We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A five star hotel that felt like a five star hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Advance Purchase
Ranked #13 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A five star hotel that felt like a five star hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a room at a special rate and the experience made our trip to Sydney a memorable one. The staff were polite but not stuffy and the old world charm of the room was a nice change to the plastic fantastic furniture you get elsewhere. We were upgraded to a room with a water view and received complimentary valet parking and breakfast. The pool area was also unique and made this hotel more special than most. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank country_trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your experience at The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that your expectations were exceeded and you have a great memory of your time with us.

I'm also pleased you acknowledged our pool in The Day Spa, its peaceful ambience makes it the perfect place to escape, and is definitely a favourite among our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

In favour of The Langham there were personal touches such as petit four in the room also complimentary water - these were appreciated.

We have visited the Langham when it was the Observatory, many times. Had functions, birthdays,anniversary and other special events, and have recently (before our stay) recommended to friends for functions and accommodation. It is now the Langham. Despite having a letter from The Langham setting out terms - given at reception. We encountered difficulties with GUARANTEED late check out - a call to our room in the morning asking when we were checking out and indicating we hadn't asked for it and they were fully booked and it was up to them! Afternoon tea - didn't advise we had to book. Key card to get to our room cancelled so couldn't get back in. All of these items could have been communicated on the letter. In addition I purchased a gift from Langham Shop to be dilivered to the room it wasn't. On complaining I was firstly told it was the travel providers fault! I poiinted out that the hotel had given me the letter and NOT the provider. I found general lack of training and professionalism. In addition why add pink ribbons etc which I understand is peculiar to The Langham, which clash dreadfully with the wonderful decor already in place! Breakfast was mediocre and for a five star establishment it just didn't cut it.

Having said the above I will say that the wait staff and the food in Galileo was wonderful. The wait staff in the bar were also very help[ful. These I believe were staff in place when Langham took over.

Would I visit again, probably not unless I hear it has improved considerably.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chooseygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

I was disappointed to read to hear that your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations.

I have brought your feedback to the attention of our Front Office Manager, who has begun implementing processes to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope that you will accept our apology and allow us the opportunity to show you this level of service is not indicative of the usual high standard at The Langham, Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife & I chose to stay at this hotel on our wedding night. As Sydney siders we rarely stay at a hotel in our own city, but we are glad we did. With everything one does for their wedding you really want to nail your choice so that everything is just perfect and memorable. The Langham continued our perfect wedding day with an elegant place to rest after a long but wonderful day.

Everything is done tastefully. The lobby is lovely and our Waterview suite was very spacious and just gorgeous in every way. Waking up to a lovely romantic breakfast with my wife was the highlight. Great service, lovely food and a hotel that keeps the period charm like no other. We'll be back when we next have an overnight stay in town for a show or just to relive the glamour of this hidden gem.

Everything's within walking distance and there is no traffic noise outside the hotel. It's the perfect oasis no matter what your business is in our beautiful harbour city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgalati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is a delight to hear that we were able to play a part in making your wedding day particularly special with our enchanting hospitality and leaving you with wonderful memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Good points: location, staff friendly and helpful. Extras in bathroom, like a loofah, body scrub and a huge bath. Good air conditioning on the hottest day ever recorded in Sydney. Free Wifi. Excellent poached eggs (specially ordered) fresh orange juice and pancakes for breakfast. Great espressos. Turn down service and slippers. Old world charm. Great martinis in the bar.
Not so good points: rooms above carpark so reversing trucks beeping early in Saturday morning. WiFi did not work on far side of bedroom. Mini bar not restocked. Tepid lumpy scrambled eggs and cold dry, chewey bacon on the buffet at breakfast. Rooms near service lift so noise heard constantly.
Would we go there again? Probably, would request different rooms but are keen to see other accommodation options in the area.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Simla_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us. However I was dissappointed to read the issues that you had at the hotel and I will pass on your feedback to the relevant department heads.

I acknowledge that our WiFi doesn't offer the best coverage at the moment, however upgrades are taking place and will be completed by the end of this month.

I am also pleased to announce we have appointed Anthony Craven as our new Executive Chef. Anthony is currrently working on improving our menus in both Globe Bar and Galileo Restaurant.

These are all welcome changes which we know that our guests will truly enjoy.

We hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First time in Sydney and what a great location!! Quiet street, close to everything, walking distance to the rocks. Staff are very professional yet friendly. Room was spacious, very comfortable bed, great shower/bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

A two night special on wotif found us this Sydney gem. Fabulous location, walk to the Quay and Darling Harbour. Gorgeous old building in excellent condition, large comfortable rooms with no noise from the city or other guests whatsoever. A little bit of old fashioned grandeur, but without pretensions. The swimming pool is worth the visit in its own right. The restuarant is first class, and for the fare, is reasonably priced. What made the Langham special however was the wonderful staff. They are one and all exceptional. Cheerful, friendly, full of excellent advice of the hotel and surrounds, you don't find service like this often. Explain Sydney's bus lanes, provide an unberella for a scorcher of a day: no problem. On our second night we took the concierge's advice to dine at the Lord Nelson, the pub 100 metres down the road. Not only the oldest pub in Australia but a place to visit in itself. Great food and wine at good prices. We will stay at the Langham again when next we visit Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Chris,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney.

We do have very high standard for both customer service and our overall guest experience, and I am pleased to hear your experience exceeded your expectations.

I'm delighted you were able to take advantage of our location, we think this our location is quite special and gives our guests a residential experience of Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a delightful 4 night break. Lovely rooms , spacious and comfortable, great location, we walked to everything. Lovely bar with superb staff and service. The hotel had a lovely personal, homely feel which is so refreshing compared to all the corporate hotels today. Concierge were fantastic, helping us to get a great dinner reservation at the cut bar and grill ( which is excellent). The only reason I give it 4 and not 5 stars is because they forgot to deliver our room service breakfast on the last day ( meaning we had no breakfast as we were checking out to get our flight), also although the decor in the rooms is beautiful it is looking tired and worn in some areas. Finally no shower gel and very stingy on supplying shampoo etc which was cheap and nasty, this needs changing quickly!! Lastly on another positive the pool and gym area is just stunning!! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Zella,

Thank you for your review of The Langham, Sydney.

It is wonderful to read that you delightful time whilst staying at our hotel. Thank you for acknowledging the staff at the hotel. They are a dedicated team of people and they are committed to ensuring our guests leave with great memories. It sounds like we have achieved this from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney!

Kind regards,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Rocks
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
Shangri-La Hotel Sydney
#24 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 4,674 reviews
Central Business District
Pullman Quay Grand Sydney Harbour
The Rocks
Park Hyatt Sydney
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#25 of 181 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 stars 3,063 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#8 Business Hotel in Sydney
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat has recently undergone a grand transformation, now boasting the largest guestrooms in the city. All rooms and suites feature opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, with the focus remaining on a grand residence experience for guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD; and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views across White Bay or a stunning city skyline outlook across Sydney. Our global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea hosted in opulent Palm Court. Channelling pure sophistication, indulge in harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing. As the sun sets over Palm Court Bar, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. The hotel is also host to Sydney dining hotspot "Kent Street Kitchen" led by internationally acclaimed Executive Chef, Thomas Heinrich. Delivering old world techniques combined with modern sophistication, everything in European chic can be anticipated. Featuring one of Sydney's most beautiful Chef's Table, three metres of white marble flanked by high back salmon chairs, Thomas Heinrich welcomes you to his personal table, positioned in the middle of the restaurant. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages advanced skin care from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and new partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences; The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons, elegant boxed take-away picnics, unique terrace dinners, cocktail tasting experiences and local touring options for a luxury clientele. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing