We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, true luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lowest Available Rate!
Ranked #29 of 177 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful, true luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Staying at the Westin was simply lovely. The hotel incorporates the old post office in quite an amazing way. I found the architecture dazzling and the room exceeded my expectations. It had fluffy robes, a great tv, and the best bathroom I have ever encountered in an Australian hotel.

I didn't interact a great deal with the staff, but on the one occasion I asked for advice, I found them friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel is predictably very expensive, but one alternative for snacks and drinks is the supermarket that is very close to the rear exit of the hotel, and down an escalator. Paying for WIFI in the hotel would be exhorbitant too, but thank heavens for smartphones.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Icc76

Thank you for posting your comments following your recent stay with us. We are fortunate to have a unique location with the blending of the historic General Post Office building and the modern tower. Our glass walled bathrooms are very popular, we are pleased this was to your taste and your stay was enjoyable.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    681
    191
    85
    69
See reviews for
335
837
188
669
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is located very centrally in downtown Sydney. It is right next to the main shopping area, but not too far from the Sydney Harbour. I have stayed at a lot of Westin Hotels (I have SPG gold card), but this one is not one of the best ones. The rooms are fine. They are large, comfortable, clean and stylish. The problem was the service and that's why I am only giving the hotel four stars. After a long flight we could not check in the room because the phone was being repaired for a long time. The luggage was not brought up in a reasonable time, so we went back downstairs and brought it up ourselves. Once we were settled in we could not sleep because the property is next to a clock tower and the bell tolls every half an hour. Luckily it was turned off during the night, but it started again at 8 a.m. The restaurant at this hotel was very expensive. The was a small heated pool and a gym.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear givemesunshine

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. We were pleased you could take advantage of our central location however disappointed that we did not exceed your service expectations. Thank you for your observations regarding your luggage, we will certainly share this with our Front Office Manager to address with his team. The historic General Post Office Clock Tower is iconic and unique in Sydney. The bells are audible between 9am and 9pm; upon making your next reservation please advise your preference for a room further away from the clock tower and we would be delighted to accommodate. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were 2 couples staying over the New Years week.
It was simply great!.
The location of the hotel couldn't be more central, directly on one of the shopping streets, 10 minute walk to the harbour....
The hotel is very big and the lobby area is beautiful.
Our room was very nice (we loved the bathroom) ,clean and as we were on a high floor we got a view over the buildings.
We ate the Mosaic restaurant for the New Years eve (the steaks are incredibly tasty) and at the sushi bar. Both places nice and simple, very good food.
The staff was very helpful and lovely, especially the Portugese receptionist Ana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MARINAWOOBY

We were delighted to read your review and will be sure to pass along your recognition to Ana. The recently refurbished Mosaic Restaurant is certainly a great place to dine under the stunning glass atrium. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Westin Sydney many times and each time we leave, we're already planning our next visit. We have travelled around Europe and America extensively several times and around Australia and can honestly say the Westin Sydney is one of our absolute favourite hotels and is very hard to beat.

Best hotel location in Sydney offering total luxury. We love it all - from the room layout, to the view of the beautiful clocktower, to the beds and showers (that shower head is THE best!), the staff and service, the buffet breakfast (a must have!), lunch & dinner in Mosaic and the Lobby Bar - we are never disappointed and always so thrilled to be there.

Locationwise it is perfect - a minute from Pitt St Mall, the heart of Sydney shopping, just a couple of minutes from Centrepoint Tower and beautiful Hyde Park. A 10 minute walk gets you to Sydney Harbour - Opera House, The Rocks, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour - all the places you want to see when in Sydney.

Have celebrated anniversaries, birthdays, r & r weekends, engagements, girls weekends away - you name it and each time, we love it even more and can't wait to get back there.

Outstanding!
Looking forward to our next stay!
Thank you Westin!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. There is a heritage side and tower side which are more modern. We love st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times on girl weekends away. It is a great hotel and is in a super central location with Pitt St mall steps from the hotel and the superb watering hole of the Ivy only a block the other way. You are also a reasonable walk from Circular Quay, the Rocks and the Opera House. The hotel is stylish without being over the top and the rooms are a good size.

Room Tip: Away from the martin place clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear GCWanderlust

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable girl’s weekend and could take advantage of our central location. We’re grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I like this hotel. It is in a great area for shopping. Close to City hall, and other area's. The lobby is very nice, with a large atrium the encloses two buildings into one. Rooms are spacious, new, and are up to modern North American Standards. It is a good solution for those not wanting to pay for Shangri-la or Four seasons at Circular Quay.

Room Tip: They have two wings, old building and new building. I prefer the new. Rooms are smaller, but more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Globetrotter747_11

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and could take advantage of our central location. We are fortunate to have two distinct room types; in both the Tower section boasts a modern glass bathroom feature with floor to ceiling windows and the historic former General Post Office building has a boutique European feel. Thank you for recommending The Westin Sydney, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a room in the new part (tower) for 4 nights, which fully met our expectations. Location is perfect, staff very friendly and helpful, the whole building classy and nice, and the rooms modern, bright, spacius, with a very cool bathroom. That's what I expect from a 5 Star hotel -- just perfect. Definitely recommendable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MichaBreit

Thank you for sharing your recent experience online. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our Tower rooms to be well-appointed. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton on the Park, Sydney
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#23 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sydney
Hilton Sydney
#39 of 177 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 stars 2,978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#21 of 177 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#28 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Westin Sydney is situated in the heart of Sydney's fashion and finance district surrounded by Sydney's most exclusive designer shopping, restaurants, theatres and nightlife. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. Book direct today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.