We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #53 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Wow, what an incredible location!

We had a loft room, looking right onto the harbour bridge and opera house. The rocks was and circular quay are just 5 mins walk round the corner.

We didn't have breakfast here; we preferred to walk along to the rocks and eat there. We did however have drinks at the bar and there's a nice area outside to sit.

The room was stunning...we had the superior king room, double height ceilings.

I look forward to staying here again. I can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Wow.... thank you for the wonderful comments. I am so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us. I agree totally that our location and the views are amazing.

I hope we have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice when you next visit Australia.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    437
    171
    74
    43
See reviews for
141
605
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and had the 4 course plated dinner for new year.

The room was lovely as was the location of the hotel. The staff were friendly and the service was good.

A couple of things took the shine off our stay.

Given that we has spent $3200 dollars on the dinner and stay, I was very disappointed to have to pay for WiFi!!

I received an email prior to arrival reiterating the dress code.I dressed accordingly only to find no dress code whatsoever!!!!

Finally the beef was cremated, such a shame.

In summary a great view of the fireworks, and a hotel that trades on its location. I will spend my money elsewhere next time

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear DataRcoks,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us over the New Year's period. We were pleased that you loved the location, the great service and that you found our staff were friendly and efficient.

Regarding the wi-fi charges, in Australia we do generally charge for internet access, however there are ways in which to access complimentary wi-fi, one being by becoming a mid-tier (or higher) member of our loyalty program "LeClub".

I was surprised to hear of your summary of the beef as being "cremated" as all the feedback received to date has praised the dinner for its high standards, however i have passed on your comments to our Executive Chef and General Manager.

Thank you for your feedback and all the best for 2014.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We booked into the Front Restaurant for the 6 course Degustation Menu on New Years Eve. Overall I was thoroughly impressed with this - we had a slight confusion with our booking prior to the evening and the manager was fantastic at getting this sorted for me. The food was absolutely beautiful -small portions well presented and delicious. The location was great with views of the harbour during dinner and a reserved area at the end of the pier for the midnight fireworks where you could see the Harbour Bridge. It was quite close up so you didn't get the full view of the fireworks that you would get from a further distance but they were still great from that vantage point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Jane P,

Thank you for your comments regarding your NYE here at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. I am really pleased you had a wonderful time. It truly is an amazing experience being up close to the fireworks. The delicious 6 course degustation dinner in Front Restaurant is always the very first of our 4 events to sell out each year. I hope we have the pleasure of your company at NYE this December.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Right next to Harbor Bridge, walking distance to everything, and right on the harbor with a spectacular view. Spend a great week there in a very comfortable room, with a working desk looking out on the ferries and other passing boats. The hotel is on the pier, so you really can't get any closer to the water without being on a boat! In fact, you can have a drink in the lobby, standing on a glass floor over the water.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Howard K,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is amazing and unique, which gives us incredible views over the harbour and of course the Sydney Harbour Bridge right next door.

I hope we have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice when you next visit Australia & Sydney.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I spent a night in a King Bay View Room & I must say the room was spacious,sparkling clean!I was impressed by the staff who pay attention to detail.I enjoyed a drink at the bar & the big breakfast the morning after-well done Sebel,you've won me over!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear LadyLazarus72,

Wow... thank you for your wonderful comments. It is really pleasing to hear that you loved your stay with us. Spread the word, the best advertising is a happy guest. I hope we have the opportunity to be your hotel of choice when you next visit Sydney.

Kind regards (and happy 2014)

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This room was a real treat - we would have given this hotel an Excellent rating based on the room alone - but some service issues need to be improved.

The big plus of this room is the long balcony that has preserved the character of the old working piers with the old chunky wood structure... that overlooks the 'busyness' of Sydney harbour... with the Harbour Bridge looming overhead and the buzz of Luna Park across the harbour. Not a tranquil place to read a book as the passing boat traffic will constantly distract you - from the daily cruise ships that make their grand entrance in the early morning and noisy exit before sunset, sounding the horn as they pass under the bridge... to the yachts, cruisers and the tourist harbour cruises with their curious customers (who appear to be leering into your room..with cameras)...but thankfully, it all goes quiet at night for a good sleep. I couldn't live here...but for 2 nights it was great entertainment.

The room itself was tastefully furnished and decorated - separate lounge, bedroom and bathroom that all front the harbour. An extra lounge chair would benefit the lounge area as the chaise lounge is made for one person. One of us had to sit at the dining table chair to watch tv, which was not that comfortable. We did consider moving one of the outdoor lounge chairs inside to make the room more comfortable.

The suites are described on the website as having day beds..room 214 does not have a day bed. But some of the other balcony suites do have one...apparently you have to request this on booking. This is not explained on the accor booking website.

So in a room with a fabulous view - we didn't want to leave! So we did indulge in more in room dining than we normally would. Unfortunately, in room dining was disappointing. All our in room meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were luke warm on delivery. The hotel needs to consider investing in mobile warming trays.

The other issues that need to be improved are the valet and check-in service. The hotel's check in time is 2.00 pm. We arrived at 2.30 pm and our suite was not ready. We were advised that a light fitting needed to be fixed. We waited 30 minutes and after querying the need to wait longer, we were allowed to go to our suite. The light fitting fix looked very shoddy.

We were not offered any assistance with our luggage. We also witnessed other guests that had the same experience. We had to find a luggage trolley, load it ourselves and move it to our suite. Not the best entry experience for our special occasion in one of their top suites. Our exit was the same. We called for the service but had no answer.

We regularly stay at the Quay Grand for half the tariff of this suite....and we receive the basic valet and in room dining service that is expected of this standard for half the tariff. The room is undoubtedly special but service does not do the room or the tariff justice.

Your people need to improve on service Mr Lowe.

We would love to stay in room 214 again...please tell us why we should return to Pier One Mr Lowe?

Room Tip: Room 214 is a balcony harbour view suite....it has a great view of Sydney harbour...looking at the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear RnR_Report,

Thank you for your constructive feedback. We always appreciate guest comments, both positive & negative as it affords us an opportunity to see whre we need to improve our service. May i ask if you could contact me at your leisure on H8765-sm@accor.com so i may get more details of your stay, as our General Manager has been made aware of the service issues you highlighted and he would like to investigate in more detail.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection® is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. Our on-site restaurant, Front, offers you the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy a drink in style at Front Bar. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.