We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“timeshare apartments...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney to your Saves list
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-35 Wentworth Ave, Crn Wentworth Ave & Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“timeshare apartments...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed in a 2 bedroom interconnecting 'presidential' apartment (room 1705)for 2 nights, the apartment wasn't that big, a little cramped (compared to the 2 bedroom apartment with the spa on the balcony) it would be very squashy getting 6 people in here which i wanted to do, but glad we didn't, the ensuite bathroom to room 1 had a broken shower (just a dribble came out) but room 2 had a full bathroom with shower and big jacuzzi bathtub, i arrived wearing my chef uniform, after a long day at work and asked the asian staff member on check in where would be nice to dine out for the night and if he could suggest anywhere good, he just laughed and said ("haha how about you cook for yourself) ....not impressed! if you ask for recommendations this should not be the answer! especially from someone who works in that area! after check in we were asked to sit in on a 90 minute timeshare meeting and were offered gifts for doing this, not interested because it's way too pricey, and it's a life commitment, even after you say no they persist asking if after the second night you would like to go to it, no thanks, the worst thing i found was the apartments are very noisey, i hardly slept the first night cause all i could here was the noisey sirens and car noise, even 17 floors up!!! overall the rooms are clean, tidy, modern with good aircon, it's location isn't that good it is quite a long walk down to darling harbour. we had breakfast the first morning in the cafe next to the lobby and waited nearly half an hour for 2 serves of raisin toast, way after our coffees were finished, second morning everything was good and quick they do bacon and eggs with coffee for $10 which is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    121
    40
    14
    3
See reviews for
50
96
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SYDNEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here. There are some things that I really like and other things that are a bit annoying.

When you first pull up there are only 2 car spaces and there doesn't seem to be a dedicated attendant out the front to direct you. When I caught the attention of the staff member walking back to the hotel I was directed to drive around the corner. They asked if I needed a trolley for my luggage and when I said yes they went to retreive one, then came back without it. I think they only have 1 for the whole hotel.

Check in was fine but I was offered no assistance in getting my bags up to my room so that was a bit of a struggle. The room was nice. 2 mini balconies, plenty of room. The TV in the bedroom didn't work. This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this hotel and both times the bedroom TV didn't work. The water pressure in the shower is horrendous. It's like being dribbled on. I respect the need to conserve water but it doesn't really achieve this when you need to spend so much longer in there to wash all the soap and shampoo off.

The wifi was so bad. I couldn't pick up the signal for my provider within the room (had no problem just outside the building) so I paid for wifi, only to have it not work at all and not load a single page. Extremely frustrating.

The placement of the powerpoints in the bathroom was odd. On a wall with no shelf nearby so pretty inconvenient.

The bed was really comfy as were the pillows.

My phone charger wasn't working and I called reception as most hotels I stayed in have spares but they did not. It's obviously not something they have to do but it was still a little annoying.

Overall I would stay here again but it's just the little things and attention to detail that stops this hotel from being great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here at least 5 times. We always enjoy the location, the pools, the beach, everything. The downside is the place is owned by a timeshare. We are lucky enough to have a good friend who invites us along each year. We drive, buy the food, enjoy the company... She gets room. Obviously we get the better deal. :-). Similar rentals in the area run $1000-$2000 US. If it wasn't for the timeshare... This would be our primary place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room was a 7 floor condo away from home. Close to rail, bus and all transportation. 30 minute walk to the Opera House. Centrally located in downtown Sydney. Kitchen was clean and well supplied. Would love to stay again.

Room Tip: Choose 7th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamManagement, Duty Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Wyndham Sydney. I’m glad that you had an enjoyable stay.

It's fantastic to hear you call Wyndham your home away from home as it is exactly what we strive to achieve for our Members and Guest . As you discovered, the other attractions of the City are easily accessible.

We are also happy to hear the hotel’s facilities and the service lived up to your expectations.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jerome Valdez
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Spacious, modern, comfort, 1min from Metro...What's not to love? (Stayed in August 2012)

Oh avoid the restaurateur downstairs. Great food but hiddeous attitude, when asked for a receipt. Separate owner from the Hotel with share access to service hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamManagement, Duty Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for sharing your experience at Wyndham Sydney.

I’m glad that you had an enjoyable stay. As you discovered, the other attractions of the City are easily accessible. We are also happy to hear the hotel’s room facilities and the service lived up to your expectations.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jerome Valdez
Duty Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Purchased a voucher for a cheap stay in the city, on the proviso that we attend a Wyndham presentation for 'approximately 90mins'. I guess you get what you pay for.

Pros:
* Separate lounge/dining area and a desk in the bedroom area
* Small balcony
* Well stocked kitchenette
* Safe in the room
* Bed is fantastic
* Service from most of the staff was good. This varied from really good to just downright rude, like the chef from the cafe downstairs charging into the lift without waiting for people to get out.

Cons:
* We were allocated a room on the 1st floor right at the corner of Goulburn & Wentworth Ave so it was noisy
* Curtains were not wide enough to keep the sunshine out in the mornings
* Money was spent on good beds but pillows were terrible and did not provide proper support
* Vent in the bathroom didn't seem to work
* Our room wasn't serviced during our entire stay (4 nights)
* Walls are paper thin and at about 7:15am on a Sunday morning we were woken by our neighbours doing the deed
* Location is terrible. We spent most of the weekend walking to and from the other side of the city
* At the Wyndham presentation, they had 3 different people try to sell us timeshare. When you say no, they get really disappointed and treat you like second class citizens. The 90min presentation turned into 2 hours of our lives we will never get back. Here's a tip Wyndham: If you want to convince prospective customers to purchase timeshare, maybe you should give them a nice room instead of pissing them off by giving them the worst room in your hotel.

Will not be coming back and will tell everyone to stay away from Wyndham/Worldmark. If you're travelling to Sydney, look for a hotel near QVB or up towards Circular Quay/The Rocks. It's the nicer part of town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamManagement, Duty Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from Wyndham Sydney!

We would like to thank you for taking time giving us review of our services. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation and not a satisfied one. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapse in service.

We value your feedback as we continuously improve our services for all our guests in the future.

Thank you once again.


Kind regards,

Jerome Valdez
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed with my husband and 2 kids. The rooms are just so clean, modern and updated. Maintenance were sent to our room by housekeeping to replace a cushion cover. He inspected those on the couch and bed and could not see which needed replacing so he called down to housekeeping who explained which cushion it was. The mark was so minor I wouldn't have even noticed and I am very fussy! Staff very helpful. Location is fine, easy to get to other parts of the city by foot or bus. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyndhamManagement, Duty Manager at Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from Wyndham Sydney!

On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for giving us a very good review of our services and commendation of our housekeeping team for their attention to detail.


Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Jerome Valdez
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney

Address: 34-35 Wentworth Ave, Crn Wentworth Ave & Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Sydney
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney is located in Australia’s largest and most exciting and diverse city, Wyndham Sydney offers spacious accommodation in the heart of it all. This stylish, modern hotel is within easy walking distance to all major attractions and just a short stroll from Hyde Park and the popular restaurant precincts of Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Surry Hills and vibrant nightlife of Oxford Street. Each apartment features a kitchenette and Juliet balcony (excluding Studio apartment), spacious living area with LCD television, a large bedroom and modern en-suite designed to meet the need of both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney Hotel Sydney
Wyndham Sydney
Sydney Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.