We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate, Friendly and Quality Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Intimate, Friendly and Quality Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a small hotel (96 rooms) just 10 minutes walk from Circular Quay in a quiet wooded street between the city and Darling harbour. The moment you walk in, the smell of roses tells you it's a Langham!
The staff are courteous and friendly without being intrusive - A difficult balance to achieve. I was there for 10 nights alone on business and by day two, everyone used my name and knew my preferred drink at the bar!
It is absolutely ideal with large rooms, decent Internet connection (free), very comfortable beds, excellent food and a great closeted, intimate atmosphere. This is nothing like the brash Four Seasons or Intercontinental down the road, this is a hotel for travellers who want style, peace and efficient service.
I was told there are plans for refurbishment in some areas and this can only take this place from 'excellent' to 'superb' and negative reports in TA should be ignored.
I used the spa and pool a few times and again, it is a quite superb facility.
I would recommend this hotel as much better option to the huge flashy competitors nearby.

(A tip with taxis - The Hotel became a Langham in October. Many Taxi drivers don't recognise the name. Make reference to 'The Observatory Hotel' if they question where it is)

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations. We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable.

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our Globe Bar, it is the perfect venue for all-day dining and a quiet drink.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    176
    66
    20
    33
See reviews for
125
553
55
154
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Alabama
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

For our first trip to Sydney I made reservations over 6 months ago when this property was still known as the Observatory Hotel. As our first trip to Australia came closer to us leaving I read recent reviews of this hotel and became some what concerned about some of the comments such as lumpy beds or older furniture. I thought about looking elsewhere but then we just decided for us to stick to our original plans. And we were so glad we did not change.

The hotel was wonderful with a tremendous staff all of whom were friendly and knowledgeable. Our room on the second floor had a view of the Darling Harbor area and did have some what older furnishings but they were all quality furnishings. The bed was fine and the big chair with ottoman was great. The internet worked totally better than some of the reviews I had read and was fast. The bathroom had a shower with a huge rain shower head which one would want to stay under forever. All top quality in the bathroom. We needed a voltage converter for a hair curler and it was delivered to our room in a flash.

We ate continental breakfast for each of the three mornings we were there and it could not have been better. It included a variety of breads, yogurts, fruits, and pastries along with eggs, bacon and sausage. I am particular about my morning coffee and this coffee was as good as I would ever find back home. Edwardo was our waiter each morning and he was the best. Since we were new to Sydney we asked him a lot of questions and he really helped us with his advice.

Each morning as we left we asked the concierge, Michael, about directions and he would highlight things on the map and suggest the best walks for the best sights. Everyone we came in contact with at the hotel including the front desk, concierge, restaurant and bar were helpful and a delight to deal with during our visit.

My wife and I would stay here if we ever have the opportunity to see Sydney again. We liked everything about the hotel and staff and highly recommend you stay at The Langham.

Room Tip: We had a king bed with Harbor view. I believe it was room 230. We had no noise of any kind in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments.

We are very fortunate to have a wonderful team here at The Langham, Sydney that are dedicated to making our guests experiences truly memorable. We will be sure to share your comments with Eduardo and Michael.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Sydney on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Friendly and capable staff. You could tell they were an Orient Express Hotel before.
Rooms are tired and need to be referbished . Carpets have stains. Needs some TLC to get its glory back.The color pink is used too much every where. The spa is still the best.
The location is intersting but not the best.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Yamin,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. Guest feedback both positive and negative is extremely important and on this occasion provides management with an opportunity to address areas of concern and make improvements.

However, I was pleased to hear of your experience at The Day Spa. The Day Spa is widely known in Sydney for its elegant surrounds and wonderful treatments offered and is definitely one of our guests' favourite facilities.

I do hope we can welcome you again to The Langham, Sydney.

Have a delightful day,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We started off our Australian adventure with an overnight stay at The Langham before heading off to our first week of vacation. My husband and I love this hotel. It is so quaint and cozy. The staff is incredible, especially the conceirge. We had a Harbour View room and it was lovely. It definitely had a European feel. Unfortunately the view was just okay because right out front was a massive cruise ship but it's not like we sat outside on the balcony so it didn't bother us. I enjoy the turndown service in the evening and the wake up call came promptly the next morning. We enjoyed a fabulous breakfast buffet in the Galileo restaurant. We still talk about the smoked salmon!

After two weeks traveling in Australia we stopped back for another overnight stay at The Langham and it was such a perfect ending to vacation. We left our travel clothing to be laundered while we were in Australia and it was done perfectly. The only bummer we missed this time around was no slippers in the room. Also, the scrambled eggs weren't nearly as good as the first time but the smoked salmon was still divine. We stayed in a room overlooking Kent Street this time so we weren't stuck staring at a cruise ship and the room was just as lovely.

The hotel is within a 5 minute walking distance to the markets and restaurants within the rocks; $10 cab fare to Circular Quay. Great location nestled on Kent Street. I would definitely make The Langham to anyone traveling to Sydney.

Room Tip: The Harbour View room is nice but Kent Street view is just as great. Can't go wrong with either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

It is always a delight to hear that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

I will be sure to share your complements to our Executive Chef, Anthony Craven. I am sure he will be delighted to hear his breakfasts and smoked salmon were thoroughly enjoyed.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I was at Langham Sydney for 5 nights during Christmas with my boyfriend and his family. The hotel is located very close to the harbour and you can pretty much walk anywhere. The rooms are very large and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was great; they had a lot of variety, including honey comb and a great fresh fruit selection. Their desserts are so yummy. Make sure you try some in the evening. The indoor pool and the steam room were great to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. The staff was also very friendly. Especially a young boy who worked at the bar whose name I forgot to get so I could thank in this review! He was really great. I definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

I'm also glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfasts in Galileo. I will be sure to pass on this praise to our Executive Chef, Anthony Craven and his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A recent addition to the Langham family, it has all the hallmarks of its more famous Langham Hotel, London. In the process of upgrading the wifi, which worked very well in our room. Michael, the concierge remember our names, which was a nice touch. Also very helpful. 10/15 minute walk to Circular Quay, 5 minutes into the heart of the rocks. Room was described as harbour view, more the docks and then the water. If you like ships, great view. Good size room and bathroom. 20 meter pool, gym and steam rooms (male & female) in the basement.

Room Tip: Harbour view, otherwise looking over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear loyal guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at The Langham, Sydney on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

loved our stay,quiet hotel tucked away in the back of the rocks area,staff were good,the pool is really nice,the hotel had a nice smell,lifts were quick,beds were comfy,nice size room everything u need right down to the bath salts,its away from the action,$10 cab fare to darling harbour if u dont want to walk,its uphill comming back,,the rocks is a short 10/15 min walk,Stayed on the road side but still was quiet ,im a light sleeper and nothing woke me up which was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

I am pleased that you acknowledged the hotel's scent, it is a Langham signature scent called Ginger Flower, which is used in Langham hotels worldwide and can be purchased in any of our Flavours of Langham stores.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience elegant and luxurious hospitality at The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in its most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney boasts the largest guestrooms in Sydney including opening windows and balconies. From its historic Rocks district location, guests can enjoy sweeping western harbourside views, and a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city's most iconic experiences. The Langham, Sydney's new Palm Court plays host to Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood, an exclusive experience at Langham hotels worldwide. For a one-of-a-kind contemporary fine-dining experience, Kent Street Kitchen will showcase innovative cuisine using premium local produce, executed with elegance and technical precision. The Day Spa will continue to offer Sydney's renowned spa experience, delivering a reinvigorated spa environment, that offers a holistic approach designed to restore the mind, body and soul. The all-inclusive Day Spa offers a holistic approach to health, fitness and wellness, with fully-equipped Health Club, Jacuzzi and steam rooms. The Langham Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, complete with pale stone columns and a star-dappled sky ceiling will remain, completing this ultimate oasis of serenity. We look forward to welcoming you to Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address upon reopening on December 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.