We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation, very friendly, helpful staff and a very well equipped room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney to your Saves list
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34-35 Wentworth Ave, Crn Wentworth Ave & Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 183 Hotels in Sydney
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation, very friendly, helpful staff and a very well equipped room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Comfortable accommodation, very helpful staff and a very well equipped room. We were given a very warm welcome to this hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and pleasant. It was very well equipped, with cooking facilities and every small detail had been thought of to make our stay enjoyable. I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    114
    39
    12
    3
See reviews for
48
86
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights for our wedding night as it was a wedding present. The unfriendliness of the staff began right when we walked through the door. Upon arriving after our reception, the staff asked why we were checking in so late and we replied that we had just come from our wedding reception. Staff simply said " Oh ". It wasn't as if we were asking for an upgrade, but a simple " Congratulations" would have gone a long way.

The next day, we had asked for some suggestions on what to do or sightsee and the man at reception simply pointed to the brochures near the lifts, completely unhelpful. The morning of our departure, we rang from our room to ask for more milk and towels and again, the same staff member told us to come down and get it from reception. It was pretty embarrasing to come down early in the morning wearing only pajamas in front of guests who were checking in.

Needless to say, we did not enjoy our stay here. I highly recommend finding another place to stay before going to this place

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Three of us stayed 4 nights over Christmas holiday. The hotel staff held some of our bags for free for the week prior to our stay while we travelled. The staff also helped us with a problem with our Orbitz reservation and offered us a satisfactory solution (unlike Orbitz). The room was nicely furnished, clean, and quiet. The shower had no curtain and was missing a sliding glass door, so the bathroom floor always got wet. The bed was comfortable, but our daughter had to sleep on a pull-out couch that was not as comfy. The room had a kitchen with sink, refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, dishes, utensils, cookware. We ate breakfasts and dinners in the room at the dining table. Train station and bus route just two blocks away. Convenient connections or long (but nice) walk to Circle Quay and ferries. Train to airport was fine and competitive with taxi for three.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbelltown, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We made an error in booking a studio for a one week stay. Room far too small to live in for a week but would be fine for one night. Kitchen well appointed but there was nowhere for two people to sit down to eat. Even a drop down table in the kitchen space with a couple of stools would have done the job. One desk and chair, and one small tub chair just not adequate. We could only lie on the bed to watch TV as the chairs were a) not comfortable, and b) there was nowhere to put them in order to watch the screen. The windows do not open either so we were forced to be air conditioned all the time.
Location extremely handy however and the staff were great. If you plan to stay more than one or two nights, book a one bedroom apartment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We found the Wyndham to be exactly what we needed. Doesn't look much from the outside but the room we had was clean and spacious, with a large bathroom and comfy king-size bed. The staff on reception are welcoming and polite.

It was about a 20 minute walk to the opera house, 20 to Kings Cross, 10 to the Botanical gardens and a 2 minute walk from Museum tube station and Hyde Park.

Our air con didn't work whilst we where there but the doors and windows opened which provided us with enough fresh air, we were high enough for the traffic below not to bother us. What they class as a balcony is about 5 inches wide so don't expect to be able to sit out on it.

I think next time we would look at staying closer to the Rocks as this is where we spent most of our time however the Wyndham had some of the best pricing over the New Year period which was what we needed.

The wifi deal is a rip off and you can get free wifi over the road from the Sydney Brewhouse if you buy a drink/food, you just need to ask for the password.

You can arrange a drop off at the Airport for $40 for 2 people, if there are more it works out cheaper. Whilst good on price the driver was extremely rude. He stopped once on the way and collected more people from outside other hotels, without checking properly which terminal they wanted to be taken to. When he dropped us off at International and found that 2 people wanted to go to the domestic he shouted at them and refused to take them, until the guy showed a booking form and then he had no choice. He then shouted at me for paying with some dollar coins and then at the traffic warden for telling him not to park in the middle of the road....the guy was arrogant and i wouldn't use his company again.

Room Tip: Go higher up to avoid traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before joining our cruise ship. The location was ok, the staff on the front desk were very helpful and the 1 bedroom apartment was a good size. The balcony was a waste of time, but as it was raining and we overlooked a main road, we were never planning on using it!

The best thing about the resort was the access to washing machines. The worst was the paper thin walls, which meant that the young child crying very early in the morning in the joining apartment next to us, woke us up earlier than we would have liked.

Linked to the hotel is a very pleasant cafe that provides a good choice of breakfast at reasonable prices and gives a discount to anyone staying in the hotel.

The hotel is close to the main shops and a very short walk away from the free bus that takes you round the heart of the city / circular quay.

All in all a good comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Try and ask for an apartment at the end of the corridor. As the floor we were on, the middle 2 apart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Good location 5 min walk to nearest train station, 10 min walk to main shopping areas.

Good quality apartments in a central location. Well equipped kitchenette, good size bathroom. Separate bedroom and lounge area with a sofa bed.
Plenty of shops and restaurants nearby, there's a Coles supermarket in World Square shopping centre 5 min walk away.

Self service laundry is handy. Only negative is Wifi was a little bit expensive but all in all a great property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney

Address: 34-35 Wentworth Ave, Crn Wentworth Ave & Goulburn St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Sydney
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney is located in Australia’s largest and most exciting and diverse city, Wyndham Sydney offers spacious accommodation in the heart of it all. This stylish, modern hotel is within easy walking distance to all major attractions and just a short stroll from Hyde Park and the popular restaurant precincts of Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Surry Hills and vibrant nightlife of Oxford Street. Each apartment features a kitchenette and Juliet balcony (excluding Studio apartment), spacious living area with LCD television, a large bedroom and modern en-suite designed to meet the need of both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney Hotel Sydney
Wyndham Sydney
Sydney Wyndham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts Asia Pacific Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.