We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Air-con in Sydney - in summer” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks
3.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“No Air-con in Sydney - in summer”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The air-con simply did not work - at all. In Sydney in summer, any room needs functioning air con. Staff offered us a room on the same floor, but that air-con didn't work either. We have stayed here a few times before, and it has been fine (though not tried in summer).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    288
    83
    42
    20
See reviews for
108
341
27
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Carved into an historic precinct, this hotel is interesting from the very start. The slightly tired 90s decor is relieved by the fantastic location, marvellous views from level 7 & the unique sensational precinct called The Rocks. It is also a major bonus that there is a very nice pool - a rarity in this expensive & historic area. The suite we had featured most comforts & really just needed a decor freshen-up... but the kitchen was good, living area comfy & bedroom accompanied by excellent size ensuite and WIR - BUT all lifted a notch by the great view over Sudney's glorious harbour! For the positives mentioned, I do recommend this hotel. The Rocks is a must-see for every Sydney visitor - and the Gardens, city, Circular Key, restaurants, markets etc all within a stone's throw are just FUN!!!

Room Tip: Level 7- ask for harbour View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Austn_Lawyer,

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for leaving a review of your stay. There are events happening constantly around the area and our reception team is always happy to help out with recommendations. I hope you will stay again with us on your next visit to Sydney.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for a night out at the opera house. From the car park attendant to the front desk staff, everyone was welcoming with a warm smile. We were able to get a late check out and then the wonderful front desk staff held our bags after checkout so that we could wonder around the Rocks for a while.

We stayed in a studio balcony room which provided us with great views of the local historic architecture and fabulous side on views of the harbor bridge and clock tower. The tea and coffee facilities were great. The room was spotless! The bed very comfortable, even the fold out sofa bed my daughter slept in was very comfortable. The breakfast.....we're staying again at the end of February so we'll let you know if things have improved.

My daughter and I cannot say enough about the front desk staff. Smiles that could,outshine the moon and nothing was too much trouble.

We can't wait to stay again at the end of February. This time in a harbor view balcony room! This hotel.is our favorite place to stay in Sydney and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Go a balcony room if you can. The added ambience is well worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Jen,

Your feedback is highly valued and I thank you for your review. The team here works very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their experience and it is lovely to know that our efforts have enhanced your stay and exceeded your expectations. I trust you will enjoy your next stay just as much and look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our family of nine-3 generations-loved this charming hotel. We had 3 harbor view studios for 4 nights. The rooms were much larger than expected with small kitchenettes. The hotel is within walking distance of the Harbor bridge, the opera house, circular quay and many other tourist destinations. There are many restaurants within walking distance. Did I forget to say how clean it was? Yes, maybe it is a little dated, but then the price is right. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

P.S. the wi-fi was only free for 3 hours, and to get any reception you have to go to the computer room.

Room Tip: The harbor view rooms were great. You might want a balcony when the weather is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hi Linda,

I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It is great you were able to see the sights of Sydney during your stay, we are lucky to live in such a beautiful city. Keep in touch with us by Facebook as will have specials offers coming up should you wish to take advantage of them for future visits.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
331 reviews 331 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

the location of the hotel is perfect for exploring the Rocks. the bedroom could do with a makeover, it did not look that clean , we found a pair of underpants on the settee, we had a room with a hourbour view , when a cruise liner is in thier is no view. we asked reception to book a taxi for us to take us to the airport, we waited an no taxi turned up, the hotle had forgotten to order one, they then had difficulty in locating one, a receptionist did call one from teh street, the breakfasts were good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Mandr268,

Thank you for your feedback, it is highly valued and lets us know any areas on which we can improve. I have spoken with my team about the cleanliness of your room and rest-assured that methods are place to ensure there is no repeat of this.
Unfortunately some things are out of our control, however I do hope that these did not impact on your impression of Sydney and am glad that you were able to explore the Rocks area during your stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Excellent location,very helpful reception staff.So bitterly disappointed at the room.Very dated and unclean.Filthy,bloodstained duvet on bed with no cover,just a sheet each side.Uncomfortable small double bed with dirty stained base.All soft furnishings in room needed replacing.
Cracked basin in bathroom,mould,dust and hairs in corners.Noisy air conditioning and constant noise of lift going up and down.Garbage Shute outside door of room.
Although hotel desperately needs renovation there is no excuse for dirt.
We wrote a letter of complaint to the Manager after the first night and the room was cleaned,surely this should have been done anyway.
We were told there was no point in changing rooms as none had been updated.

Room Tip: Excellent location,very helpful reception staff. So bitterly disappointed at our room,very dated an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravi S, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Ronda286,
I appreciate you taking the time to provide honest feedback about your time with the hotel. My team always strive to provide our guests with a very positive experience during their stay however it seems that on this occasion we have missed the mark. Please be assured that your review is valuable to us and I will address the issues you raised with my team to ensure that there is no repeat of these in the future.
I do hope that you will give the hotel another chance and believe that your next stay with us will be more enjoyable.
Regards,
Ravi Satyavolu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Fantastic location to drag our cases and weary bodies back from our cruise ship. Excellent front office staff, very respectful and helpful. Hotel is in a very good location and respectfully does not take over the fantastic history of the area. The hotel is very modern, exceptionally clean and a fantastic view from the balcony. Would definitely book again when on our next cruise!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks

Address: 75 Harrington Street | The Rocks, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in Sydney's colourful past in The Rocks. Select from Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney's unique offing of historic Terrace Houses, One bedroom apartments and spacious Studio Rooms. This 61 room boutique hotel is a hidden treasure, the Rendezvous Stafford Hotel Sydney is only moments from Circular Quay, the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sydney
Sydney Clarion Collection
Clarion Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Sydney The Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.