We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #26 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Worth every star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel has everything you would expect from a luxury hotel. The rooms are amazing, the beds very comfortable, the staff very friendly. The only but I would put is that the lobby is kind of built into the Martins Place complex, so its a little hectic and many other people pass through. But if you dont want to enjoy the lobby thats no issue at all. Wifi only available in lobby (seems normal in Australia but at that price I think not ok). Again - everybody working there made the stay very special and the location is great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear CathrinB

Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are delighted you were comfortable in our care and could indulge in some luxury. We do have a wireless internet connection available in our guest rooms for purchase as well as offering complimentary access in our Lobby, Business Centre, Restaurant and Bar. We are thrilled our associates went above and beyond to make your stay memorable and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    592
    166
    73
    65
See reviews for
291
746
173
556
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Another great stay at The Westin Sydney...just a couple of small gripes that stop me from giving 5 stars!

Location of this hotel is fantastic, right next to Pitt St Mall - and nice walk up to either Paddington/Surry Hills if you have the time and inclanation, easy walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay etc.

Rooms are a good size - beds are "HEAVENLY" good shower, lovely bath etc.

My small gripes were...on my first morning at breakfast, I had the worst coffee ever...though it had improved by day 3! Buffet breakfast was included in my stay, and whilst nice, nothing to go wow over...but nice fresh juice options and carrott zingers were great. And the day I had a poached egg the middle was still runny - so big thumbs up on that! Did have to wait a while to get someone to seat you on 2 of the mornings though!

Housekeeping...I was out of the room most of the day, but one afternoon, I came back for 1 hour, had had the please make up my room sign on all day, but when it had not been made up at that stage, I put the "Do not disturb" sign on and had a quick nap, only to be woken by a knock at the door, which I did not get in time, then the phone rang and I did not get to that either - followed by someone then just opening the door without another knock to clean the room. Admittedly they apologised, and that was fine until the same thing happened the next day...only back in room for 10 minutes, and housekeeping came while the Do not disturb sign was on...why bother have the sign?? And then they took things like wine glasses away and did not replace them...nor was our mini bar replenished.

But other than that, my stay was enjoyable and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear c73

Thank you for sharing your review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are appreciative if your comments however disappointed that you were not totally satisfied with your experience. Rest assured we have shared your observations with our Executive Housekeeper to address accordingly with her team. We look forward to welcoming you back and restoring your faith in our hospitality.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

On our trip to Australia we stayed at both the Westin Melbourne and the Westin Sydney. While both hotels were solid 5s this one was a 5+++. The lobby is a vibrant mix of modern on the hotel side combined with the old Sydney post office on the bar/restaurant side. A perfect spot for a drink and to enjoy the beauty. All staff was accommodating and very helpful. The room was lovely. Amazing views of the clock tower, the business district. Even ships coming in and out of the port. What a perfect way to end our vacation!

Room Tip: Face the port!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Windsor19

We are appreciative of your review following your recent stay in one of our WestinWORKOUT rooms. We are pleased you could start your day well-nourished with the SuperFoodsRX buffet breakfast in Mosaic and enjoy a restful sleep in our signature Westin Heavenly® bed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is my third stay at this hotel over 10+ years.

This is one of those hotels which charges a very high price and expects you to be happy about it. While the hotel is very clean and modern, I dont think the extra cost is worth it. As a SPG Platinum Member I was 'upgraded' to a higher floor and given access to the club lounge. The club lounge was underwhelming compared to how it was in the past. I would think with the price increases over the years they would have kept up with the quality of food in the lounge they had in the past. This of course was not the case.

I did try out the other Starwood properties around Sydney and much prefer the Sheraton. Unless I am able to get a good rate, I will be staying away from this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear cxworldtraveler

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We appreciate your observations regarding our Westin Executive Lounge and have shared this with our Club Manager and Executive Chef. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your faith in our service.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Central business location that got me to my meetings in town. Check in took quite a while as 1 customer with a travel agent booking struggled with their bill and only one other counter was open. It's a decent option so no complains but can't say that it was a memorable one.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear eng_lee

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We are pleased you could take advantage of our central location however disappointed to learn of your check in delay. We do hope to welcome you back for a memorable stay soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our stay at the Westin ticked all the boxes. Good standard of accommodation. Tick. Good 5 star hotel facilities. Tick. Nice room. Tick. Good sleep quality. Tick.

Everything was as expected in a quality hotel of this standard. The breakfast was excellent and just a bit better than we expected. The location of the breakfast room was terrific. Great ambience. Wonderful light illuminating the breakfast area.

I waxed lyrical about the poor level of the gym facilities at the hotel in Fiji but the Westin went to the other level. It has a proper health club in the building and, yes, it does take some effort to find it, but there's everything there you could possibly wish for.

What sets the Westin apart is the level of service. Sure people do what they say they will, when they say they'll do it, but it's more than that. I asked a waiter at breakfast to refill the maple syrup and he started up a conversation about the merits of maple syrup and honey. It would have been enough if he just refilled the jug but he took the opportunity to make it a genuine engagement. Not a lengthy conversation. Just a pleasant exchange while he attended to what I wanted. We had exactly the same experience at the concierge and the luggage guys and at reception. Everyone just put in a little personal touch that made every interaction with the staff something pleasant. Something more than, "have a nice day". Something personal and entertaining. It will certainly bring us back to the Westin in Sydney.

Well done people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear RomaPHILE33

We are thilled to read your glowing review following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. Our aim is to ensure our guests depart feeling better than when they arrived and we are pleased to hear you have had a memorable experience. Thank you for your acknowledgment of our associates, we will be sure to pass this wonderful recognition along to the wider team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Good hotel, but there are some poor room locations. $430 per night, and I had a room that was at a dead end between adjacent buildings. The result was poor daylight with an office building right outside my window.

Also took 20 minutes to check in, with only 2 others in front of me.

Room Tip: Check where your room is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear croftonMelbourne

We are appreciative of your feedback following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. We regret that your room allocation was not to your liking on this occasion. We are fortunate to have two disctinct room types, being the modern 31 story tower and the historic former General Post Office wing. Each contain the same facilities however vary according to outlook, size and décor. You may prefer to try a Heritage room during your next stay.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.