We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 25% OFF. BOOK NOW!
Ranked #12 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Campbelltown, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quality hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location just on the fringe of the city but an easy walk to business and entertainment areas. Spacious, clean rooms and staff are friendly and helpful. Restaurants are very good and attention to detail is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    188
    70
    24
    35
See reviews for
143
585
61
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Every stay is exceptional!! The staff are highly professional and friendly. Nothing but praise for all aspects including the location... 5 star plus more from arrival to departure! I love to recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Langham Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments and will be sure to share these with our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Wishing you a delightful day,
Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Whilst not the most modern of hotels, the room was spacious and clean and extremely comfortable. Pity the TV reception on Foxtel was not very good. Pleasant water view and nice touch of a balcony and fresh air. quiet location. The bathroom was spacious & blissful with a large deep sep bath and the indoor pool is the best I have ever had the pleasure to swim in. Quality, friendly, efficient service that you dont seem to get these days and value for money - my stay included breakfast & parking. I wouldnt hesitate staying here again or recommending.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us and will share them with the team.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had one night in Sydney and as I had always wanted to stay at The Observatory we took the opportunity in October. First impressions are that this is a beautiful intimate hotel, like walking into a fine home.

The service is outstanding from arrival kerbside. We arrived early and naturally our room was not ready, so headed out into the city on the promise of a call when the room was ready. The call came early afternoon, along with confirmation of a booking for high tea - a must do!

The accommodation floors are beautiful with plush carpet, classical artworks and floral display. We had a city view room and in our case we overlooked the street to Observatory Hill, so the city view was actually of lovely green street trees with park behind. French doors and a quaint balcony allowed us to bring Sydney into the room - breeze and birdsong and next to no traffic!

The room itself was huge and beautifully appointed - classical in decor - just lovely. A comfortable king bed with pillow menu. Ipod sound system and internet/wifi access all working simply. The bathroom was amongst the best I have ever seen in a hotel, large spa bath, large separate shower and two huge basins, with loads of amenities.

Five star Sydney without the noise and crowds of people - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at The Langham, Sydney on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We hope that you are an 1865 loyalty program member and will benefit from the many great advantages this program offers for your next stay at any Langham hotel worldwide.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the hotel staff to be impeccable, the rooms very spacious with a lovely view of darling harbour and great bathroom, great position between the rocks and darling harbour which is perfect for wandering and the hotel is located in a nice quiet quaint area. Would definitely recommend and will stay here again!

Room Tip: ask for water views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We are delighted to read your comments and will be sure to share these with our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Wishing you a delightful day,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The last time we stayed here this hotel was the Observatory Hotel Sydney. Now under the Langham Hotel banner the service has improved if this is possible. We stayed here recently and were upgraded to a junior suite, which had all the the required luxuries and a few more.
The service started at the front door and continued throughout our stay with all members of the staff we encountered. This is not a 'view" hotel, but is located on the edge of the historic rocks area of Sydney. It is close to Circular Quay for harbour excursions and the delights of the inner Sydney eateries. Being at the Rocks made it convenient to visit the market held every weekend just down the street. The Langham could benefit from a makeover but this did not detract from our stay. With our suite having one of the largest bathtubs amongst Sydney Hotels those of us that enjoy a long soak after a day of sightseeing are well catered for. At this time internet access is an extra expense, but join the Langham's frequent guest program and recieve a complimentary internet connection. We have stayed at most of Sydneys hotels and the Langham takes pride of place as one of our favourites. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Sydney. We were delighted to read your positive comments about your experience with us.

At Langham, we pride ourselves on knowing our guests and building great memories. It is wonderful to hear that you leave with your own special memories.

We hope that you are an 1865 loyalty program member and will benefit from the many great advantages this program offers (including complimentary internet access) for your next stay at any Langham hotel worldwide.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange NSW AUSTRALIA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for the second time at the Langham...the rooms are spacious are comfortable ...I must say the room we stayed in this time-111 was looking a little tired in comparison to the room we had on our last stay earlier this year. But all In all a fantastic hotel in a good location...the service is excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonia L, General Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear loyal guest,

Many thanks for reviewing your stay at The Langham, Sydney on TripAdvisor.

As a regular guest with us, it is always wonderful to read that we are continuing to create great memories time after time.

Have a delightful day and best regards,

Sonia Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at Sydney's newest and most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in the historic rocks district, on famous Kent Street, this beautiful five star retreat which has recently undergone a grand transformation and multi-million dollar redevelopment, boasts the largest guestrooms in the city. All featuring opening windows, Juliette balconies and/or signature terraces, a focus remains on a grand residence experience for all guests. Kent Street enjoys seclusion and privacy, whilst being a five minute stroll through The Rocks to The CBD and all of Sydney's iconic locations. Our signature Pink Taxi is onsite to deliver you to any appointment you need within the CBD, with compliments. Guests are treated to Western Harbour views from the moment they check-in, with all rooms and suites offering either Western Harbour or city skyline outlooks across Sydney. Our brand new global partner, Wedgwood, joins us for Afternoon Tea. Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood is now be hosted in our new dedicated afternoon tea space, Palm Court. Channelling pure opulence, expect harbourside views, light drenched spaces and ambience jazz playing in the backdrop, when you take part in this iconic Langham experience. As the sunsets over Palm Court, jazz and mixology come together to create a gastronomical tasting experience like no other. Whether it be for a quiet pre-dinner drink or lavish cocktails chilled with liquid nitrogen and tasting plates to accompany, Palm Court by night is an experience of its own. The Langham, Sydney also welcomes a brand new dining concept to the hotel in 2015. Kent Street Kitchen, led by Parisian trained, Chef de Cuisine, Daniel Rudolph (formerly of est.) Delivers old world techniques combined with fresh, modern twists. The restaurant itself has a strong focus on ambience, European jazz mixes and old school service. Kent Street Kitchen also features an exclusive Chef's Table in the middle of the restaurant, serving a full degustation menu, on a 3 metre white marble table. This impressive offering is set each evening with a beautiful dinner setting, glassware, silver candelabra and an ever-changing floral design. The Day Spa at The Langham, Sydney continues to offer relaxation and luxury at the highest level when it comes to personal escape. Our newly designed and extended spa features facials, massages and body treatments, as well as advanced skin care treatments from German beauty pioneers, BABOR, exclusive Blue Mountains based IKOU and our new exciting partner, Aromatherapy Associates. The Langham, Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, voted Sydney's #1 hotel pool experience at the end of 2014, features a star-dappled sky ceiling, meaning guests can swim under the stars, any time of the day or night. With a strong focus on luxury local experiences, The Langham, Sydney also offers private butler tennis afternoons on our cityscape court, elegant boxed take-away picnics, sunset sailing experiences, unique terrace dinners and cocktail tastings plus local touring experiences utilising our pink Langham bikes or Pink London Taxi. Modern Luxury and attention to detail, like Sydney has never experienced. Please, join us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Splendia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.