We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langham, Sydney

Save Saved
You added The Langham, Sydney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Langham, Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
$30m Transformation
Ranked #11 of 182 hotels in Sydney
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

A superb hotel. Comfortable rooms, a central yet secluded location, excellent restaurant and the most helpful concierge desk I have found in a long time.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    174
    65
    19
    33
See reviews for
124
551
54
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We had a 2 night stopover in Sydney and were lucky enough to book an one bedroom suite at an incredible rate. The suites are very comfortable, well decorated and a large bathroom with lots of amenities. We ate at the bar, Tapas style and found the food well above average. As throughout the hotel the level of service was exemplary and friendly. Definitely check out the pool. Highly recommended especially if you can score a good deal on a room.

Room Tip: Lookout for deals & grab a suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We are delighted you had an opportunity to experience Globe Bar & Brasserie and our amazing Subterranean 20 metre pool.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

While traveling in Sydney on vacation we stayed at this hotel for four nights. We were upgraded by the hotel upon arrival and stayed in a lovely junior suite that had a balcony with a water view. They hotel is located in "the Rocks" area of Sydney and there was lots to do and see within walking distance. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge staff.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice but try to get one that faces the water and has a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We are pleased you found the location of the hotel convenient for exploring Sydney’s attractions.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have stayed in a lot of hotels in Sydney for business and leisure, my first choice is always the Observatory if I can get a good deal. Look for great barging on certain dates and book the hotel and plan your trip around this. Great service, lovely homely rooms and once you walk in you do not want to leave.

Room Tip: Book on the last minute web sites and compare the deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your review of The Observatory Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback to share with our team.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Observatory Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Observatory was an amazing hotel experience. Having just married in Adelaide, two days prior to our stay, we were tired and need of some good relaxation.

We were greeted by friendly staff and, once hearing that we had just been married, were met with a platter of small desserts in our hotel room, with a personalised note. These small touches make such a difference!

The room was nothing short of beautiful, with an elegance that one does not find in the "modern" (or "sterile") hotel rooms that are out there. The room was peaceful and we could not hear any outside noises. The housekeeping staff turned down our bed every night and had the kettle boiled and our cups with teabags ready! The tea was high-quality herbal tea in silk bags. We were also given bottled drinking water by our bedside, which was also complimentary. Like I said, these are the small things that count!

The bed was comfortable, as were the pillows (shock! I usually seem to land hard pillows with the comfort level similar to that of laying your head on a chopping board in other hotels). The marble bathroom was huge, as was the size of the shower/bath.

There was no problem using the Internet (I was excited to see wedding pics up on Facebook!) and, when it was in use, the staff would ring my room to let me know when it was free.

I received a most relaxing massage in their Day Spa and had no problems getting a booking. The swimming pool area and facilities were of the highest standard and were immaculate.

We have recommended this hotel to everyone who asks us about Sydney and we will definitely be back! Loved it!

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Warmest Greetings from The Observatory Hotel

Congratulations on your recent wedding, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience The Day Spa and Health Club.

We look forward to hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Kindest of regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I was in Sydney for 2 nights in November and needed to stay in N.Sydney, but all hotels were sold out. I had stayed here 4 years ago on my last visit and called to see if they had space.
I was very pleased they had space and enjoyed another delightful stay in the best hotel I have stayed in since the last time I was in Sydney.

The rate for the room was less than for a lot of other hotels around the inner city for what was a truly luxurious experience. It took 10 minutes to cross the bridge to my meeting location.
Perfect and look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Observatory after we attended a special party for me held in a private room. Thanks to the Observatory, the function was an outstanding success. In fact I cannot fault any aspect of the event. The food, the service and the room were all superb. Special mention must be made of the staff - every staff member we came across were excellent. In particular, the staff members who looked after our function went above and beyond their duty to make sure that the party was the success that it was. As for the hotel itself, this was our second stay in eighteen months. As the first time, we found the hotel comfortable, elegant and well located. The breakfast is a must. I love this hotel and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main street will tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda P, Manager at The Langham, Sydney, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review of The Observatory Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your celebration, and I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team.

We hope you will have an occasion to stay with us again.

Kindest regards
Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Langham, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Sydney

Address: 89 - 113 Kent Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly The Observatory Hotel )
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Business Hotel in Sydney
#7 Family Hotel in Sydney
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham, Sydney 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience elegant and luxurious hospitality at The Langham, Sydney. Nestled in its most exclusive harbourside address, The Langham, Sydney boasts the largest guestrooms in Sydney including opening windows and balconies. From its historic Rocks district location, guests can enjoy sweeping western harbourside views, and a tranquil yet convenient proximity to some of the city's most iconic experiences. The Langham, Sydney's new Palm Court plays host to Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood, an exclusive experience at Langham hotels worldwide. For a one-of-a-kind contemporary fine-dining experience, Kent Street Kitchen will showcase innovative cuisine using premium local produce, executed with elegance and technical precision. The Day Spa will continue to offer Sydney's renowned spa experience, delivering a reinvigorated spa environment, that offers a holistic approach designed to restore the mind, body and soul. The all-inclusive Day Spa offers a holistic approach to health, fitness and wellness, with fully-equipped Health Club, Jacuzzi and steam rooms. The Langham Sydney's renowned 20m indoor pool, complete with pale stone columns and a star-dappled sky ceiling will remain, completing this ultimate oasis of serenity. We look forward to welcoming you to Sydney's most exclusive harbourside address upon reopening on December 1, 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Observatory Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langham, Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.