We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more to ask for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nothing more to ask for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely love the Westin - perfect position metres from Martin Place.

The heavenly beds are, well heavenly, the most comfortable bed I've stayed in in Sydney (and I go there often). The water bottles and towels given to people coming back from a morning run is a nice touch as well.

On criticism would be that the breakfasts are over-priced, but that's standard for Sydney CBD hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Jenny S

Thank you for sharing your review of The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you enjoy staying with us and are delighted you take comfort in our signature Heavenly beds. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    527
    150
    68
    58
See reviews for
254
673
164
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect city location - the main shopping mall is approximately 50 metres away!
It is a beautiful hotel - great for a special occasion. The foyer smells divine! We found the staff to be especially friendly and helpful even though we weren't wearing suits! There are a lot of business people stay here. The only negative for us is that the car parking fees are outrageous!

Room Tip: Rooms looking in to the facade of the old post office building have a lovely ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Gayle S

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney and pleased you were comfortable in our care. Our signature white tea scent adds a renewing element to entering our lobby and were are delighted that you could enjoy this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at the Westin as usual accomodation was unavailable. As a result of this stay will be scheduling all my future business accommodation needs in Sydney at the Westin. Location ideal, hospitality, room layout and available services exceeded expectatons.

A recommended stay for either business or pleasure

Room Tip: request overlooking Martin Place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear RiskMelbourne

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and are thrilled to be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is the hotel I would choose to return to when I go to Sydney. I used to go regularly to another one but have been disappointed lately. We stayed here for a weekend in March and I have to say the rooms are the best I've stayed in for a long time.

When staying in good hotels you do expect to get a good bathroom and often this is not the case. At The Westin the bath was lovely and luxurious - and the bathroom very well appointed. The service was as you would expect and the rooms large and spacious. The Westin's are notorious for their comfortable beds and luxiorious bedding and I always sleep like a log! In fact we even have their bedding at home, we bought some after staying at the Westin in Melbourne.

I do believe the standard of this hotel is high in comparison with competitive hotels in Sydney and do recommend it if you are after class, comfort and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear kgreenwood

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased our bathroom design was to your taste and delighted you could take advantage of the Heavenly shower and deep soak tub. If you require any additional Westin Heavenly linen or bedding please do contact us on westinsydney.retail@westin.com. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonita springs, fl
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Westin consistently outperforms most of its peers, and this property is no exception. The rooms are ample, comfortably appointed, well ventilated and quiet. Staff is attentive and knowledgeable to the point of anticipating your needs. My only quibble is that the executive lounge should be made available to gold members of the Starwood loyalty program, but that is a minor point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear lustyytraveler

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and pleased our associates could be of assistance to you. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in April. We booked the stay using SPG points. For being a SPG Platinum member, we got upgraded to a corner executive suite. The room was new, clean and very nice. It was spacious with a living room, 1.5 bathrooms, large bedroom and huge closet. The room was more modern than I expected. The main bathroom was big and open with a huge soaker tub. We had access to the executive lounge which is the best I have ever seen. Breakfast was typical with fruits, cereals, some hot food and breads. It was great and nothing to complain about. What blew us away were the cocktails offered at happy hour. They had wines, champagne, hors d'oeuvres, spreads, cheese, etc. It was very professional and elegant. We went up every night and took advantage of the great facility. And it was all free! I thought this was a great touch and an awesome way to unwind after a long day and before dinner.

The location was good - we were able to walk to all the key sights within 5-10 minutes.

I had contacted the manager prior to our arrival as there was a technical glitch with our reservation that the SPG concierge was unable to fix. The manager responded immediately and so professionally. He also followed up once the problem was fixed. I thought him and his assistant offered great service and even wished up a safe trip before our arrival. The service and communication I received from them was better than I have received even at the St. Regis.

Overall, this was a great hotel and I would definitely stay here again if in Sydney.

PS - we found this great laundry service that we used during our stay - http://www.washontherocks.com.au - We used the bag wash service and got our clothes folded and back in our room within 5 hrs after we dropped it off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear MillerCorona

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could take advantage of our Executive Lounge as well as an upgraded suite. Thank you for your acknowledgment of our assistance and we do hope to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were quite disappointed with the service we received at The Westin, Sydney. The receptionist who checked us in was not particularly friendly or warm but that is a minor complaint compared to the days to follows.

Housekeeping service was horrendous. They did not replenish items in the bathroom that we had clearly finished, for example, the mouthwash and cotton buds were not replenished even after 2 days and we had to personally call housekeeping for it on Day 3.

We used a spoon and left it in the bathroom for housekeeping to clean. We came back to the room with a dirty spoon still sitting in the bathroom.

There was NO complimentary water. We paid AUD 250 per night for the room (and we stayed 4 nights) and we didn't even have complimentary water, which usually isn't the case with the other SPG resorts we've stayed at.

We hired a private car and a driver and paid the hourly rates. The hotel ended charging us 1hr extra and included AUD300 worth of "misc" charges to the bill that we were not informed prior to hiring the car.

Overall, we were very disappointed with the hotel as this is not the normal/usual service we expect to receive from SPG hotels & resorts.

Apart from the central location, the service was very bad and was completely not worth what we paid for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Ling T

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are disappointed to learn you were not totally satisfied with your experience particularly regarding our Housekeeping service. Please rest assured we have shared this feedback with our Executive Housekeeper to address accordingly with her team as this is certainly not indicative of our usual standards. We invite you to reach out to the hotel directly with some more specific details regarding your car service charges should you require further clarification. We do hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Sydney in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.