We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The location was excellent for walking around this great area of Sydney, right next to the Sydney Harbour bridge and round the corner from the restaurants of The Rocks. The service, food and staff at this property were terrific. The bed was very comfy and the bathroom was spacious and practical. Taxi's to the airport and other locations (ie exhibition centre) were plentiful and water taxi's are possible. The view across the harbour whilst eating breakfast was marvellous. I would recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    449
    179
    75
    43
See reviews for
151
618
56
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here, the room was innovatively designed & decorated (love the see-through shower), it was large and comfortable. I had a waterview room and I recommend this as the view is the key to this location. Had breakfast every morning and it was competently cooked & served (a la carte - just what I like). I had dinner once and it was pretty good too. An amazing old building really interestly converted.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms would be best I think
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Location, location, location! And an unexpected upgrade to a waterfront room was most appreciated. Lovely time of the year to enjoy the environs - just a short walk around the hotel and you have all the views that Sydney are famous for. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My stay at the Sebel Pier One is always pleasant and service is consistently at a high level. Food is excellent too. My only concern is that the air conditioning doesnt seem able to cool the room sufficiently for my liking. Otherwise, perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Facing and almost under Sydney Harbor bridge, 5 minutes walk from Circular Quay and situated on Pier One, the once Sydney base for P&O shipping.
The Sebel Pier One is a clever use of a fabulous site. The interesting accommodation is on the second floor, where all the old timber beams and fittings have been cleverly incorporated into the rooms. It's a clean crisp great look. Spacious rooms, smart,bathrooms and clever fittings.
Specify water views when booking! The middle front 2nd floor suit, room 214, is "to die for". For a "special" life moment this IS the place!!.. Priced accordingly, but not outrageous.
Pleasant out door water-side restaurant with a good menu. Efficient helpful staff, good breakfasts, free Wii Fi, free news papers and beautiful flowers in the reception area (sorry that's a girl thing!!) most fun thing..watching the Bridge Climber groups overhead.

Room Tip: Second floor, view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Me & my partner stayed at Sebel mid-March 2013 and have to say that we had a wonderful time there, our room was on the ground floor with doors opening onto the promenade with views you wouldn't experience in any of the city hotels, watching the world go by on the Harbour waters was idyllic! Our room was spotlessly clean and a good size too, the bathroom was huge. The air conditioning worked perfectly and wasn't disturbed by any noises at all, unlike some other visitors on TripAdvisor. We enjoyed their more than adequate breakfasts, which you could enjoy quite late into the morning which was great, as there's nothing worse than being on holiday and having to get up early for breakfast?
On our last night, we enjoyed an evening meal at their restaurant and have to say their service was impeccable, very helpful, friendly staff and the food was awesome.

It was a perfect end to a wonderful holiday in OZ and we shall be coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellharbour, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The pier one is located in a renovated old pier immediately to the west of the Harbour Bridge. The interior is modern with some of the old beams exposed for effect. Some people I was with liked this, but I am not so sure that it works very well in this case. Hallways are very dark.

We stayed in a deluxe room on the 3rd floor. Room was smallish but comfortable. Some free TV channels available. Bar Fridge. No microwave. Despite having a room facing the bridge, it was quiet.

The location is pretty fantastic, with the bridge right next to you and great views across the harbour. It is a bit of a walk to Circular Quay (10-15 minutes) but a very pleasant one. We had a discount with a wedding party.

Most of the people I was with found the hotel nice in general, but apart from the location nothing special. My expectations may have been too high. It is in such a special location that I was expecting a special hotel. Not that it is bad by any means, just think an opportunity may have been missed by Sebel .

Would probably try somewhere else for the experience and not stay here again.

Pros: Views.
Cons: Bar staff a bit overwhelmed the weekend we were there.
Good but could have been great?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection(R) is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy one of the Signature Cocktail creations. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.