We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, shame about the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Save Saved
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #43 of 182 hotels in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely location, shame about the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location and beautiful hotel.

Only problem was that when we came to check in, the bellman didn't want to help with bags. He certainly didn't come to greet us on the street and was quite dismissive.

I had my car parked in valet (at $35/day and it's not undercover, it's just at the end of the hotel) and unfortunately the little purse in which I keep my car parking passes (for work), but which also holds some emergency cash (~$150) was removed from its very secure position in the car. I'd like to think it fell out, but since it's been in that spot for 3+ years, I don't think so.

The room itself was lovely with high ceilings. The bathroom looked great, but on closer inspection it has been a pretty rough renovation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    398
    150
    62
    39
See reviews for
127
562
49
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We really enjoyed the weekend. There were great rooms, with great views of the harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is also very close to the rocks and circular key and only a $10 taxi fare to Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location was excellent for walking around this great area of Sydney, right next to the Sydney Harbour bridge and round the corner from the restaurants of The Rocks. The service, food and staff at this property were terrific. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacious and practical. Taxi's to the airport and other locations (ie exhibition centre) were plentiful and water taxi's are possible. The view across the harbour whilst eating breakfast was marvellous. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, the room was innovatively designed & decorated (love the see-through shower), it was large and comfortable. I had a waterview room and I recommend this as the view is the key to this location. Had breakfast every morning and it was competently cooked & served (a la carte - just what I like). I had dinner once and it was pretty good too. An amazing old building really interestly converted.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms would be best I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location, location, location! And an unexpected upgrade to a waterfront room was most appreciated. Lovely time of the year to enjoy the environs - just a short walk around the hotel and you have all the views that Sydney are famous for. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My stay at the Sebel Pier One is always pleasant and service is consistently at a high level. Food is excellent too. My only concern is that the air conditioning doesnt seem able to cool the room sufficiently for my liking. Otherwise, perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Facing and almost under Sydney Harbor bridge, 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay and situated on Pier One, the once Sydney base for P&O shipping.
The Sebel Pier One is a clever use of a fabulous site. The interesting accommodation is on the second floor, where all the old timber beams and fittings have been cleverly incorporated into the rooms. It's a clean crisp great look. Spacious rooms, smart,bathrooms and clever fittings.
Specify water views when booking! The middle front 2nd floor suit, room 214, is "to die for". For a "special" life moment this IS the place!!.. Priced accordingly, but not outrageous.
Pleasant out door water-side restaurant with a good menu. Efficient helpful staff, good breakfasts, free Wii Fi, free news papers and beautiful flowers in the reception area (sorry that's a girl thing!!) most fun thing..watching the Bridge Climber groups overhead.

Room Tip: Second floor, view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#41 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection® is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. Our on-site restaurant, Front, offers you the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy a drink in style at Front Bar. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.