We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Clean and well maintained Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Sydney to your Saves list
The Westin Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location, Clean and well maintained Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed here in 2010 for a weekend and the hotel was in a great location in the CBD, only a short walk away from the train station and easy to find. The room itself was slightly dated but was clean and very well maintained. Part of the hotel is in a heritage building with beautiful features, we were tempted to due high tea here due to the atmosphere. The lobby is grand and the room was spacious with a modern bathroom and TV.

As an SPG platinum guest there which provided us with access to the lounge which included breakfast and evening snacks and wine as an added bonus.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,086
    566
    163
    72
    62
See reviews for
270
713
169
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August 2011 and really liked this hotel. The location is superb- walking distance to everything you could wnt such as the Opera house, Darling harbour, the Aquarium, etc as well as many other shops and restaurants.
We stayed in a Deluxe Tower room which are the newer rooms. We had rooms on the 16th and 18th floors which offered spectacular views across the city and even some harbour views. The staff were extremely helpful when my boryfriend left his suit there and kept it for us until we returned a week later.
The bedrroms were great with comfortable beds and fantastic modern bathrooms with rainfall showers and a huge bath.
We didnt have breakfast or any meals there as we were often out and about with friends and there are so many cafes int he area we didnt feel it was necessary.
As for the other facilities we used the gym twice, which was excellent as was the pool.
Overall if we come back to Sydney we will be staying at the Westin again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

Booked this hotel at a special rate via a well known hotel site for our first few days in Australia. Really glad we did, the room was spotless, fantastically comfortable bed, quiet and exceptional choice for breakfast. Topped off with a great central location, this place was hard to fault. Only caveate would be the value score would have been less if we had payed full price.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Westin Sydney for 5 nights when we were on our honeymoon in June 2011. Lots of pros and minor cons, which I've listed below. The key card to the room often failed to register in the elevator at first (or second) attempt. Annoying but not enough for it to affect my rating. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel.

Pros:
- AWESOME location. Great homebase. In the heart of the retail area, down the street from Pitt Street Mall, the Galleries (a mall), and BVS. 15 min walk to the Rocks and the Quay Harbor. 20 min walk to the Opera House. 5-10 min walk to Royal Botanic Gardens.
- You feel safe.
- Beautiful, luxurious hotel; very modern and sophisticated. Definitely more of a business hotel but that's what we liked about it.
- The hotel gave us a bottle of champagne, dessert, and a nice card to congratulate us on our marriage.
- Terrific room (clean, spacious, comfy) with modern details, and quiet as I requested. We couldn't hear my neighbors’ TVs or their conversation. Quality hotel right there.
- Ron at the concierge desk was super helpful in lining up reservations for dinner at popular, hard-to-get-into restaurants.
- Front desk and staff are friendly, helpful, and very professional. Loved it!
- Tons of hip bars surrounding the area although not many cafés open in the morning for breakfast. We went to Pitt Street Mall most mornings for a quick, simple breakfast.
- For you runners, the hotel provides a cheat sheet of nearby running trails and had water waiting for us at the front door when we got back.

Cons:
-Security cards to get on the elevator are finicky.
-No free internet in the room. They used to give Starwood Preferred Members free wifi in the room, but even now they’ve gotten stingy about it. But we just used the Business Center or went to the lobby. We were on honeymoon after all.
-Business Center is located in the "old" side. A little weird because it’s so detached from everything else.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
254 helpful votes 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Room 1201, king bed, very comfortable, spacious and a full window view of the clock tower which I quirkily enjoyed. Our initial assigned room was 402- very claustrophobic space which i think is due to the fact that it is within the auditorium structure, it is probably the same size as spacious 1201 but I was very, very glad to get the move.
Best points
Location, location, location- easy walk to the shopping strip, easy walk to Circular Quay and the Botanical Gardens, etc.
Nice tea and coffee.
Nice bathroom products.
Pleasant staff.
Negatives
The price of internet- outrageous at $25/day, this fact has been commented on time and time again yet the charge persists- I don't get it.
The in house pricing in the room/room service/lobby lounge- it is all really exorbitant. I dont get that either.

Overall, a good stay, we enjoyed the hotel whilst there for a 2 night stay.
Would I go back? Not necessarily. The room rate would have to be very inviting.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can, if you have to have a mid level 1201 was good. Near the elevator but no noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Absolutely fabulous hotel, couldn't fault it - a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to other.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We have just been back from a long weekend stay at the Westin Sydney. We love everything about the hotel. The room was of a very good size. Bed was large and comfortable. Lovely ambience in the lobby. The hotel is situated right in the city, within walking distance to shops and food. Will definitely stay here again when next in Sydney. I was secretly wishing that our Qantas flight got cancelled so we could stay another night :) (Yes we were in Sydney the weekend Qantas grounded all their planes)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Sydney

Address: 1 Martin Place, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Family Hotel in Sydney
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westin Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.