The only problem was, housekeeping came ringing the bell, tried to enter the room, and woke me up, from my wonderful sleeping, at 9am. When I called downstairs, they said they'd find out what happened - our room had been mistakenly listed as empty - and offered a late checkout, which didn't suit us. I asked for breakfast by the pool - not possible because the pool is in a private fitness club across the bridge, up the lift, around the way, up another lift, then stairs - that's a funny story in itself - but five minutes later Tanya rang back and offered us complimentary breakfast in the Mosaic restaurant. So after a swim, we enjoyed the buffet, which was terrific and almost made up for being woken up. On holidays. Almost. Apart from that, the hotel was great - comfortable bed, huge and well appointed bathroom, lifts a bit slow, but all in all a good night out.

Room Tip: we stayed on level five, below the glass atrium roof - I'd prefer to be higher up with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear askRachael_dot_com

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to seeing again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    632
    179
    78
    66
See reviews for
307
793
176
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here on a Friday night and it was wonderful! From check in to checkout staff were amazing and extremely accommodating! We requested two rooms to be as close together as possible and they delivered with rooms right next door which we did not think we would get being a Friday!
The rooms were spacious, modern and immaculate! Lots of oo's and aah's were had walking into the hallway with marble/glass/mirrors!
Room service was served promptly when ordered and the bar staff were lovely.
Convenient location near transport and attractions.
Can not fault this hotel at all! Very excited to return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Jods06

We were delighted to read your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased our associates took great care of you to accommodate your needs. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay. Loved the room in the Tower, 3 rd floor overlooking George Street.
Huge room, and lovely rain shower, but the thick glass in the bathroom not really to our taste, nor the room layout which lacked a dressing table with mirror.
There was a little noise from the street after 0100, this is a City Centre Hotel after all, but it didn't keep us awake.
The location is a key selling point, right in the heart of the City, with fantastic shopping and the jaw dropping Opera House and Harbour Bridge a ten minute stroll away. The streets are busy mind, pretty mind boggling as you go up George Street to the heart of the shopping.
We baulked at the price of the breakfast at $42 dollars per person, until we had breakfast at a cafe in the City where poached eggs and orange juice cost us around $40 dollars and left us peckish after a couple of hours. Once we bit the bullet, the magnificent breakfast really set us up for the day.
They do 8 different cereals including granola and muesli, eggs done every which way, plus fruit, delicious smoothies, pastries, muffins, in fact I don't think there is a breakfast item they don't do.
Our opinion now is that this represents excellent value. In addition the swiss chef and the young lady cooking eggs to order every morning were very friendly and helpful, and added to the excellence of the experience.
We also loved the gym, very well equipped and good enough to satisfy the most ardent exercise junkies (like us) also with friendly staff.
There is free internet access in the small Business Centre on the 6th floor, with three computers, and also the facility to print documents.
I would say we had a few quibbles about the standard of the room cleaning, but a quick call to the service centre soon put those right.
Were slightly disappointed that no water is supplied, our tip is buy from Coles supermarkets nearby for around a dollar, way cheaper than the Convenience Stores.
Overall, a great choice to stay in this magnificent City, you can choose this hotel with confidence, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Probably higher room in Tower to minimise noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear hornsdn

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent experience at The Westin Sydney. I am delighted you could take advantage of Goodlife Health Club and you enjoyed our SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic restaurant. Thank you for your suggestions and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel, I would recommend to anyone. A little on the pricey side but fabulous, best hotel I have ever stayed in. We are Starwood preferred guests and we got treated like royalty. Amazing decor, the heritage building was beautiful and the beds OH MY LORD were the comfiest I have ever experienced. Glass window inside bathroom with motorized blind and beautiful spa bath. Gorgeous clean huge shower!! What an amazing experience for me and my family. Not to mention the gorgeous buffet breakfast daily included for my family. Thanks for a great trip Westin!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear louisebull

Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrived and we are thrilled to be your favourite hotel in Sydney. We are appreciative of your recommendations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Sydney again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

we walked everywhere from it, including crossing the bridge, great location, close to subway directly from airport. one of the best breakfast buffets ever!. Concierge was not very helpful or friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear cailebotte

We are delighted to read your comments about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very efficient staff. Quickest ever check in and out. You don't see housekeeping trolleys, equipment or used room service trays left in corridors. Great location for shopping. Only dissatisfaction was with the swimming pool, hard to find and a let down for a five star hotel. Nice to have two options available for parking, valet or self service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear hamster l

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you and your family were comfortable in our care and that you could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Unfortunately I didn't have a good stay at the Westin, it just didn't live up to five star standard. I should disclose that I lived in Sydney for 20 years and frequently return and stay in hotels there.

The location of the hotel is fine, it's at the posh business end of Sydney within reach of circular quay, the rocks, etc. The foyer is nice and it has the fantastic Prime steak restaurant underneath it.

The rooms are fine: average size; nice modern and new decor; comfortable beds. However, the soundproofing isn't very good and I was woken up throughout the night by people talking in the hall and in the room next to mine. I should add that I stayed on a Saturday night and so it may be quieter on other nights, but I've never had this problem in a five star hotel before.

The second major disappointment was the pool. It was a brisk 10 minute walk from my room involving 2 lifts and many stairs. The huge bins of dirty towels near the health centre entrance rang the first alarm bells for me. When I eventually got there I couldn't believe I was in a five star hotel: the last set of stairs is rusty and very dirty checker plate steel and then the tiny pool was surrounded by a hotchpotch of very cheap folding and cafe-style chairs as well as torn foam mats from the gym. I didn't trust the hygiene of such a poorly maintained and visibly dirty pool - so I walked the 10 minutes straight back to my room again...

The third is that parking over night costs $69 - which is about $20 more than the going rate in Sydney five stars including the Sheraton on the Park (its SPG sister). And you won't get on street parking on the weekend before midnight.

The final and biggest disappointment was that when I politely raised these issues when I checked out, the lady on reception was woefully ill-equipped to handle negative feedback and didn't even acknowledge or empathise. She just tried to make excuses about the cost of the parking and told me I should have called about the noise.

Not good enough I'm afraid - I won't be coming back, there are plenty of better options in Sydney.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear SunAndFoodSeeker

Thank you for taking the time to convey your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative of your comments and naturally disappointed you were not totally satisfied with your experience on this occasion. Thank you for your observations relating to the privately operated GoodLife Health Club and please rest assured that we have addressed your comments with their management team. As you may be aware the pool is designed for lap swimming and we can appreciate that this may not have met your needs. We further regret that you were disturbed by some noise coming from the adjacent accommodation room and that you were not satisfied with your interaction with our associate at the Front Desk. Please rest assured that we have addressed your feedback with the wider management team for training and development purposes and we will certainly take your recommendations into account when we next review our service offering.

Once again, thank you for detailing your experience, although we understand it is not your intention to return to The Westin Sydney, we do hope that one of our sister properties, Sheraton on the Park or Four Points Darling Harbour, may have the opportunity to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.