We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blend of Modern & Historic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay + Save from $218 p/n
Ranked #27 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Blend of Modern & Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

As a SPG Gold & Privilege member, I alternate between Sheraton on the Park & The Westin depending on which hotel has the better offer. On my first stay at The Westin, I was greatly impressed with the very modern and stylish decor, contrasting with the historic setting of the old GPO. The sandstone walls have been restored beautifully. Staff are generally welcoming and efficient and high floor rooms have a great view of Martin Place. Dining at Mosaics is a pleasure after pre-dinner drinks and hors d'oeuvres at the nice club lounge.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor room in the Tower Building for view of Martin Place and for modern decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,805 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,016
    516
    149
    66
    58
See reviews for
251
666
162
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are presently staying at the Westin Sydney again whilst visiting family in Sydney, Australia.
We find the hotel service very good but we opted for the Executive suite room with club facilities.
After visiting the club again and finding exactly the same antipasto as 18 months ago I asked to speak to the Executive Club manager as breakfast had been quite poor with Luke warm scrambled eggs. This chat was not forthcoming so we decided to go to the breakfast on the 1st floor at the Mosaic facility. This breakfast is a lovely breakfast with different smoothies, lovely omelettes, OFrench toast etc to order. On paying a partial portion of the bill, I saw that we were charged 84$ Aus per time (for 2 people) that we went to the Mosaic breakfast. To upgrade to the Club costs 110$ a day ! We do not drink much alcohol so our primary interest in the club would be food. You get canapés at night but on the night of the 25th after visiting family there were no canapés. I would think that to have Club privileges would give one an advantage not a disadvantage. When discussing this with the Executive Club manager she insisted that the Club only offers a continental breakfast which if you go and look up the Club benefits ??? That is written there. She waived part of the 3 breakfasts we had had on the 1st floor so we only had to pay 40$ per time for the buffet breakfast. I think if one is getting Club privileges one should have the choice of a buffet breakfast downstairs or the Club needs to upgrade their offering. It is a pity as the hotel is so centrally located and the Suite is like a home - I have reviewed this hotel very positively previously. We are not complainers but when we have had an issue in Thailand previously, the management bend over backwards to please. We told the Club manager that she needs to go to the Intercontinental in Ho Chi Minh and see what a club can offer. This experience and the Executive Club manager's response has marred what would have been a lovely hotel experience.

Room Tip: Try to have the Mosaic buffet breakfast rather than the Club breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The Westin is a fairly dependable and consistent hotel on Martin Place - the financial hub of Sydney. We stayed two nights over Christmas, in a deluxe king room, which we prepaid. Check in was easy and quick. Valet parking was available - $64 per 24 hours.
The room was modern, but had no view. It had a great bed, and we loved the rain shower. Some things are getting a little old - there's a DVD player, which seems like an anachronism these days. And the rain shower had a bit of a problem - the second shower head to the side would not turn off.
But it's still a very nice, classy hotel with a great location. We'll stay again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We stayed for one night before our return to New York. Hotel is very attractive and modern in a good location for sightseeing. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room had a nice view of the surrounding area, was spacious and the bathroom was exceptional. Too bad we could only stay one night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Can't praise the room enough. Clean, spacious and very comfy king bed. The bathroom is fabulous too. Marble floor and walls, glass doors, large mirrors. As someone with a quirky demand for big modern nice bathrooms, westin has one of the best I've ever seen for hotels. Would certainly stay again if opportunity arose. Cheers. One quibble though, clock tower is abit annoying. Could be a problem for light sleepers. Luckily, I'm not one of them.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beds are extra comfortable, rooms well appointed and quiet, check in service is good. The hotel has a grand atrium with golden sandstone facades, where an excellent buffet breakfast is served on the first floor. Management ask us to be "environmentally conscience" with using towels and linen, even though they have installed shower heads that waste an incredible amount of water and the internal air conditioned atrium of the hotel must cost a bomb in energy costs. Very very insincere....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

right in the heart of the cbd, we walked all over sydney from our digs at the westin. it's close to the rocks, an easy walk to the ferry/opera house, just a brisk stroll to the botanic gardens. enjoy the fun modern treatment of interior spaces of the historic building. we appreciated the usual westin great shower, great bed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.