We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend @ Sebel Pier One” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #52 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Weekend @ Sebel Pier One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Most enjoyable weekend with the Lady at SP1. All was well presented, although the corridor on level 3 was under refurbishment and being painted.

The King Waterfront room was spacious and well presented. The bathroom was a good size, modern and spotless.
Staff were courteous and friendly.

Located within minutes of the Rocks and Circular Quay. We took our pushbikes and enjoyed cycling in the city and around the waters edge to the Botanic Gardens.

Room Tip: I think there may be rooms with Harbour Bridge views. Our room looked over the water on the Northern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    436
    169
    74
    43
See reviews for
139
601
55
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here in a waterfront room, after originally being given a room on the ground floor we went into the room and their was absolutely no privacy as th eroom opened onto the pier, we went back and asked for a room on another level, which they gave us.
Room is looking very tired, toilet noisy, towels old. Very average, expected a little bit more luxury.
Breakfast ok, had to wait for a table for 15 minutes,
Not sure I would stay again, although good location near the rocks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed at Sebel Pier One Sydney for 2 nights while on business. Unfortunately I had a level 1 room facing the road so I couldnt experience the best of Sebel Pier One and the beautiful Sydney Harbour.

The room was a good size and the bed super comfortable. The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful.

The Toilet was a bit of an issue and sounded like an airplane toilet when you flushed it. you also had to cross your fingers that it actually did flush and not just fill up!

The location is great as you are just a short stroll from Circular Quay and while I was there I ran around through the Botanical Gardens which are very nice.

I would also like to know when Sydney Hotels are going to catch up with the rest of the International locations around the world and provide FREE WIFI!!!!!

Room Tip: Try and get a Harbour facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Sebel is a lovely hotel, in a great area with a fantastic outlook. The rooms are very clean, comfy bed and good sized bathroom. However the toilet is like something on an airplane and unfortunately if it is used by any room with a few rooms radius, you will wake up!!! Also there was a function on both Thursday and Saturday nights, and the noise carried on well past midnight and windows are definitely not sound proof. The first night, this wasn't a problem but with an early flight on the Sunday it wasn't ideal to still be awake well into the early hours of the morning. Perhaps ask for a room not directly above the bar area.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far away from the bar area as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Based on my dining experience at Sebel Pier One's Front Restaurant.

Above average location sitting out on the wharf, great entrée (flat head), below average main including a burnt over cooked steak and extremely slow service. Would visit again for the location and a drink but the food simply isn't up to scratch.

Also, beware their valet service; my exotic car was returned scorching hot with a flat tire. Other reviews have noted similar concerns with Sebel's valet service,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at Sebel Pier One last wekend for a getaway with my husband. We found the venue to be absolutely lovely. Gorgeous setting. right near the bridge. Our room had a water view which was just spectacular. Bathroom was not quite as pristine as the rest of the room. The staff were super efficient and attentive. The Concierge staff in particular were just lovely. The Rock markets were just around the corner as wea Cicular Quay. We enjoyed our stay and would visit again.

Room Tip: Select the water view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We have two favourite hotels to stay in when visiting Sydney and this is quicklydefinately our pick when in town for a relaxing (non-shopping) weekend away. The location under the bridge is very convienent for dinner at the quay and the rocks, being only a 10 minute walk to some of the best restaurants in Sydney.

We received excellent service from check-in & out, the bar and also the concierge who arranged a water-taxi for our transport to Circular Quay. This is a great option if heading out for a special night.

Our room this time was one of the heritage bridge side rooms which was clean and well presented,as are all the rooms in the hotel.

The bar down stairs is perfect for pre-dinner sunset drinks or post-dinner drinks and they do great cocktails.

Loved our stay and are looking forward to getting back down very soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection® is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. Our on-site restaurant, Front, offers you the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy a drink in style at Front Bar. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.