We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Elegant hotel with beautiful architecture"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Karnal, Haryana, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“"Elegant hotel with beautiful architecture"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is extremely beautiful, I stayed in the tower room and the heritage room. The heritage room was nicer and more comfortable, however both were good. It was my birthday so we were greeted with a complimentary champagne. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.
At the check-in we were welcomed in a friendly manner. The man at the reception tried to make us, very long on the computer tipped, so that we had a complimentary upgrade. We received a room with the unique and fascinating glass wall to the bathroom and with a magnificent view of the city. The sound proofing and air conditioning are also great.
The spacious lobby was artistically with a modern fresco decorated. The breakfast was excellent. There was nothing missing. There was even dark bread and brewed filter coffee. Centrally located the business district was in the hotel, its shops and restaurants surprisingly busy. This was the special thing about the hotel: the spa in the room and at the same time the lively integration of the hotel in the normal city life.
The thing which I liked most was a better range of teas, such as some herbal options. The service was great. Had a drink in the bar in the beautiful glass covered atrium. Although the drinks were a little expensive, it wasa very relaxing and comfortable environment. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mahima01

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted that you had a memorable experience on your birthday celebration and you could take advantage of a complimentary upgrade in one of our Tower rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    977
    497
    141
    64
    57
See reviews for
242
645
160
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The most central location, the old Sydney GPO at the corner of Martin Pl & Pitt.
The exterior of the building maintains the historical GPO look, while the interior looks modern & classy.
Our first impression - WOW!
The main attraction was the large window/partition between the bathroom & bedroom.....the kids just loved it. my only complain is the auto screen is not quite large enough to cover the whole window....privacy issue.
Our room had 2 double beds so can accommodates up to 4 persons.
Both the bathroom & bedroom were clean & bright with lots of space.
There were nothing missing - all mod con, the clock-radio (Bose) was the best I've seen in a hotel room.
We enjoyed our stay!
I strongly recommend this hotel if you can afford it. Our room costed almost twice as much as a similar room in the nearby Rydges, World Sq.

Room Tip: Don't pay over $400/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear pigsyACT

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are thrilled you and your family were comfortable in our care, that you could take advantage of our central location and experience the stunning architecture of the former General Post Office building and Clock Tower. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of the best hotels in Sydney in a great location. The buffet breakfast was also very good.

Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel bar is also very good with great service. I'll definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Fritz82

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are thrilled to be one of your favourite hotels. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend and just loved it. Whilst the front desk was a little frosty when we checked in everything else was just great. Location worked well for us with easy access to shopping & the restaurants we wanted to go to.

I travel to Sydney regularly on business and usually stay at the Swissotel ... but would much rather stay here. Although I guess it makes it more enjoyable to be able to separate business from pleasure.

We'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear The_Hills

We appreciative of your comments and delighted to read that you had a comfortable long weekend at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Thailand.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked this hotel online through my membership of the SPG.com programme.

We arrrived fairly late at night, following a flight from Bangkok. (We'd pre-warned them to this effect, to avoid any 'No-show' misunderstandings)
The hotel lobby was very quiet but the welcome was both warm and professional.
We had a modern room in the mainTower and all was of the standard one expects of hotels in the Westin group. Not a particularly exciting view it must be said, but when in the middle of town, panoramic views are hard to come by unless in possesion of a generous budget!

The room was cool, (in the true sense of the word) clean, very tidy and well prepared.
The bathroom was a real luxury, A deep and long bath, simply ideal to soak away the rigours of a 9+ hours flight from Thailand. A large window by the bath that looked in to the bedroom with a privacy/modesty screen that could be raised or lowered according to preference and presumably, who you might possible be sharing the room with too? There was also a separate shower cubicle and toilet, both these doors and the main bathroom door were all of opaque glass.
Everything worked as expected and it would be very hard to find any fault with the room in any respect.
We stayed 2 nights here and the general ambience of the hotel was warm, efficient and friendly.
The central location was ideal for us, as we like roaming around the city, the parks and the waterfront areas. It's no more than an easy 10 minute stroll down to the Circular Quay and Rocks areas.
We didnt dine in the hotel, or check-out room service or the pool area facilities either so cannot comment on those items.
An excellent hotel to perhaps consider if wanting a good nights rest before embarking a cruise from the OPT.
Our best recommendation being: We shall return again.
Thanks for having us Westin Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear TheVeryLastResort

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and thrilled to read about your enjoyable experience at The Westin Sydney. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in room 2608 for 2 nights in a premium room (level 26 in the modern tower). The room was comfortably furnished and the bed was heavenly indeed! There was ample storage in the little entrance hall which made the bedroom seem quite roomy.

The bathroom was beautifully appointed; I wish we had such a shower at home! Our only criticism of this room type is the internal glass window (instead of a wall) between the bathroom and bedroom. This means that night time visits to the bathroom bathe the entire bedroom in light (even if the shade / blind is fully down). We would not select this room type again for this reason.

Despite the high floor, there was a bit of noise during the night, mostly from bars close to Martin Place (one roof top bar seemed to be the main culprit) and some noise in the corridor too. We could also hear the old GPO clock chiming but it wasn’t too loud and it didn’t seem to chime during the night.

The location is quite central. Pitt St Mall is less than a 5 minute walk. Circular Quay is a leisurely 10 – 15 minutes walking distance. The closest train station, Wynyard is a 3 minute walk.

Service was friendly and attentive. We were recognised as gold Starwood members on check in and offered a room upgrade and late check out without having to ask. The bar service in the lobby was far more prompt than we remember from past experiences. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the Sunday morning. The food selection was excellent, the restaurant was not crowded and the egg station was a bonus.

We hadn’t stayed at this hotel for quite a few years (we’ve been staying at the Sheraton on the Park instead) and thought we would try the Westin again. We would stay at the hotel again and think we’ll select our hotel between these 2 options, depending on price and availability.

Room Tip: Avoid the premium rooms with the glass window between bedroom and bathroom if you think it will dist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jon Potter

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and delighted to read about your pleasant experience at The Westin Sydney. For guests who prefer not to have a glass bathroom we do have other options available in the tower wing. Please communicate this preference when booking your next stay. We are also pleased to read that you could take advantage of your Starwood Preferred Gold membership benefits as well as our central location. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin two nights for a conference in late August. As one of the conference organisers, I cannot fault the Westin on the service they provided, or the quality of the venue. From start to finish the staff were exceptionally helpful, nothing was too hard as we pulled everything together. We held an evening function for 450 people onsite and everything was perfect. I was given a room on level 30 and it was beautiful - having only ever stayed in the heritage rooms before, which I love, I was sure I wouldn't like the tower room, but it had all of the quality Westin finishes. Most importantly of all, the beds are the most comfortable of any I've slept in.
I cannot recommend The Westin highly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SydneyManagement, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Phairy

We are delighted to read your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and thrilled you had an enjoyable experience in our care. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.