We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect combination of world class Hotel and heritage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A perfect combination of world class Hotel and heritage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

If you are staying at the Westin in Sydney, please do take sometime to wander around the Sydney General Post Office Building, which is part of the development. Great heritage, well worth spending the time.

Points of historical interests:
Sydney's General Post Office Building was built in stages between 1866-1891, and as part of the disbursement of Australia Post assets by the Federal Government of Australia, the building was sold to private owners in 1996. It was subsequently refurbished and now houses shops, restaurants, hotel rooms, and the lobby of two adjoining tower blocks.and as renovated into its current form in 2002, and is now a landmark drink, dine and entertainment precinct. .

Dock Master's office is now Prime Restaurant
Horse Stable is now the Coach bar
Mall Sorting Room is now the Crystal Bar
GPO Cheese & Wine Room: Storage Area
Original Horse and Cart unloading area is the Subterranean Bar & Grill
Tank Stream: Preserved original exposed pipes

There are 14 venues at No. 1 Martin Place, so take your time and enjoy!
.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the internal atrium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    567
    163
    72
    62
See reviews for
272
714
169
544
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coffs harbour Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in March 2012 and were very happy. Good sized standard room - Great king size bed and great pillows, stylish bathroom. There was a Bose clock radio/cd player bedside - but had no I Pod connectivity (so unless you travel with a bunch of CD's it is a very overpriced clock) Very good service from front desk and porters. Nice bar at Lobby level and really good upmarket food court down escalator from lobby - we had 2 lunch's at the Sushi train style Japanese (great food with first class fresh sushi and nice wine by the glass) and two other places there looked great - a wood fored pizza place that served gourmet pizzas & a cheese and wine bar. If you need to be in the city this is a great location and a very good hotel that is reasonably priced. The only downside we experienced was the very crappy in house WiFi

Room Tip: We had a standard room that was really good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is definitely a top hotel in Sydney, and probably the best choice for the business traveler who would like to be as close as possible to Martin Place. This IS Martin Place! It does not have the harbor views of the hotels around Circular Quay, of course (and even those hotels are close to some business locations too) so there is a bit of that trade-off. It might not be the best place then for a first-time Sydney visitor.

The rooms are well furnished, with clean, modern, nice lines. Lighting is good for those who would like to do some work in the room. I had better time working on the desk here than at the Sheraton on the Park (see my review to compare).

The rooms are also very quiet, and I thought it wasn't the case since my room was in front of the big clock tower that rings every hour and every fifteen minutes (although only during the better part of the day, and never late at night). I got used to it after a few hours and thought it made my stay a bit more unique.

The hotel is of course built around the old post office building, and they have built a grand property that gives due respect to the heritage building. The lobby does not feel cramped even though it is buzzing with activity all day long. Service at the lobby bar is good although they forgot to serve my drinks together with my food. The Intermezzo restaurant close to the lobby (not owned by the hotel) and those at the floor below are some of the best in the city (but you are spoilt for choice in the city anyway).

Other good things:
The gym is very good, and has everything you need, although it can get crowded a times
Taxis are always available outside the lobby, and no long waits for transport
Close to the shopping area

Bottomline:
Very good for business and will not say no to staying here next time. For the first time Sydney visitor, a stay around the circular quay might be slightly better though.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We moved here after having stayed 2 nights at a different hotel near Kings Cross with a similar class/rating but that hotel was not clean and had leaking smelly bathrooms in both rooms that we stayed in (we changed rooms after the first night) - so coming to the Westin after that experience was a great relief.

The hotel is well located - smack in the center of the CBD has a pleasant lobby and the staff is reasonably friendly. The bed was big and comfy and the view (we had a very high floor) was good. Everything worked and was well maintained - and compared with the Sheraton where we stayed for new year's, which is just around the corner and also in the Starwood group - the Westin seemed so much better. The only "complaints" I may have would be that the gym was so far away (but made up for being well equipped) and that the in room internet charge was exorbitant (and free wifi in the lobby - didn¨t quite make up for this).

Would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

I have stayed here on business and would consider it as an excellent alternative to the Sheraton but i'm afraid it doesn't quite match up. Some of this comes down to taste: Westin is modern and chic, the Sheraton is more oppulent; both are very well appointed.

The Westin check-in experience is good although I would echo earlier review comments about the 'cold reception'. Furthermore the hotel entrance gets cluttered and it isn't readily clear wether you are entering the hotel or an office block. The open plan layout in the lobby is done very well although it reminds me too much of a shopping mall, more Westfield than Waldorf if you know what I mean.

The rooms are fabulous! Very comfortable bed, incredibly well done bathrooms and a superb eye for detail. I flinched when i read the price tags associated with the room service menu, but this is not a bed and breakfast.

The most disappointing aspect of the hotel is the spa and fitness facility. This appears to be contracted out to the gym in the same block and subsequently to get to the pool you need to leave the rooms, cross a bridge over the 'Westfield', walk past other hotel rooms (the ones that get disturbed by the gym), find a lift, go to the 4th floor, go up a short flight of stairs into the gym, walk through the gym, up another flight of stairs, cross a gym floor, walk through a laundry room, past another exercise room, up another flight of stairs and find you left your goggles in your room. Simply unnaceptable for a hotel in this category.

If exercise is your idea of hell, you will love the Westin; otherwise stick with the Sheraton if you want your SPG points.

Room Tip: Stay away from anything that is 'over the bridge'
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Had a great business trip to the Westin recently, couldnt really fault anything here. Lovely lobby area and room was nice and spacious and the heavenly bed is all that. I opted for the buffet breakfast and it was fantastic to say the least. I am a SPG privledge member but the room upgrade was unavailable so we opted for the late checkout which we were given. Would definately stay here again on my annual Sydney trip. It is located in such a convenient part of the city so win win all round here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here 4 nights to begin our vacation in Australia. After arriving in the morning following a very long overseas flight, we had to wait until the afternoon for a room. I can understand that if the hotel was full, but doubt it was. Regardless, the attitude from the check in staff was cold and not in keeping with a 5* luxury hotel. Which it is indeed. The lobby is truly magnificent. The hotel is conveniently situated. The staff otherwise very professional and helpful. Our room was clean, well designed and very comfortable. We would have preferred a view of the harbor, but were not on a high enough floor, so ask ahead. You need to be prepared for the cost of visiting Sydney, rated as the world's 3rd most expensive business city. Coffee is 8$; add an additional 8$ for room delivery! The coffee is quite awful American style on top of that. The gym is quite busy and the machines heavily used. It is a club open to members not staying at the hotel. Water can be had, of course but for purchase. Parking overnight? We paid 56$! Inquired at a public lot nearby- it was 80$ per night!! I pay less that twice that per month at work. Breakfast? Prepare to pay over 40$. Or,do what we did- walk down Pitt St to the Blue Water Restaurant. Better coffee, and breakfast dishes are about 14$. Overall, I enjoyed our stay at the Westin in Sydney. Just remember to bring the water from your room to the gym. And remember what BMW stands for- bring money in your wallet.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.