We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is no View!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“There is no View!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well there is no view but on a wet and wild weekend in Sydney this hotel ticks the boxes. We had a one bedroom apartment and the two kids had rollaways in the lounge area. The bathroom is easily accessible for everyone as it is not situated in the bedroom. Polite staff, small ym with aging equipment but had the weather been great a run outside would have been the go. Pool area is compact but spa and pool well maintained. Great family hotel. Breakfast was of a good standard and the kids enjoyed the pancake machine.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    288
    82
    42
    20
See reviews for
107
337
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August 2013 with a group of friends. We booked 2 x 1 bedroom apartments and a studio room.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, close to everything, with a great view of the Harbour Bridge from 2 of the rooms. The rooms themselves were clean, although they could all do with a freshen up in terms of paint and decor. The two 1 bedroom apartments were very different in size and layout, with room 105 being much bigger than room 106. The studio room was very spacious.

On one of the nights the smoke alarm in one of the rooms started beeping, presumably because the battery was going flat. We notified reception at 6pm and we were advised that it couldn’t be changed until 11pm when the night manager came on duty. We were okay with this because we were heading out for dinner. Upon our return at 11.15pm we enquired if it had been fixed and the response we received from the night manager (I guess that was who we were speaking to) was that due to OH&S laws he could not attempt to fix it and that nothing could be done until Monday when the maintenance person returned to the property (it was Saturday night at this stage). We suggested he provide a ladder and we would take the battery out ourselves and his response was that if we did that he would have to shut the hotel down because they wouldn’t be complying with fire safety laws (which one would assume was the case anyway due to the beeping smoke alarm). We asked to be moved to another room and his firm response was that the hotel was fully booked and there was nothing he could do about it other than refund our money for the night and we could look for another hotel. AT 11.20PM ON A SATURDAY NIGHT IN SYDNEY!!! After returning to the room and listening to the smoke alarm beeping we insisted that the night manager come to the room and actually listen to it. After listening to it a couple of times he then returned to reception and miraculously found a vacant room, an hour after we first inquired about shifting to another room. Thankfully when this issue was brought to the attention of the front desk staff on Sunday morning we were given an apology and advised that the matter would be discussed with management during the week. After this was done, we were contacted by management and a refund of our money was offered for the night. It seems unbelievable that the matter would have gone no further if the night manager had just moved us to a new room as soon as he realised that he could not fix the smoke alarm.

So all in all, would I stay at the hotel again, I'd have to say yes because apart from the one (unbelievable) bad experience, it really is a nice hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our room (609) was very clean, and the view from the balcony was fantastic. To the left was the Harbor Bridge and Clock Tower Square, straight was the Opera House and to the right the city. The hotel staff were friendly and very courteous. Breakfast at the hotel was a little pricey but good. The location was within walking distance of Circular Quay and the Opera house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I didn’t actually stay in this hotel yet I have nice impression. I came to visit my brother and sister-in-law who stayed in the Historic Terrace House.

The living and kitchen are on the ground floor while the bedroom is on the upper floor. It is like living in the house in good old days as the decoration is in Victorian style.

It is centrally located in the Rocks - tourist area as well as closed to the office buildings. Yet still it can be tranquil. There is a mini outdoor swimming pool just outside the door of their room. It is seclude and appears to be precious in such expensive area.

It is interesting to look outside from the terrace’s window watching people passing by the busy street while enjoying a cup of tea in the historic house with home atmosphere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Ask for a room with a view. We had a back room with a view of some brick walls. Good sized room, on the older side, in an excellent location. Within walking distance to everything in an interesting area. Pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful views if youre up high of opera house & harbour bridge. Clean. Only 2 negitives i would say place needs updating. Rooms old and breakfast area small so if you go in peak time you might not get seated.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Fantastic location close to Circular Quay and the markets. We stayed with our two children in a one bedroom apartment which was spacious and clean. Swimming pool and spa were great for the kids and a nice balance to sight seeing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed eating at the German restaurant at the bottom of the street.

Room Tip: The one bed roomed apartments are great for a family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Toga Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.