We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 20%
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location and Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were 2 couples staying over the New Years week.
It was simply great!.
The location of the hotel couldn't be more central, directly on one of the shopping streets, 10 minute walk to the harbour....
The hotel is very big and the lobby area is beautiful.
Our room was very nice (we loved the bathroom) ,clean and as we were on a high floor we got a view over the buildings.
We ate the Mosaic restaurant for the New Years eve (the steaks are incredibly tasty) and at the sushi bar. Both places nice and simple, very good food.
The staff was very helpful and lovely, especially the Portugese receptionist Ana.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MARINAWOOBY

We were delighted to read your review and will be sure to pass along your recognition to Ana. The recently refurbished Mosaic Restaurant is certainly a great place to dine under the stunning glass atrium. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,148
    604
    172
    77
    65
See reviews for
294
759
174
572
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Westin Sydney many times and each time we leave, we're already planning our next visit. We have travelled around Europe and America extensively several times and around Australia and can honestly say the Westin Sydney is one of our absolute favourite hotels and is very hard to beat.

Best hotel location in Sydney offering total luxury. We love it all - from the room layout, to the view of the beautiful clocktower, to the beds and showers (that shower head is THE best!), the staff and service, the buffet breakfast (a must have!), lunch & dinner in Mosaic and the Lobby Bar - we are never disappointed and always so thrilled to be there.

Locationwise it is perfect - a minute from Pitt St Mall, the heart of Sydney shopping, just a couple of minutes from Centrepoint Tower and beautiful Hyde Park. A 10 minute walk gets you to Sydney Harbour - Opera House, The Rocks, Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour - all the places you want to see when in Sydney.

Have celebrated anniversaries, birthdays, r & r weekends, engagements, girls weekends away - you name it and each time, we love it even more and can't wait to get back there.

Outstanding!
Looking forward to our next stay!
Thank you Westin!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic. There is a heritage side and tower side which are more modern. We love st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times on girl weekends away. It is a great hotel and is in a super central location with Pitt St mall steps from the hotel and the superb watering hole of the Ivy only a block the other way. You are also a reasonable walk from Circular Quay, the Rocks and the Opera House. The hotel is stylish without being over the top and the rooms are a good size.

Room Tip: Away from the martin place clock tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear GCWanderlust

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable girl’s weekend and could take advantage of our central location. We’re grateful for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I like this hotel. It is in a great area for shopping. Close to City hall, and other area's. The lobby is very nice, with a large atrium the encloses two buildings into one. Rooms are spacious, new, and are up to modern North American Standards. It is a good solution for those not wanting to pay for Shangri-la or Four seasons at Circular Quay.

Room Tip: They have two wings, old building and new building. I prefer the new. Rooms are smaller, but more mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Globetrotter747_11

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and could take advantage of our central location. We are fortunate to have two distinct room types; in both the Tower section boasts a modern glass bathroom feature with floor to ceiling windows and the historic former General Post Office building has a boutique European feel. Thank you for recommending The Westin Sydney, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a room in the new part (tower) for 4 nights, which fully met our expectations. Location is perfect, staff very friendly and helpful, the whole building classy and nice, and the rooms modern, bright, spacius, with a very cool bathroom. That's what I expect from a 5 Star hotel -- just perfect. Definitely recommendable

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear MichaBreit

Thank you for sharing your recent experience online. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our Tower rooms to be well-appointed. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were most surprised by this, especially when Sydney Westin proudly boasts this on its website room descriptions!
Stayed in an atrium view Heritage Room which had a sense of historical magnificence. The room was spacious with high ceilings and was very well appointed, with a large bathroom area, a separate enclave for luggage and even double glazing. The only disappointment was that the bed had a pronounced depression, particularly on one side. As we were only staying one night, written feedback was left with the same smug, yet polite receptionist that had checked us in.
To Sydney Westin’s credit, an email response from the management said that the bed in question would receive special attention during the next “bed audit”. It’s just a pity this had to be at the expense of a comfortable night’s sleep!
The hotel has a superb central city location within walking distance to many restaurants, the Opera House and St James train station, in case you want access to the airports. The airport train fares are an absolute rip off, but that’s convenience for you!

Room Tip: Heritage Room with windows to the atrium were double glazed so noise from guests within atrium were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear johnsak

Thank you for sharing your comments following your recent stay at The Westin Sydney. I am appreciative of your recommendation and delighted you enjoyed your stay in a Heritage Room located in the Historic GPO wing however disappointed you did not enjoy your Heavenly® bed. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and were allocated a Heritage room. Very nice indeed. Spacious with a lovely marble bathroom and a rain shower which I could have stayed under for hours. The bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. Fantastic. It was a nice, quiet and comfortable room.
I found that seeing a large silver ball, weights, an excercise bike and other bits and pieces walking into such a beautiful room a bit off putting. The inclusion of gym equipment in the room detracted from the "heritage" feel and seemed a bit unnecessary for most guests but to each his own.
On the negative side, the cost of most things was very unreasonable. A bottle of water in the bathroom was $7. At breakfast a cup of coffee was $7. Two pieces of toast with butter and condiments was $10. The cost of valet parking at $65 was also too high.
I also have a problem with $20 per day for internet access which is a policy a lot of "overpriced" hotels seem to have adopted. Many of the lower priced establishments toss this in for free.
The staff, while not rude, did not seem overly friendly.
All in all it was a pleasant stay with the lovely room being the highlight but I am very much poorer for the experience.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are large, comfortable and quiet but don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Westin_Sydney, General Manager at The Westin Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Paul F

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable stay and took comfort in our signature Westin Heavenly® bed. Our WestinWORKOUT rooms are equipped those who prefer to work out in privacy or at their own convenience rather than at the Goodlife Heath Club. Upon making your next reservation please do advise that you would prefer a standard Tower or Heritage room. Thank you for your observations regarding our offerings and associated price points. Rest assured I have shared this feedback with our management team and upon next reviewing we will certainly do so with our feedback in mind.

Kind regards

Mark Burns
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.