We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #51 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a Sebel Suite which was comfortable and had a good view but poorly maintained- the bathroom had not been finished properly. Staff were rude and unprofessional numerous inquiries, and the room was not cleaned properly, with partly used toiletries remaining in the room from previous guests as for use as if they were 'new'.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear DM6030,

Thank you for your coments. Im pleased to hear that you enjoyed the views from the Sebel Suite. I have passed your comments regarding the standard of the bathroom to our General Manager and Executive Housekeeper to look into as we pride ourselves on always presenting a 1 class product.

Please dont hesitate to contact me on the email below if there is anything i can do to assist in the future.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    430
    165
    72
    42
See reviews for
138
595
54
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great location and relaxed, open spaces extending out onto the pier. But the attitude of staff is not one of customer service.
We booked for 4 nights and the minor series of problems started here; I was quoted one price and received a confirmation email with a higher price. This was sorted out but it took 3 phone calls.
On the Saturday evening all the bath water flood up through the floor (and was dripping through the ceiling) and the toilet stopped flushing (due to a breakdown in their vacuum waste system). Someone came very quickly to clean everything up, but at no time did anyone apologise (or offer a complimentary drink). Apparently they think this is normal - so don't leave your clothes on the bathroom floor! On checking out I said how disappointed I was about the flooding and discovered the woman beside me had the same experience. It was just shrugged off by the staff.
One evening we wanted to have a drink at the bar and watch the sunset. All the lounge chairs were taken, so we asked if we could sit in the dining area, which was completely empty. The initial response from the bar staff was No and it was only because we persisted that someone agreed that we could indeed sit in the dining area.
There were other small issues (such as meals not coming out together) but it was the accumulation of many small events rather than any event on its own that created an impression of a staff culture that does not put their customers first - which detracted from the staff who were thoughtful and helpful. And it is customer service that makes a good hotel into a great one. The Sebel is a lovely, airy hotel, and it could be great - but something needs to change.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Ortoncrew,

Firstly let say thank you for taking the time to send feedback about your experience here at The Sebel Pier One Sydney. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occassion.

Great customer service is the cornerstone of any hotel and we take your concerns very seriously. I have passed your comments onto our General Manager to look into. You mentioned several issues and I want to assure you that we are steadfast in our resolve to ensure each guest has an amazing (and positive) experience at this hotel.

We are looking into the points you raised and will use your feedback to assist us in improving our customer experience.

If i can be of any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly on H8765-SM@accor.com

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent a weekend in Sydney for business and was pleasantly surprised that I was booked here. Have stayed here a few years ago for a seminar, but there has been a renovation of rooms apparently since I was last there.
My flight arrived quite late so it was close to 10pm when I checked in, but it was quick, easy and fuss free. I was booked into a Heritage King room on the 1st floor, with my windows facing the street. The room was a little unusual in it's layout, but the high ceilings with the odd metal girders poking through walls was quite interesting. There was a strange ledge under the windows, with a thin mattress and pillow ? a daybed. No step or ladder to get up there...
Arriving so late I noticed the street lights shining straight into my room. I hadn't noticed that there were motorised blockout shades - make sure you find the switch at the side of the bed! The second night was better after finding that!
The king size bed was a little firm, and the pillows available a bit flat for me, but the quilt was nice. Airconditioning was noisy. Television had Fox sports, Sky news and free channels, and paid movies.

The bathroom looked to have been upgraded with the renovation. Mat-like non-slip floor instead of tiles - don't know how you clean them, but at least they weren't cold on the feet. Shower in the bathtub had decent pressure, but temperature would vary. Toiletries were overly fragranced for my liking. Toilet flush button on the side of the seat if you can't find it. Very loud aeroplane style vacuum flushing. I could hear other rooms plumbing quite easily.

Minibar in a white cabinet upon which the TV was sitting. Pretty standard looking, with a few snacks up on the strange window ledge.

Buffet breakfast starts at 630am on weekdays, but 7am on weekends. Usual hot selection presented in very unstable servers. Clam shell style, which almost tip over when the lid is raised (same as at Swissotel Sydney). I hate them, as you feel you might spill the whole lot. Food was OK, nothing extraordinary. The view from the restaurant is splendid though. Sydney's lovely weather was on show through the windows.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a harbour view - much nicer than a boring view of streetlights
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Kittycat888,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Im glad you were happy with your check-in process. Its important to us that guests are welcomed and checked in in a warm and efficient fashion. Since you previous visit we have redeveloped all guest rooms and also added 29 addition rooms when we moved our conference room to the ground floor at the end of the pier. We have worked to retain and compliment the rustic aspects of the original pier/wharf, such as the exposed beams and the iron work. They are a marvellous feature and we love that you loved them. Regarding the pillows, we have a selection available for each guest (as everyone has their own preference of firm vs soft. Our pillow menu is available 24/7 for you. I Have passed your comments regarding the minibar selection to our General Manager to look into as we appreciate any feedback from guests so that we can always strive to excel their expectations.

I hope we have the pleasure of being your hotel of choice again in the near future.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Really enjoyed the couple of nights we spent at the Sebel Pier One. Lovely location, enjoyed the walk around the harbour side when coming and going to the Opera House and the rocks etc. The room was nice, and it was interesting with the old part of the building integrated, and it had a REAL HAIRDRYER! Yippee!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David L, Director of Sales at Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Crick22,

Thank you for your great comments regarding your last stay with us. Yes it is good to have a quality hairdryer in the room. We totally renovated all guest rooms over the past 2 years and the result is fantastic. Our location is also a tremendous advantage and i am glad you enjoyed it. The views over the harbour and being so close to the great icons of Sydney is just brilliant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sebel Pier One Sydney in the near future.

Kind regards

David Lowe
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection® is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. Our on-site restaurant, Front, offers you the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy a drink in style at Front Bar. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.