We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight & Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Grasstree Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overnight & Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I were booked on a cruise and stayed the night before at The Rendezvous at the Rocks in Sydney, if you are about to cruise you couldn't stay anywhere closer to the cruise terminal, it's an easy few minutes walk.
We were placed in the terrace house suits, which are old terrace houses converted to self contained suites, the kitchens are a little dated, as we were only staying overnight and didn't use the kitchen, all was okay, the room was clean and we'll appointed the bed comfortable and bathroom as with the kitchen a bit dated but all clean and neat.
Reception staff were, friendly and willing to help at all times nothing seemed to much trouble. We used the restaurant for breakfast only, the restaurant staff helpful and friendly, a good selection of food and was buffet style set beside the pool...quite nice.
Next time in Sydney? We'll try the hotel rooms rather than the terrace house suites.
We will stay again. Yes.

Room Tip: As to look at the terrace suites they may not suit everyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Sydney and appreciate taking time to advice us on your stay with us. We have noted your comments on the Terrace house kitchens and will take this feedback during the planning process of the hotel refurbishment.

We look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    288
    83
    42
    20
See reviews for
108
341
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great place to stay! The view was amazing, Oprah House and The Bridge. Easy 3 min walk to Circular Quay and 20 mins walk to the city. Staff very helpful. We had a studio room, comfortable bed and no noise except for the big boats horns as they leave the harbour which is pretty cool. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mel

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Sydney and appreciate your feed back.

We look to forward to having you stay with us on your next trip to Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were in Sydney for the famous New Year fireworks display and the location of Rendezvous at the Rocks provided an excellent base for exploring /walking this historical area as well as Sydney as a whole, and accessible to the harbor activities. But what made our stay really wonderful was the excellent staff. They were personable and could not do enough to assist us with any questions, reservations and special requests.

Room Tip: try and get a room on a higher floor with a view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent trip to Sydney and the famous New Year Fire works.
Thank you for the positive feedback on the team at the hotel and we pride in the service provided to our guests.

Look forward to seeing you all during your next trip to Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Rendezvous Hotel - The Rocks has a great location with easy stroll to the wonderful Sydney Harbour, cafe's restaurants and bars. Clean and comfortable rooms - friendly staff and great if you are joining a cruise ship. Easy walk with bags on wheels to the Passenger Terminal. Easy access to taxi's with short trip to CBD if required. Easy walk to Circular Quay, ferries and the Opera House. We will stay again when next in Sydney.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear do not have views, but interesting for people watching!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to post the positive comments about the hotel and the location.
We look forward to having you stay with us for your next trip to Sydney

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a harbour view room which exceeded what I thought we would get for our money. The room and hotel itself was a little tired but the view made up for it. The only thing I would recommend would be to check when the cruise ships come in as on our last day the view of the opera house and harbour we previously had was totally obscured by a giant cruise ship which had docked. Room was clean and self contained kitchen. Comfortable bed. Helpful friendly staff. Well located just short walk to Rocks Market, harbour and sydney opera house and the bridge. Food in the area was disappointing - the Rocks is not a foodie paradise (not close).

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent trip to Sydney and the stay with us in The Rocks area.

Look forward to having you stay with us again.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great hotel to stay in. We had a big room with kitchen and balcony over looking the pool. Very clean room. Reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Location was great. Lots of lovely restaurants near hotel and very close to bridge and opera house Also close to ferries train and bus stations. Had a fab time at this hotel would recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Appreciate you taking time to post great feedback on your recent stay with us at Rendezvous Hotel The Rocks. Will pass on the compliments to the House Keeping and Front Office staff on the clean room and friendly staff.

Look forward to having you stay with us during your next trip to Sydney.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good location and good sized rooms; however, when we first opened the door to the rooms we were hit by the very strong stale smoking smell. We have stayed at the Park Hyatt and occross the road at the hotel on the rocks.
My daughter suffers asthma as do I. We requested a non smoking room and it had non smoking room signs. This room really had a overwhelmingly bad smell. We opened the doors and windows and turned on the very loud air conditioner.

We stayed in a one bedroom room which consisted of a very good sized living area and kitchen a small bathroom and a good sized bedroom. The main tv did not work. Our family went down to the pool area which was needed as it was a very hot day. The bathrooms looked like the basins had not been cleaned for a week? the pool had small amounts of black mould on the bottom of the pool. The cleaning and the amenities need to be overhauled. The staff were friendly and helpful, but I would not return.

Room Tip: the higher floors have views facing east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Sydney and we have taken note of the comments on the condition of the rooms ,pool etc.

Will be discussing the same with the respective departments and ensure we improve on your observations.

Hope you will give us another opportunity and return to hotel during your next trip to Sydney
We will aim to improve on your observations highlighted.

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.