We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous hotel in a city of great hotels!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a fabulous hotel in a city of great hotels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the Observatory Hotel (now the Langham) over the internet almost 12 months prior to our holiday including the pick-up from the airport. The driver was there to greet us and was very friendly and reliable.

On arrival at the hotel, (early in the morning, about 7:00 am, after flying from London via Singapore without a break), we were so happy that we were able to check straight into our room. This had been arranged by booking the room for the Sunday night and ensuring that the hotel knew we would be arriving late (Monday morning). (This may sound simple, but the last time we stayed at the Shangri-La, Sydney with the same arrangements, but they were told by our travel agents that we would be arriving early (i.e. early in the morning) and the hotel had us as a no-show for the first night, even though we had paid for the room, and we could not check-in on our arrival!)

Reception staff were very courteous and helpful, our luggage was brought up to the room very quickly and the room was beautiful. We had a basic room and were placed at the front of the hotel. This is not a huge high rise building, just three stories in height, so the view from our room was nothing to write home about but we had a little balcony that enabled us to sit out in the evening and watch the world go by in this fairly quiet area of The Rocks.

Fabulous huge bathroom with separate shower and bath and a well fitted bedroom with loads of room. We only had one comfy chair but we had two high back chairs that we could take out onto the balcony.

The concierge was very helpful recommending restaurants and showing us the route to walk for our excursion pick-up etc.

The friendliness, olde world charm, smallness and service excelled our expectations and this is certainly the best hotel we have stayed at in Sydney after three visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Our Tiffin afternoon tea is another delightful indulgence that can't be missed.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    177
    67
    20
    33
See reviews for
125
555
56
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed for two nights - we had one issue with our room which was a flashing smoke alarm which disturbed our sleep. The hotel were fantastic about our complaint and upgraded us to a senior from our junior suite and it was truly a first class experience. We enjoyed meals there and were so busy in Sydney that we were unable to take advantage of the Spa. Concierge was particularly helpful telling us where to go in the Rocks and recommending activities.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

After being away for a number of years I re-visited the Langham Hotel and fond memories of great service, great rooms and great surrounds came back.
This is in my mind the best Hotel in Sydney and one of the best in Australia. The staff are very welcoming, the Hotel has a great feel to it and the rooms are excellent.
The Gym, pool and Spa area is one of the best around.
Would highly recommend this place to all my friends and work mates.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations.

As a regular guest with us, it is always wonderful to read that we are continuing to create great memories time after time.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I love this hotel. It has a classic elegance. The staff are lovely and the rooms are huge. It also has the best swimming pool, absolutely divine. My only gripe was my mattress was so saggy it felt like a hammock. And I was charged for the pretty pink pens, I think they should be complimentary.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I'm delighted you were able to enjoy our pool in The Day Spa, its peaceful ambience makes it the perfect place to escape, and is definitely a favourite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Congratulations to the Hotel's staff attention to detail. The Concierge and his staff are real ambassadors for Sydney. No need to look for directions with them explaining my route on the lovely pink map. The Reception staff friendly and efficient. The dining snd drinks staff equally so. The waterside room I booked was large enough to be called a mini suite in my view and congratulations to the cleaning staff for their hard work. The Flavours of Langham merchandise area not as big as the Melbourne one. Sadly not enough teddy bears for sale and I have to wait for the new designs to come through. However I love my bag and other items.
Just hope we are blessed with a Hotel Langham in Perth one day.
The nicest surprise was the Honeycomb at breakfast time. This hotel may be elderly but it ticks all my boxes and thank you staff for two nights in a quiet area of town. Am already saving for another stay. Definitely do not enjoy high rise modern hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkes, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Room was wonderful, booking online with no issues and the lady who helped went out of her way to find the right room for us as we are smokers.
The smoking room was just as nice as any other and the balcony actually meant we didn't smoke in the room at all. The room had no smoke residue that we could smell either.
We didn't have time to enjoy the extras available but would love to have a whole weekend there to do so.
Loved the service from booking to door service through to the breakfast - which was extremely nice.
I would recommend a stay here to anyone who wants to be near this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Fantastic staff, quiet location, close to Sydney's best! Beautiful decor! Spa was a wonderful retreat. Classic! Breakfast buffet very amble with friendly efficient service.The fresh fruit was delicious but I am not a fan of canned fruits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Our Tiffin afternoon tea is another delightful indulgence that can't be missed.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address when The Langham, Sydney re-opens its prestigious doors in December, 2014. Nestled in the historic rocks district on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star haven boasts the largest lead-in guestrooms in Sydney including opening windows, Juliette balconies and our extensive signature terraces. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests will enjoy Western Harbour views from the moment they check-in, with all rooms and suites offering either harbour or city skyline outlooks across Sydney. Our brand new global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea when doors re-open December. Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood will now be hosted in our new dedicated afternoon tea space, Palm Court. Channeling pure opulence, expect harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing in the backdrop, when you take part in this iconic Langham experience. The Langham, Sydney also welcomes a brand new fine dining concept to the hotel. Kent Street Kitchen, led by Parisian trained, Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Rudolph (formerly of est.), Will deliver an immersive culinary encounter with a focus on welcoming guests inside a real-life Chef's kitchen, whilst delivering a true fine dining experience. Kent Street Kitchen will also feature an exclusive Chef's Table experience serving a full degustation menu for special occasions. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney will continue to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa will feature facials, massages and body treatments, as well as advanced skin care treatments from German beauty pioneers, BABOR. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.