We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 182 Hotels in Sydney
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Heavenly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my second trip here. While I enjoyed it the first time I tried a couple of different hotels on my subsequent trips so I could be closer to the Quay for running and have a better view. While the other hotels provided that, they absolutely could not match the level of comfort and amenities that The Westin has. From the bed, to the bathroom, to the gym, everything is wonderfully appointed. This past trip I stayed in an executive suite which was incredibly spacious, and had access to the executive club which was nice, but the standard tower rooms are great as well. All in all, great place to stay in the CBD.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,033
    527
    150
    67
    58
See reviews for
254
672
164
502
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South East
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wow, impressive from the minute the cab pulled up. Bags grabbed from the taxi and on the pavement before I could even pay the fare.

Glass, huge areas of uncluttered space brand new and old world too as part of the hotel is part of the old General Post Office Building in Martin Place.

Slick service is what you imagine and that is exactly what you get. Reception staff, look at you as they check you in, use your name, smile and seem they want to be serving you be you in jeans or the latest de rigeur. Yes there are guys who are super cool with ear phones hanging about but don't be intimidated they are the good guys working the hotel foyer and reception areas.

My room was beautiful, all glass and marble, everything I needed was supplied and replenished without even having to ask. I stayed in the new part of the hotel and loved it's modernity, but there are rooms in the old building should you fancy a touch of old world charm.

The location is terrific, ten minutes out the door on foot you are at Circular Quay and all the sights you can cram in, from the bridge, the liners, the iconic Opera House, the upmarket cafes and bars, the crowds, the ferries and if you want it the tourist tat shops!

My stay at the Westin, was sensational, would I go back, yes, I might want to try a suite but with the room I had it was just perfect.

The layout of the hotel may be a drawback for some as to get to places like the Business Centre, the Gym and the pool it is a bit of a hike into the old building across wide bridges under a glass atrium. For some it may get a little noisy and bewildering with so many people as be aware this is not just an hotel it is a destination for much of the city's social butter flies.

For me it was fine and I cannot praise this hotel enough! Superb!

Room Tip: I loved the new rooms and the higher up, the better the view but some rooms only have narrow vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 for 2 nights. Just amazing from beginning to end. Five star luxury hotel based on the old Sydney GPO. Amazing views of surrounding skyscrapers and streets with use of Executive Lounge for pre-dinner drinks and snacks. Rooms are brand new and ultra-modern luxury. Breakfast choice and quality unbeatable. Fabulous all round. Perfectly placed in Martin Square, right in the heart of Sydney's bustling CBD, five minutes walk from Circular Quay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My daughter and I had a 'girls' weekend in Sydney and we stayed at the Westin in a tower room. The hotels architecture is impressive in the historic section and our rooms in the tower block were excellent. We had a twin room with 2 georgeous beds, huge bathroom, dressing area and flat screen TV. We had a lovely view out toward the clock tower, initially I was concerned about that as the bell chimed each half hour but come evening the chiming stopped. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was immacuately clean.
The best thing about this hotel was the location, right in the middle of the CBD, perfect for a shopping and show weekend. We were within easy walking distance of the malls, Darling Harbour resturants and attractions and Capitol Theatre. Whenever we were overloaded with shopping bags we could just pop back to the hotel to drop them off and head out again!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Beautiful hotel situated in the heart of the CBD. Location is amazing, close proximity to the many restaurants/shops/bars that Sydney has to offer. The interior decor especially the lobby area is beautifully crafted. Rooms are great - quite spacious, modern & very clean. However felt that the breakfast buffet spread is quite limited in relation to other hotels. Staff are generally very friendly - though no one came to greet us at arrival/no help provided with luggage & there was a very long queue for check-in. Despite these hiccups, overall very happy with the Westin!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is one of those places that talks a good talk, and for the most part presents well, but what ruined our stay was some of the ridiculously expensive pricing. There are four bars in the GPO within 20 meters of the Westin's lobby. All those bars manage to charge still high priced but respectable prices for their drink. Sure, they aren't in the hotel as such. But when you are charging $12.50 for Gordons Gin (the most basic Gin available) in the lobby bar, that is extortionate - there's no need to rip people off like that! A reasonable price would have been $8. In the morning we arrived breakfast slightly too late for the buffet and had to settle for the ala carte - as another example - if you wanted a cup of coffee, which you could get for $3.00 in a cafe outside, you're looking at $7.00 a pop. I usually have two or three coffees at breakfast - this would have equated to more than I was paying for the pancakes I ordered. Nice enough place but it isn't in the league where it should be charging 6-7 star deluxe prices...This turned me off enough to never come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My second stay at this hotel and the facilities were excellent but two issues (common to other five star hotels) was the issue of ventilation in the high rise room with locked windows and the actual bed and sleep quality. The Heavenly Bed is soft,squishy and feels like sinking into a bed of goose feathers (it probably is just that) but I found it too soft to sleep on. To their credit the staff did try to make it firmer by putting a board underneath the mattress.

I dont know how these two issues could be addressed by this hotel and others. I realise that other people might prefer the softer bed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.