We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 25% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #13 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Spent two lovely weeks here (wedding anniversary). Our suite was spacious, very clean and most comfortable which was great to come to after a long day of sightseeing. The service from all staff was outstanding, friendly, polite and prompt. Breakfast was always an event to look forward to; from the gorgeous, delicious food to the great staff. We will return!

Room Tip: Walking distance to the Opera House, Observatory, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    186
    70
    24
    35
See reviews for
143
581
60
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose this hotel for our wedding anniversary stay as our first overnight stay was great. We upgraded to a suite this time and this added to the overall experience of staying in what must be considered as one of the best hotels, if not, the best hotel in Sydney. The service we received from the greeting, through to showing us to our room, the breakfast staff and checkout was the best I have received in any hotel. The standard rooms are tasteful, spacious and very clean and the suites go up one notch further. Due to the location, it is so much quieter than other hotels and sleeping in a strange bed was not a problem, as it quite often can be when travelling. Our wedding anniversary celebration was made so much more memorable as a result of staying here and we will definitley be back again anytime we are staying in the city overnight.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the 3rd floor suites - well worth it ,especially if you are staying for multiple n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, null, Cayman Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The guys on the reception takes good care of you so you feel like home.Very courteous and happy to serve customers. What an excellent customer service that makes the Langham plus.! As a Travel counsellor and specialist in their hotel worlwide this one really treats me well with flowers and wine when I arrive in my room.Location was not that great but overall experience it was amazing! Thank you Langham Sydney!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Not the best location* in Sydney but more than makes up for this with excellent service, great rooms and good facilities. The rooms are tastefully furnished, large and comfortable. Highlight fo us was a great breakfast every morning. The breakfast room has a lovely ambience and is staffed with helpful, cheerful people. By the second day, many staff remembered our name and preferences. The location, while not ideal, is an easy walk to the restaurants of The Rocks and a reasonable walk to the city shops and Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: Corner suite on top floor has a great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My partner and I were given a gift of a night at the langham hotel. You like us might wonder where it is. It is in the Rocks and what an experience we had. From the time we arrived the service was like nothing I have experienced. They greeted us at the car, took our luggage parked the car and escorted us to reception. At reception we were asked what time we would like to check out, 1.30pm was fine. Up. To the room which was enormous, great view, great linen and enormous bathroom. We went down to the pool and gym which were also fantastic. Had a spa and a sauna, towels, lemon water and herbal tea supplied. The rocks is five minutes away so off we went to explore. The next morning breakfast at the hotel, again the service was second to none and the food fantastic, I will definitely back.

Room Tip: They are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Langham in Sydney for our 10th anniversary. The suite was beautiful and sweets were awaiting us to celebrate our anniversary. We also had an enjoyable time at the Galileo restaurant with a superb degustation dinner and complimentary hot drinks and sweets, again, to celebrate our anniversary. We thought those, were very thoughtful gestures.

The only down side was the breakfast buffet that we found less than average, food and service. A shame for a hotel of such high standards. Especially when the last thing customers experience is the breakfast, it is not a good strategy to make it cheap.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, for special occasions or not.

Regards,

V. Nash

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north coast NSW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed at other Langham hotels, and this one lives up to their reputation. The staff are very helpful and friendly - this is what makes it 5 'owl-eyes' instead of 4.
+; While it is in the Rocks, it is a 10 minute walk to the main center of activity, 15 to Circular Quay / harbor, so it's actually very quiet. We had a room on the top floor, and the only time we noticed any noise at all was after a cruise ship docked - after that you could just barely hear the ship's PA making mumbled announcements. Didn't hear a thing at all from other rooms. Bed was very comfy.
-; The pool area is underground rather than outside, so you can't soak in the sun or anything. The spa area is ok, not great - not nearly as impressive as the Langham Auckland.
The furniture is the sort of old-fashion stuff that my mother would like rather than contemporary - whether that's a plus or minus is up to you. The location is close to city center but not right in it - again, a plus if you want to get out of the hustle but a minus if you want to be in the action. For us it was the perfect combo - close to action but not right in it.
I will be staying in the #1 ranked Meriton on Campbell later this week: considering that it's aprox half the price of the Langham, it will be interesting to see how it compares!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think this our location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's newest and most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat which has recently undergone a grand transformation and multi-million dollar redevelopment, boasts the largest guestrooms in the city. All featuring opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, a focus remains on a grand residence experience for all guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views from the moment they check-in, with all rooms and suites offering either Western Harbour or city skyline outlooks across Sydney. Our brand new global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea. Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood is now be hosted in our new dedicated afternoon tea space, Palm Court. Channelling pure opulence, expect harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing in the backdrop, when you take part in this iconic Langham experience. As the sunsets over Palm Court, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. Whether it be for a quiet pre-dinner drink or lavish cocktails chilled with liquid nitrogen and tasting plates to accompany, Palm Court by night is an experience of its own. The Langham, Sydney also welcomes a brand new dining concept to the hotel in 2015. Kent Street Kitchen, led by Parisian trained, Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Rudolph (formerly of est.) Delivers old world techniques combined with fresh, modern twists. The restaurant itself has a strong focus on ambience, European jazz mixes and old school service. Kent Street Kitchen also features an exclusive Chef's Table in the middle of the restaurant, serving a full degustation menu, on a 3 metre white marble table. This impressive offering is set each evening with a beautiful dinner setting, glassware, silver candelabra and an ever-changing floral design. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages and body treatments, as well as advanced skin care treatments from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and our new exciting partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience at the end of 2014, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences, The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons on our cityscape court, elegant boxed take-away picnics, sunset sailing experiences, unique terrace dinners and cocktail tastings plus local touring experiences utilising our pink Langham bikes or Pink London Taxi. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Splendia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.