We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your reservation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Check your reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent location! Within walking distance of all major attractions and ferry/boat systems.
Helpful staff! Will give you inside info on where to eat and things to see.
Clean accommodations!
Just have your reservation with you. I booked a harbour view room online but was given a garden view room at check in. Did not have my booking receipt with me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    288
    83
    42
    21
See reviews for
109
342
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Junee, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. The location is spot on if you want somewhere in The Rocks. Everything was in walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful. We could see the Bridge and the Opera House from our balcony. I would have no hesitation in recommending The Rendezvous as a great place to stay. The only slight problem was that we couldn't get twin beds but other than that it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Rendezvous Hotel at the Rocks in Sydney is a great place to stay staff are friendly and most helpful. Hotel room was clean and good value. Ideally situated for touring Sydney.

The rocks area is the best place to stay to easily see both the bridge and Opera house.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage MI
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

This hotel is a two block walk from the Central Quey in Sydney, which means that it is close to most of the things that tourists want to see and do there. The Opera House is a ten minute walk away. There are many restaurants nearby.
The staff is excellent, helpful, and knowledgeable. They can direct you to where ever you want to go.
Breakfast is redundant. If you liked it today, you can like it again tomorrow. But there is plenty of variety and good quantity.
The only bad news is the facility itself. It's kind of old and worn down. Paint, new carpet, and a good decorator would really be helpful. But it's clean and well maintained.
I would be happy to stay here again on a return visit to Sydney.

Room Tip: There are no good views. Ask for a room on the back, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A very warm welcome, rooms very large, but a little tired looking, and great views of the Opera house, very central for the famous attractions, and shopping, restaurants and much more. Good to buy a hop on and of bus with the price included for 48 hours bus trip also to Bondi Beach included for a harbour trip.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had they not forgotten to:
Clean our room
Replenish milk on two days
Replenish gel
Then I would have given this an excellent review as:
Breakfast was included free of charge
Wifi included free of charge
Location fantastic
Maybe my score would have been better if using website rather than iPhone App?

Would come back but would also insist on room higher up as ours looked at walls !


Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and apologize for the inconvenience caused, will ensure the staff concerned are retrained to avoid this in the future.

We take this opportunity to welcome you back to stay with during your next trip into Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasstree Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I were booked on a cruise and stayed the night before at The Rendezvous at the Rocks in Sydney, if you are about to cruise you couldn't stay anywhere closer to the cruise terminal, it's an easy few minutes walk.
We were placed in the terrace house suits, which are old terrace houses converted to self contained suites, the kitchens are a little dated, as we were only staying overnight and didn't use the kitchen, all was okay, the room was clean and we'll appointed the bed comfortable and bathroom as with the kitchen a bit dated but all clean and neat.
Reception staff were, friendly and willing to help at all times nothing seemed to much trouble. We used the restaurant for breakfast only, the restaurant staff helpful and friendly, a good selection of food and was buffet style set beside the pool...quite nice.
Next time in Sydney? We'll try the hotel rooms rather than the terrace house suites.
We will stay again. Yes.

Room Tip: As to look at the terrace suites they may not suit everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Sydney and appreciate taking time to advice us on your stay with us. We have noted your comments on the Terrace house kitchens and will take this feedback during the planning process of the hotel refurbishment.

We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.