We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and great location, excellent service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Stay & Save Sale
Ranked #53 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Goondiwindi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quiet and great location, excellent service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed in mid May 2012, we stayed in a suite (which was lovely) we had great views, and found the staff very pleasant. The breaky is fantastic and the concierge very helpfull. We ordered room service one evening for dinner and it was 5 star.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra and spoil yourself for a suite. If you book well in advance there are great dea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    438
    173
    74
    43
See reviews for
142
608
55
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Lovely view from the Waterside rooms. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds and Friendly staff, all round a nice place to stay. Only complaint would be it's rather noisy, doors aren't very sound proof so you hear everything from the passage, and people walking around in the room above, the toilets were particulary noisy, they sound just like an aeroplane toilet, and you can hear flushing from other rooms.

Room Tip: Pack some ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great rooms fantastic views, food very poor and service level of room service very mixed.

Room Tip: Water view only
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

First time I've stayed at the Pier One as I normally head round to a favourite hotel in Darling Harbour where I'm always treated well. What a surprise when I arrived here. Beautiful view, fantastic location, great rooms, attentive staff and generally excellent feel. I'm sorry to say to my friends at the 'other' hotel I'll be sticking with the Sebel Pier One - love it!

Room Tip: Join the GHA Programme if you're a frequent visitor as their hotel group looks after you better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place is an absolute gem. Have stayed here a couple of times now and am constantly amazed at the value. Where else can you stay on the harbour for 280.00 pn in Sydney. Sure its on the western side of the bridge, just... but wander around the point and pay 500.00 pn... Had a fabulous stay. The rooms are superb and within walking distance there are enough bars and restaurants to keep you busy for days...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Sebel Pier One Sydney for a couple's weekend and to combine with a theatre outing. Unfortunately, staying with the initially booked dates became impossible for family reasons, and my husband had to call and try to change the dates. Because we had booked through a discount website, this proved nigh on impossible, despite him giving the hotel 10 days notice. It was only when he (truthfully) told our reasons that they begrudgingly gave us another weekend a few months further on. I know this is probably a booking policy when hotels sell on these websites, but the prices were not that different, and it is still in the luxury range in terms of cost, discount or no.

When we arrived, we found concierge and book-in staff to be most courteous and helpful, and they upgraded us to a water-view room as they still had the booking noted as a birthday- a very nice touch and one that we really appreciated. The reception is striking in its simplicity and the design takes full advantage of the wonderful view from the wharf. A great place to have a drink or canapes or read the paper with a cup of tea.

I think the main thing to realise with this hotel is that it is a wharf conversion, and they were clearly restricted in terms of space and design because of this. Our room on the second floor was quite narrow. The walls, floors, and furnishings were all white and extremely simple, almost utilitarian. Personally I don't really mind this look, but if you want a sumptuous and luxurious feel, you may be disappointed. The view made up the fourth wall, and is just lovely, particularly as the sun sets and the sky and water are lit with crimson and gold. The tiny balcony is not for sitting, but you can stand there and feel the breeze and soak up more of the view.

The bathroom is once again, probably a casualty of space and refurbishment restrictions that come with the development of an old building. It is very small. The shower is over the bath (not something that encourages me to want to sit in it...) and is screened by a simple plastic shower curtain. Of course this means the whole flapping, dripping, water on the floor palaver that goes with it. The basin is small with little space and the make-up mirror was placed at least 30cm above my head in order to fit. Now I'm no supermodel, but even in high heels I couldn't reach it!
Luckily, the hotel is in a quiet location externally. You can hear the water lapping and the fresh feel is lovely. On the other hand, noise from the corridors is very audible through the door, and people coming in late woke us with banging and talking.

Overall, this hotel is in a great spot and the views are fabulous. It has a fresh, minimalistic feel, allowing the position to be the star. BUT, if you are going to be in a room without that view, I would save your money and spend it on a great waterside dinner instead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have a very short list of hotels I like to stay at while in Sydney. The sebel pier one is probably on top of the list.
Hickson road, tucked past the harbour bridge is a quiet spot away from the noise of the rocks. The hotel is modern and chic with influence from the harbour and the bridge itself. Rich navy blues, steel and wood adorn the interior. The staff are professional and curteous and offer a smile.
Some of the rooms have a little balcony door you can open and enjoy a fresh harbour view. Others, a simply a window. There is air conditioning to your room, which is bright and airy, the bedding is comfortable. There isn't much in reagards to curtains so expect the morning sun.
The rooms are equipped with modern mod cons, flat screen TV's and ipod docks. The bathroom fresh and big. The toilet being the only downfall, as it resembles airline loo's and is quite violent in its 'flush'.
This really is a great place for a view of Sydney Harbour bridge. Just a short stroll out the back of the hotel will get you great photographic opportunities.
My advise? Grab a cheese platter, a bottle of wine, and relex in the bar or outside. You're in the heart of Sydney.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#47 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection® is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. Our on-site restaurant, Front, offers you the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy a drink in style at Front Bar. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.