We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Efficient City-Center Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good Efficient City-Center Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed in a twin-bed tower room with 2 children over a weekend in Sydney. Our flight from Hong Kong arrived early in the morning. So had to hang around in the lobby for a couple of hours - no luck in getting early check-in. Otherwise room was good and spacious. Location is central, but without good on-site dining option. Overall it's a stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear macsla255349

Thank you for providing further feedback on Trip Advisor. We trust you received our prior correspondence and do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,085
    566
    163
    72
    62
See reviews for
270
713
169
542
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just concluded a 2 week family vacation that included 4 nights at the Westin in Sydney. I have stayed at many Westins across the U.S. and a few in Europe, and this may have been the nicest. We seriously considered the Park Hyatt and Four Seasons but opted to use Starwood points and stay at the Westin since we were splurging in other areas of our trip. While the Westin may not be on par with those hotels (and admittedly does not have their harbor location), we were very pleased with our experience and decision to stay there. Excellent location (and only 10 minute walk to Circular Quay); very nice rooms and common areas, and we particularly liked the restaurant atmosphere and its breakfast buffet. The service was not the Four Seasons, but we found it more than adequate. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear LAvacationer_12

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location to explore Sydney and delighted you could enjoy the SuperFoodRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic Restaurant. We do hope to welcome you back again when you are next in Sydney.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The Westin is a great hotel in Sydney, centrally located in the CBD. Very well suited for the business traveller. This time I was upgraded to a larger room, which was located in the historic wing in the General Post Office building. The room was much larger than the tower rooms, and had a nice view of Martin Place. The staff were again excellent and friendly. One minor annoyance is the 1 hour limit on WiFi in the lobby, and the cost of Internet access in general.

Room Tip: Rooms in the GPO building are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Michael F

Thank you for sharing your comments following a recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you could take advantage of an upgraded room in our Heritage section of the hotel. We are grateful of our observations relating to our wireless internet service and will keep this in mind when next reviewing our offering. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We live in Sydney but occasionally splash out and stay in the city for the weekend. Last weekend we stayed at the The Westin - which was our second stay at this hotel. The location of this hotel is OUTSTANDING - right in the centre of the CBD - within easy access on foot to fabulous shopping; the Botanical Gardens; Woolloomooloo Wharf (for great restaurants); the Art Gallery of NSW; Circular Quay and Sydney Harbour;The Rocks and Darling Harbour. We came away thinking what a perfect location for people from overseas and intra-state who want to see the sights of Sydney but don't want to rent a car or use taxis - everything is literally within walking distance.

The hotel is a mix of old and new - and you can select to stay in the part of the hotel that best suits your taste. We opted for the newer part of the hotel and the room was spacious and well appointed - with a fabulous bathroom. The rooms in the older part of the hotel are more expensive and are more in keeping with the style and age of the building.

The one disappointing thing for us was the pool/spa area - it's located in the old part of the building and is small and certainly not luxurious (in fact we found it quite uninviting). There is a gym associated with this area which members of the public can join - so it's not an area that's for exclusive use by hotel guests.

The hotel lobby area is well appointed and open plan - with lots of different seating areas - bars and restaurants - it all feels very upmarket. At night there is a great atmosphere here as the city business elite drop in for drinks after work. Great for people watching.

We loved this hotel and no doubt will be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear BlueMozzie

Thank you for sharing your review following your second stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location to explore all of what Sydney has to offer. As you may be aware the GoodLife Health Club operates separately to the hotel whilst offering complimentary use to our guests. Thank you for your observations regarding the pool, whilst this facility is intended for fitness use we can appreciate your disappointment for leisure. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently booked four rooms for myself and colleagues, there for business purposes. I am an SPG member and encouraged the others in my party to stay at The Westin. I've stayed here a number of times and previously had both great experiences and run-of-the-mill OK experiences. This occasion was so different as to warrant comment.

Check-in was a bad experience. two of my party were checked-in within a reasonable time. Another of our party and I waited over an hour for our room keys!! The reason given to us was that the guests in our rooms the previous night "got a little too happy". How NOT to win friends and influence people: tell them that even though they are members of your loyalty program, have booked and pre-paid for multiple rooms, they are so unimportant they can spend their time waiting for an excessive length of time while you clean up someone else's mess from the night before. It's a big place and there's at least 4 hours between check-out and check-in times. If there was a problem, surely there were other rooms we could have been allocated?

When I finally got to my room, it was clean and OK. However, the bathroom door wouldn't stay open and I did notice that in small areas costs are being minimised: eg: one piece of soap, to be shared between the handbasin and shower, whereas there used to be two pieces of soap; one bathrobe - previously I have stayed with my partner and know that there were two robes in the room; if you want a newspaper now you have to put a sign on your door the night before - I am pretty sure that the paper was just delivered to my room previously without having to take this step. The cuts are noticeable.

Our meal in The Mosaic restaurant was lovely. I've always found the food here very good and this visit was no exception.

Check-out and luggage service were both efficiently performed by staff who clearly cared about providing service and took pride in carrying out their duties. During the course of the day I added an extra item to what was in storage and this request was handled very smoothly. Thank you to these staff members.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear macsla255349

Thank you for providing further feedback on Trip Advisor. We trust you received our prior correspondence and do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

While the Westin is obviously aimed at the business traveler, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay when visiting Sydney on vacation. We found our Tower room to be spacious and loved the size and design of the bathroom (esp. the rainfall shower). The Westin is very centrally located; most downtown destinations were within walking distance. Like all the central Sydney hotels, this convenient location doesn't come cheap.

We were very grateful that they had a room available for us when we arrived at the hotel. Our Westin bed indeed felt heavenly after our long flight from the States. We wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Westin Sydney again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jessica M

We are delighted to read that you could take advantage of a mystery deal to enjoy a night at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you were comfortable in our care and glad you could enjoy our signature offerings in the Heavenly Bed and our SuperFoodsRX Buffet breakfast. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the Westin for a weekend. I have stayed at the Westin on probably 20 occasions over the past 10 years. The hotel is in a fantastic location and I still enjoy staying at the Westin whenever I am in Sydney. The staff are always friendly and helpful.

However, the last handful of occasions I have noticed that the hotel rooms are looking tired and in need of some extra maintenance. These are small things but examples are bathroom doors not staying open, sink plugs not working, light bulbs out, chips out of furniture, dirty TV remotes and beds not being quite as heavenly as they once might have been. Standards have slipped at the Westin in recent times. There is no longer complimentary small water bottles or umbrellas in rooms and I did not notice turndown service on my recent stay. It is a very good hotel but it has slipped behind the Four Seasons hotel as the premier hotel in Sydney (and it is often more expensive). I would also say that the Westin Melbourne now outshines its Sydney sister.

To Westin managerment - no need to post a response to this review, but I would ask you to carefully consider these comments. My views are based on a high number of stays and a considered assessment of the hotel over a number of years.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear JackPurcell

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and could take advantage of our central location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.