We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth Five Stars.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Astral Tower and Residences at The Star to your Saves list
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Pyrmont Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 185 Hotels in Sydney
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not worth Five Stars.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

We booked this hotel through our airmiles, and on arrival as we were a honeymoon couple we were upgraded to a harbour view room. You could just see the harbour bridge, but not a spectacularly great view. I found it quite stuffy in the room as no windows would open, which I understand the reasons for, being on a high floor, but some fresh air is much needed in the heat. Air con worked fine though. Staff really friendly and helpful, and service was always quick, polite and efficient. I do not think this hotel is 5 stars though, the bathroom resembled one you would find in a cheap hotel in Benidorm, definitely needed an upgrade and the communal areas, like lifts and corridors were dull and dirty. Bed was lovely, the room equally nice, but again no Wow factor. Great location though, a short walk to Darling Harbour which we loved. We did spend a few hours in the Casino which was fun, but cheesy as expected. Best thing about this place is the buffet breakfast, loads of selection and all really fresh. Pool area nice too, but nothing special. I think there are nicer hotels in Sydney for the money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    212
    114
    41
    31
See reviews for
197
178
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

I stayed here for an anniversary at the Star City Suite: it was simply divine, and could not have been any more perfect!

The suite is very, very roomy - with a dining room, a lounge area, huge flatscreen TV and a rather large and luxurious mini bar. The views from the suite are beautifully expansive, and reach from the harbour and Harbour Bridge, across to the city skyline.

The bedroom was amazing. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the mood lighting around the headboard was a lovely touch (you could change it to various different colours - talk about attention to detail!). Another large flatscreen TV greeted us in the bedroom, and there was yet another TV above the lovely spa bath in the bathroom (complete with a waterproof remote control!). The bathroom was just beautiful too (and very large), with no area spared from luxury. The suite was a little expensive, but it is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for a business trip. 3 nights in a standard room. I was quite looking forward to staying here, as i figured it would be a fairly nice hotel considering the Casino hotel here in Melbourne.
Yup. Wrong. Rooms were dated and stuffy (no opening windows). Made worse for me as my airconditioner didn't work properly. Woke me up at about 3am on the first night putting out a horrible racket, so I had to switch it off to get some sleep. This made the room incredibly stuffy. Horrible.
Didn't get fixed until the afternoon of the 3rd day - and the repair guys came in to fix it while I was in the room trying to work.
Some other negs:
Room service was not remotely reliable. Especially breakfast. I couldn't rely on it being delivered to my room on time, so after a couple of attempts I gave up and went out.
Room wasn't clean - just basic things like sticky table/bench tops and dirty seats.
The only positives were the concierge and the gym.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2010

Recently stayed here in two room types...the Star Suite and the Delux room.
Firstly, the Star Suite was well worth the little extra. Amazing room! Huge and luxurious. Only bad thing about this room is you don't get your own private balcony as all the rooms share the same long balcony. Even if there was a few sun beds or chairs on the balcony it would be lovely.
The Delux room was just plain and boring. A bit dated in parts but really average and not worth the money.
Things I liked about the hotel....the buffet breakfast was the BEST EVER HAD! Prebook this with your room for only $20 per person. The front desk staff were lovely and really went above and beyond. The pool area was brilliant. We were also given an early checkin and late checkout.
Things I didnt like about it....the lifts stop at the Casino level so they are always really busy and sssllllooow. Alot of larikans from the casino around too. Porters were slow with our bags but everything else was great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in Oct. We booked via Hotwire for $182 a night.

Arrived early and they had the room all ready which was great after 21hrs of flying, took a taxi from the airport for $40. Very nice hotel, clean, great pool area, gym, casino which we walked through quite a bit, but never played. We never ate there, so, can't comment on the food. The room was big and clean, bed was comfortable.... the only thing was the shower door, it was only a half door which seemed prevalent in Oz, water just poured out of the shower onto the floor when you're washing. Kind of annoying, but we didn't have to clean it up, so, no worries.

The location was perfect for us, we loved Darling Harbour more than Circular Quay (although the Quay has the better views). Darling Harbour has so much to do, aquarium, wildlife world, imax, shopping, TONS of restaurants, monorail, light rail, ferry to get around. We should have bought the week long pass for transit because it's best to take the ferry from the hotel to the Quay, but you could walk too I guess... 25mins walk or so, but I guess the ferry doesn't save you a ton of time, but it's a nice way to see the city.

We stayed at the Desert Garden Hotel in Uluru, Sheraton Mirage in PD, Marriott on College in Sydney, and Star City was our favourite of the bunch. Sydney is expensive, can't wait till they discover free refills at their restaurants especially since a small glass of Coke costs $6 at most restaurants, the other thing tin AUS hat was strange to us was the fact the bill never came after you were done eating. The food comes out quick, but after you're done and you tell them you're done, the bill never comes... you can try asking for it, but this sometimes doesn't work either... after a couple of nights we just went up to the till to pay because we had seen other people do this. Just different than what we're used to I guess.

Anyways, we were very pleased with Star City and would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

The Hotel is quite nice but you pay for it. Our first time so we stayed in an apartment which had 2 separate bedrooms, a living space and kitchen facilities. The room was large but not very clean (compared to the price of the hotel room). We went to look at the view from our balcony and I stepped on glass strewn over the tiles, we contacted housekeeping who came up and half heartedly looked for and cleaned up remainder of glass! Cleanliness was not up to standards at all with the remains of someones breakfast still on the brekkie counter and food streaks were visible, bathroom contained hairs and mould was visible on bathroom tiles!! Seriously, with the price of the rooms, you do expect a certain standard, but alas, this has not been maintained by Star City Hotel and Casino, beautiful landmark when she opened, but now just another monstrosity blocking the view of our gorgeous harbour! We will not be back and recommend Rydges and Quest apartments which outshine above establishment!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

We travel to Sydney several times a year. Star City has become our favorite places to stay.
Great location, close to shops,markets,restaurants,light rail and monorail.
Comfortable clean rooms.
Good range of restaurants.
Shows and gambling.
Lovely staff.
Lovely pool and spa.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Astral Tower and Residences at The Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Address: 80 Pyrmont Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#34 Family Hotel in Sydney
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Astral Tower and Residences at The Star 5*
Number of rooms: 476
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino Hotel Complex situated 1 km across Darling Harbour from the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Agoda, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Astral Tower and Residences at The Star reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Tower And Residences Hotel Sydney
Star City Sydney
Star City Hotel Sydney
City Star Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astral Tower and Residences at The Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.