We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very luxurious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $218 p/n
Ranked #26 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very luxurious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed overnight only but wished it was longer.The enormous reception area is worth a wander or just sitting on the couch absorbing the ambience.
I stayed in the modern section.The room is very spacious, with a big desk and a massive bathroom well set up.separate shower and spabath and separate toilet which is rare. The kingsize bed has good quality bedding . ....and is extremely comfortable.
Generously fitted snack bar.. Bathroom has bottled water if needed...
Concierge very helpful .
Check-in/out quick and efficient..
Great position central for station and general sightseeing.
Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Always higher the room the quieter and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear marg1516

We are delighted to read you review following you recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are pleased you could take advantage of our signature Heavenly® features such as the rain shower, deep soak tub and king bed. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,747 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    986
    499
    141
    64
    57
See reviews for
243
648
160
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner and I came to Sydney to enjoy the holidays and celebrate my birthday. We stayed in the Westin before and really impressed with excellent service and great room with comfortable bed. We came back again and it was another wonderful stay. The receptionist greeted us with warm smile and offered us great assistance. We have requested quiet room, which has been arranged and we were placed on the level 26.
It was quiet and the room was very clean.
I was surprised to receive complimentary birthday snack from the manager when we were back from outing. It made our stay really special. Thanks to the Westin. Now, the Westin is our favourite hotel in Sydney.
We had great sleep as the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was as fantastic as before. We loved the omelette and great selection of fresh juice. We certainly will come back again!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear C H

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased to hear of your memorable birthday celebration and delighted to be your favourite hotel in Sydney. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Having stayed at Westin all over the US and somewhat abroad, I was surprised what a first rate experience this hotel provided. Housed in a 150 year old Post Office, the style is understated, minimalist, classy. Sure, there are the typical corporate bars and restaurants (owned by Starwood, presumably), but the rooms are clean, sleek, and have all of the amenities. Service was anticipatory, friendly, and efficient. I was offered a free breakfast as a Starwood Platinum, and it was an excellent hot breakfast - everything you could ask for, with a beautiful city view on the 28th floor.

I saw a few other high end area hotels that friends were staying at during this trip, and they were nowhere near comparable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear RobertGrunnah

As an SPG Platinum member we are appreciative of your comments following you recent stay at The Westin Sydney and are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are fortunate to encompass such a unique building with the blending of the old and new and are delighted that this design along with our room décor was to your taste. We are glad you could take advantage of our Executive Lounge benefits and do look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely love the Westin - perfect position metres from Martin Place.

The heavenly beds are, well heavenly, the most comfortable bed I've stayed in in Sydney (and I go there often). The water bottles and towels given to people coming back from a morning run is a nice touch as well.

On criticism would be that the breakfasts are over-priced, but that's standard for Sydney CBD hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jenny S

Thank you for sharing your review of The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us and are delighted you take comfort in our signature Heavenly beds. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect city location - the main shopping mall is approximately 50 metres away!
It is a beautiful hotel - great for a special occasion. The foyer smells divine! We found the staff to be especially friendly and helpful even though we weren't wearing suits! There are a lot of business people stay here. The only negative for us is that the car parking fees are outrageous!

Room Tip: Rooms looking in to the facade of the old post office building have a lovely ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Gayle S

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased you were comfortable in our care. Our signature white tea scent adds a renewing element to entering our lobby and were are delighted that you could enjoy this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Westin as usual accomodation was unavailable. As a result of this stay will be scheduling all my future business accommodation needs in Sydney at the Westin. Location ideal, hospitality, room layout and available services exceeded expectatons.

A recommended stay for either business or pleasure

Room Tip: request overlooking Martin Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear RiskMelbourne

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and are thrilled to be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the hotel I would choose to return to when I go to Sydney. I used to go regularly to another one but have been disappointed lately. We stayed here for a weekend in March and I have to say the rooms are the best I've stayed in for a long time.

When staying in good hotels you do expect to get a good bathroom and often this is not the case. At The Westin the bath was lovely and luxurious - and the bathroom very well appointed. The service was as you would expect and the rooms large and spacious. The Westin's are notorious for their comfortable beds and luxiorious bedding and I always sleep like a log! In fact we even have their bedding at home, we bought some after staying at the Westin in Melbourne.

I do believe the standard of this hotel is high in comparison with competitive hotels in Sydney and do recommend it if you are after class, comfort and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear kgreenwood

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased our bathroom design was to your taste and delighted you could take advantage of the Heavenly shower and deep soak tub. If you require any additional Westin Heavenly linen or bedding please do contact us on westinsydney.retail@westin.com. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Starwood APAC and Venere so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.