We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #11 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A very friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A recent addition to the Langham family, it has all the hallmarks of its more famous Langham Hotel, London. In the process of upgrading the wifi, which worked very well in our room. Michael, the concierge remember our names, which was a nice touch. Also very helpful. 10/15 minute walk to Circular Quay, 5 minutes into the heart of the rocks. Room was described as harbour view, more the docks and then the water. If you like ships, great view. Good size room and bathroom. 20 meter pool, gym and steam rooms (male & female) in the basement.

Room Tip: Harbour view, otherwise looking over street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear loyal guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at The Langham, Sydney on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    836
    195
    71
    24
    35
See reviews for
150
599
64
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

loved our stay,quiet hotel tucked away in the back of the rocks area,staff were good,the pool is really nice,the hotel had a nice smell,lifts were quick,beds were comfy,nice size room everything u need right down to the bath salts,its away from the action,$10 cab fare to darling harbour if u dont want to walk,its uphill comming back,,the rocks is a short 10/15 min walk,Stayed on the road side but still was quiet ,im a light sleeper and nothing woke me up which was good

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

I am pleased that you acknowledged the hotel's scent, it is a Langham signature scent called Ginger Flower, which is used in Langham hotels worldwide and can be purchased in any of our Flavours of Langham stores.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We booked a room at a special rate and the experience made our trip to Sydney a memorable one. The staff were polite but not stuffy and the old world charm of the room was a nice change to the plastic fantastic furniture you get elsewhere. We were upgraded to a room with a water view and received complimentary valet parking and breakfast. The pool area was also unique and made this hotel more special than most. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

I'm also pleased you acknowledged our pool in The Day Spa, its peaceful ambience makes it the perfect place to escape, and is definitely a favourite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

In favour of The Langham there were personal touches such as petit four in the room also complimentary water - these were appreciated.

We have visited the Langham when it was the Observatory, many times. Had functions, birthdays,anniversary and other special events, and have recently (before our stay) recommended to friends for functions and accommodation. It is now the Langham. Despite having a letter from The Langham setting out terms - given at reception. We encountered difficulties with GUARANTEED late check out - a call to our room in the morning asking when we were checking out and indicating we hadn't asked for it and they were fully booked and it was up to them! Afternoon tea - didn't advise we had to book. Key card to get to our room cancelled so couldn't get back in. All of these items could have been communicated on the letter. In addition I purchased a gift from Langham Shop to be dilivered to the room it wasn't. On complaining I was firstly told it was the travel providers fault! I poiinted out that the hotel had given me the letter and NOT the provider. I found general lack of training and professionalism. In addition why add pink ribbons etc which I understand is peculiar to The Langham, which clash dreadfully with the wonderful decor already in place! Breakfast was mediocre and for a five star establishment it just didn't cut it.

Having said the above I will say that the wait staff and the food in Galileo was wonderful. The wait staff in the bar were also very help[ful. These I believe were staff in place when Langham took over.

Would I visit again, probably not unless I hear it has improved considerably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I was disappointed to read to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Front Office Manager, who has begun implementing processes to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife & I chose to stay at this hotel on our wedding night. As Sydney siders we rarely stay at a hotel in our own city, but we are glad we did. With everything one does for their wedding you really want to nail your choice so that everything is just perfect and memorable. The Langham continued our perfect wedding day with an elegant place to rest after a long but wonderful day.

Everything is done tastefully. The lobby is lovely and our Waterview suite was very spacious and just gorgeous in every way. Waking up to a lovely romantic breakfast with my wife was the highlight. Great service, lovely food and a hotel that keeps the period charm like no other. We'll be back when we next have an overnight stay in town for a show or just to relive the glamour of this hidden gem.

Everything's within walking distance and there is no traffic noise outside the hotel. It's the perfect oasis no matter what your business is in our beautiful harbour city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is a delight to hear that we were able to play a part in making your wedding day particularly special with our enchanting hospitality and leaving you with wonderful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Good points: location, staff friendly and helpful. Extras in bathroom, like a loofah, body scrub and a huge bath. Good air conditioning on the hottest day ever recorded in Sydney. Free Wifi. Excellent poached eggs (specially ordered) fresh orange juice and pancakes for breakfast. Great espressos. Turn down service and slippers. Old world charm. Great martinis in the bar.
Not so good points: rooms above carpark so reversing trucks beeping early in Saturday morning. WiFi did not work on far side of bedroom. Mini bar not restocked. Tepid lumpy scrambled eggs and cold dry, chewey bacon on the buffet at breakfast. Rooms near service lift so noise heard constantly.
Would we go there again? Probably, would request different rooms but are keen to see other accommodation options in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us. However I was dissappointed to read the issues that you had at the hotel and I will pass on your feedback to the relevant department heads.

I acknowledge that our WiFi doesn't offer the best coverage at the moment, however upgrades are taking place and will be completed by the end of this month.

I am also pleased to announce we have appointed Anthony Craven as our new Executive Chef. Anthony is currrently working on improving our menus in both Globe Bar and Galileo Restaurant.

These are all welcome changes which we know that our guests will truly enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First time in Sydney and what a great location!! Quiet street, close to everything, walking distance to the rocks. Staff are very professional yet friendly. Room was spacious, very comfortable bed, great shower/bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
0.5 mi away
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 2,593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#21 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
0.6 mi away
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
1.3 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Campbell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's newest and most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat which has recently undergone a grand transformation and multi-million dollar redevelopment, boasts the largest guestrooms in the city. All featuring opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, a focus remains on a grand residence experience for all guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views from the moment they check-in, with all rooms and suites offering either Western Harbour or city skyline outlooks across Sydney. Our brand new global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea. Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood is now be hosted in our new dedicated afternoon tea space, Palm Court. Channelling pure opulence, expect harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing in the backdrop, when you take part in this iconic Langham experience. As the sunsets over Palm Court, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. Whether it be for a quiet pre-dinner drink or lavish cocktails chilled with liquid nitrogen and tasting plates to accompany, Palm Court by night is an experience of its own. The Langham, Sydney also welcomes a brand new dining concept to the hotel in 2015. Kent Street Kitchen, led by Parisian trained, Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Rudolph (formerly of est.) Delivers old world techniques combined with fresh, modern twists. The restaurant itself has a strong focus on ambience, European jazz mixes and old school service. Kent Street Kitchen also features an exclusive Chef's Table in the middle of the restaurant, serving a full degustation menu, on a 3 metre white marble table. This impressive offering is set each evening with a beautiful dinner setting, glassware, silver candelabra and an ever-changing floral design. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages and body treatments, as well as advanced skin care treatments from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and our new exciting partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience at the end of 2014, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences, The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons on our cityscape court, elegant boxed take-away picnics, sunset sailing experiences, unique terrace dinners and cocktail tastings plus local touring experiences utilising our pink Langham bikes or Pink London Taxi. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.