We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #54 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We spent three days at the Sebel Pier One, Sydney. The hotel, which is very conveniently located, practically under the Sydney Harbour Bridge and only a short walk away from the Rocks, is quite good although quite pricey. Our room was wonderfully decorated, but was only a touch larger than a matchbox, enjoying the dull view of the back street (instead of a harbor view).
The Hotel’s restaurant was excellent, both in terms of meal quality and service, although that too, was quite expensive compared to equivalent European standards.
In any case, I do suggest this hotel; just make sure your luggage is not big enough for your room size. Alternatively do find the energy (perhaps after a 20hr flight to Syd) to ask the reception to move you to a larger room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    470
    194
    81
    48
See reviews for
156
655
59
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

This hotel was an excellent choice and the location is just wonderful. The Sebel Pier One is built out on to the water near warehouses right under the Sydney Harbour Bridge, so you're right in with the action. It is 10 minutes walk to Circular Quay, and only 5 minutes by taxi to Darling Harbour. We chose a King Water View room, and although there is a sliding door you can open out onto the water view, there isn't much of a balcony, but the fresh air is wonderful. We saw a couple of cruise ships sail under the Sydney Harbour Bridge so we really were that close! We also chose to do the BridgeClimb, so we walked right there. All in all, an amazing stay and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. We chose a basic room without water views as we weren't going to be spending much time in our room. We flew into Sydney at 7am and went straight to the hotel to drop our bags off, the reception said they would call us once our room was ready and they called us at 11am to inform us we could now check in which was great. The service was friendly and our room was very nice. We ate breakfast at the hotel on one occasion and it was of the usual standard for a hotel buffet breakfast, as was the room service. The bar is great and the alfresco area on the water is lovely with beautiful views. The hotel is in a great location walking distance to the opera house and city centre. I am happy with my choice to stay at this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Arrived at hotel at 09.15 hotel looks good, 1st problem we could not check in until 1400 hrs, no rooms ready and after24hours of being awake we could have done with a nap.

staff were good, room was good overlooking other piers.

location right under the harbour bridge, good area to get to everything, most attractions within walking distance.

Breakfast very good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sebel Pier One for three nights two weeks ago before flying on to New Zealand for a bike tour around the south island. We thought everything about the hotel was perfect except for one thing. The location can't be beat (right under the Harbour Bridge... minutes walk to Circular Quay, Opera House, Royal Botanic Gardens, etc.), the room was large even by American standards, the included buffet breakfast was delicious and plentiful with the bonus of enjoying it overlooking the bay, and the concierge recommended an excellent restaurant for our first night's dinner. The only negative is that they charge an arm and a leg for internet access. Maybe they're trying to capitalize on business travelers on expense accounts, but in this day and age, what's the big deal about providing free wifi? I would have given 5 stars but for this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Waking up in the morning and staring up at the bridge isnt a sight you get at very many hotels in Sydney.
This hotel appears to be slightly out of the way as its on the back side of the bridge..dont be fooled..within 10/15 minutes youre smack bang in the centre of the Rocks/Circular Quay/Opera house area! Its great..breakfast on its own pier in the sunshine was fantastic.

The rooms have all been refurbished, our ground floor room still had the warehouse feel with great high ceilings.

Definitely no complaints here, and can recommend to all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

This was our second stay at the Sebel, a long weekend in Sydney to enjoy culture and dining

The room, a Walsh Bay suite, was lovely and roomy with a terrific bathroom and good amenities. But, the tv was difficult to use and the coffee was not replenished all weekend.

The breakfast was very ordinary, dreadful coffee and dirty tables, rushed, noisy and not at all relaxing.

The wrong newspaper was delivered to us on Saturday and no paper at all on Sunday. Given the price, they could get this right.

I was disappointed by young Blake on the concierge desk who was rude, twice, once on the phone and once in person mate, you are the first port of call, learn some customer service.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection

Address: 11 Hickson Road | Walsh Bay, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Sebel Pier One Sydney)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Sydney
#26 Family Hotel in Sydney
#27 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#49 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection(R) is ideally located on the magnificent Sydney waterfront close to the Southern pylon of the Sydney Harbour Bridge. Boutique in size, our hotel features 189 unique federation style rooms with contemporary chic furnishings from the stunning, stylish absolute waterfront Suites through to our Eastern facing Heritage rooms. In the heart of the Rocks our location offers the perfect accommodation base for exploring Sydney or getting friends together for a special event or Sydney wedding. The Gantry Restaurant & Bar offers its guests the ultimate open air dining experience with full panoramic views of Walsh Bay. Guests can also enjoy one of the Signature Cocktail creations. This luxury hotel in Sydney also offers a smoke-free environment, valet parking, 24-hour security and is pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Pier 1 Sydney
Sebel Pier One Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sebel Pier One Hotel Sydney
Pier One Sydney
Sydney Sebel Pier One

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pier One Sydney Harbour, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.