We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and good location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Sydney Boulevard Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Sydney Boulevard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   90 William Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Bayview Boulevard Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfy and good location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Here on business & found the location excellent. Many restaurants nearby. Generally the hotel is a little dated but quite & comfortable. The king bed is a little firm. Bathroom adequate but the TV could be a bit bigger in size. Great view from the Harbour rooms but as I was on my own, city view room will do. It's well priced & value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    210
    81
    23
    13
See reviews for
70
188
34
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at the Boulevard before and really enjoyed it. This time we had booked a king room ( with friends in the next door room ). We arrived at 12 but as the hotel was busy could not get into our room uniil 3pm. We went out and came back about 4pm . Immediately we found out our friends who had booked after us were on the 20 th floor and us on the 14th . When we go to our room it was too double beds. Our friends had a king bed, We asked to be moved but were told the hotel was full- could not be done. When we explained we had booked a king room they said the hotel had been booked out because it was chinese new year since the begining of this year. As we booked at the end of 2012 and out friends at least two weeks later that was obviously unturue. We really objected to being lied to . After persevering and several phone calls we were moved to the accessible room on the 11 th floor with a queen bed. The man sent to move us was pleasant and apologised that we were not happy and blamed bookings.com for the mix up . The manager aslo rang and offered us a free breakfast . The accessible room was small but clean .
Breakfast was very ordinary lots of tinned fruit and the usual bacon sausage and eggs. I didn't like the environment at night around the hotel and wouldn't go back - like the Cambridge in Surrey Hills better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night only. Had a fantastic room on the 20th floor with out of this world views of the harbour and bridge. Room was lovely and clean and heard no outside noise. Great breakfast lots of options. Will be coming back but for a longer stay next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a habour view room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights when a friend was in town from Europe..... the hotel has a really good view of the Harbour Bridge, Opera house and water views and is close to the eateries on Stanley St... close walkind distance to the CBD, King Cross and Oxford St. Recommend for overseas travellers..
would stay here again ;)

Room Tip: Go as high as you can afford :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because it seemed to offer good value for money and the location. We arrived very early after a night flight from Singapore and the reception staff went out of their way to give us a room as quickly as possible. This was much appreciated. Our room was very spacious and had lovely panoramic views over the bay and the Bridge. The room had everything we required to make our stay comfortable. It was clean but the decor perhaps a little old fashioned by todays standards. We did have a room behind the lift but the noise didn't bother us as we were so tired with jet lag however I would check this out if staying again. We used the gym which was good but didn't check out the restaurant on the ground floor. This part of town is not the best but convenient for all the major sights but requires a walk of about 20 minutes to down town. The only negative was the state of the laundry which I thought was dirty and not in the least appealing!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a bay view room and avoid a room behind the lift shaft. The higher the room the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed in a Delux double room. It was on the 14th floor and had amazing views of the harbor bridge and Opera house - really didn't expect such a good view for the price of the hotel! Also, not sure if it was on purpose, but there was a brand new copy of Cosmo left on the coffee table!

The building and rooms are a little dated, but clean and spacious. Bathroom had lots of counter space to spread out toiletries on.

Location is great - Kings cross 5 mins walk one way or Hyde Park and great shops the other way. There are some great restaurants on the opposite side of William Street and down Crown street.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have requested a very quiet room highlighted in my reservation as well as saying at the check in. When we went up I realised that they gave us a room just opposite of the elevator. I did not step into the room but went down and complaint. After that they checked their computer about 20 min(!) and gave us another room at the end of the corridor. At midnight we woke up for a terrible noise from the corridor and from our neighbours. I called the reception so after a few minutes it became quiet but at 5.00 AM it started again. Then we were moved away to another level and upgraded to a bayview room. This was OK. There is a connecting door between the rooms which is without soundproof so you can hear every worlds of your neighbour.

Staff is polite, friendly and helpful. Rooms are well furnished and decorated. Complementary tea and coffee. Room cleaning is not appropriate. The toilette was not cleaned at all during our 3 days. Towels were very old and I found some hairs as well as other stains on the “clean” towels. We got a late check-out for free of charge. Fitness is OK with nice view. Air condition is not very user friendly. There is no medium level, either too strong or nothing. The washroom in the lobby is very outdated and dirty. Breakfast is good with polite staff. Internet is very expensive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sydney Boulevard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sydney Boulevard Hotel

Address: 90 William Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Bayview Boulevard Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sydney Boulevard Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Sydney Boulevard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Boulevard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Bayview Boulevard Hotel Sydney
Sydney Bayview Boulevard Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sydney Boulevard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.