We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 25% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #13 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Langham in Sydney for our 10th anniversary. The suite was beautiful and sweets were awaiting us to celebrate our anniversary. We also had an enjoyable time at the Galileo restaurant with a superb degustation dinner and complimentary hot drinks and sweets, again, to celebrate our anniversary. We thought those, were very thoughtful gestures.

The only down side was the breakfast buffet that we found less than average, food and service. A shame for a hotel of such high standards. Especially when the last thing customers experience is the breakfast, it is not a good strategy to make it cheap.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone, for special occasions or not.

Regards,

V. Nash

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    186
    69
    25
    35
See reviews for
140
580
59
165
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north coast NSW
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have stayed at other Langham hotels, and this one lives up to their reputation. The staff are very helpful and friendly - this is what makes it 5 'owl-eyes' instead of 4.
+; While it is in the Rocks, it is a 10 minute walk to the main center of activity, 15 to Circular Quay / harbor, so it's actually very quiet. We had a room on the top floor, and the only time we noticed any noise at all was after a cruise ship docked - after that you could just barely hear the ship's PA making mumbled announcements. Didn't hear a thing at all from other rooms. Bed was very comfy.
-; The pool area is underground rather than outside, so you can't soak in the sun or anything. The spa area is ok, not great - not nearly as impressive as the Langham Auckland.
The furniture is the sort of old-fashion stuff that my mother would like rather than contemporary - whether that's a plus or minus is up to you. The location is close to city center but not right in it - again, a plus if you want to get out of the hustle but a minus if you want to be in the action. For us it was the perfect combo - close to action but not right in it.
I will be staying in the #1 ranked Meriton on Campbell later this week: considering that it's aprox half the price of the Langham, it will be interesting to see how it compares!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think this our location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My stay at The Langham hotel last week was absolutely fantastic. Truely one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in and I travel a lot.

The hotel has an excellent location minutes from the Rocks, however it is the hotel staff that make this hotel what it is- they really cannot do enough to help you. I loved that they used my name to greet me on many occassions and always welcomed me back to the hotel after spending the day in the city.

The hotel has a family feel about it which makes you feel at home, I believe because the staff really do look after and help each other.

I would definitely stay here again, the rooms were beautiful, the resturants serve great food and I just loved my entire stay here.

The only small thing is that I had to pay for the wifi, it would be great if this was free in your room.

Room Tip: I was in room 207 looking over the road rather than the harbour, still loved the view from my balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Vick,

Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to read your feedback!

Our most regular guests tell us they return to the hotel as they are made to feel like they are at their luxury Sydney home, and I am delighted to hear you had the same homely experience during your stay.

Thank you again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our time at the Langham Sydney was truly amazing. Once a year my friend and I escape our families and treat ourselves to a wonderful experience. At our first visit we thought the Langham staff must have thought that we were "mystery shoppers" disquised as two ladies. The service was unbelievable and of such a high standard. Each subsequent visit has left us feeling uplifted and joyous with the same high standard of service. Nothing for us compares with the Langham.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Penny,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had lunch here after a guided tour of The Rocks. The Globe bar is a beautifully panelled, well fitted-out, classy spot. Service was excellent and the food was a mix of classic (club sandwich) and new cuisine (seared scallops on kiwi salad). Great selection of wines and beer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent visit to The Langham, Sydney.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your lunch in our Globe Bar. Its charming, private club feel makes it one of our most popular dining experiences among our guests and locals.

I will be sure to share your complements to our Executive Chef, Anthony Craven and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Our Tiffin afternoon tea is another delightful indulgence that can't be missed.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at this property last November, shortly after it was taken over by the Langham group - it was formely "The Observatory" Hotel which had a great reputation for excellent service. Overall, I was disappointed with both the physical features of the hotel and the customer service. Despite asking well in advance for an early check-in - we didn't get it. In fact the front counter staff were a bit dismissive of my request. The room - a grand Langham harbour view king room - was just OK. We did get the balcony that we had requested, which was nice to have eventhough the view from the room is towards the west and not very exciting. The room was a good size but it looked tired and worn (as did the rest of the hotel) and could have done with a bit of a spruce up - perhaps this has by now happened. Breakfast was included in our package and was just average. We had "high tea" at the hotel one afternoon and this was very nice. We didn't eat our meals at the hotel preferring to walk to the rocks area (about 15 minute walk) to have dinner. Overall, I felt this hotel was just too far away from the action - I normally like to stay in hotels that are on the spot - too far to darling harbour, too far to the rocks, too far to the city centre.

Note: Some large cruise line companies (but not all) dock their boats virtually at the back of this hotel - so if you are going on one of these cruises this is probably a really great place to stay.

Room Tip: Request a balcony room when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I was disappointed to read to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Front Office Manager, who has begun implementing processes to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I took my sister to The Langham for her 60th birthday and I'm glad I did! The location was fantastic, the staff were wonderful, the room was clean and large, the bathroom was beautiful and the toiletries luxe! Thank you for such a memorable stay and I can't wait to bring my husband next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rosie,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I'm delighted to read that you wonderful time whilst staying at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team of people and they are committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney with your husband!

Kind regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's newest and most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat which has recently undergone a grand transformation and multi-million dollar redevelopment, boasts the largest guestrooms in the city. All featuring opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, a focus remains on a grand residence experience for all guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views from the moment they check-in, with all rooms and suites offering either Western Harbour or city skyline outlooks across Sydney. Our brand new global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea. Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood is now be hosted in our new dedicated afternoon tea space, Palm Court. Channelling pure opulence, expect harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing in the backdrop, when you take part in this iconic Langham experience. As the sunsets over Palm Court, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. Whether it be for a quiet pre-dinner drink or lavish cocktails chilled with liquid nitrogen and tasting plates to accompany, Palm Court by night is an experience of its own. The Langham, Sydney also welcomes a brand new dining concept to the hotel in 2015. Kent Street Kitchen, led by Parisian trained, Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Rudolph (formerly of est.) Delivers old world techniques combined with fresh, modern twists. The restaurant itself has a strong focus on ambience, European jazz mixes and old school service. Kent Street Kitchen also features an exclusive Chef's Table in the middle of the restaurant, serving a full degustation menu, on a 3 metre white marble table. This impressive offering is set each evening with a beautiful dinner setting, glassware, silver candelabra and an ever-changing floral design. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages and body treatments, as well as advanced skin care treatments from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and our new exciting partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience at the end of 2014, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences, The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons on our cityscape court, elegant boxed take-away picnics, sunset sailing experiences, unique terrace dinners and cocktail tastings plus local touring experiences utilising our pink Langham bikes or Pink London Taxi. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Splendia, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.