We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

In town for business - first time at this property - located close to circular quay - reception staff very friendly . My room on level 2 had a small balcony with glimpses of the harbor bridge. Very roomy with excellent facilities and quiet. The bar within the property is one of old world charm with high backed chairs and a wonderful ambience
We took breakfast in house and found this to be first class also with the staff being highly attentive
In all a great property, elegant and inviting. Will be back

Room Tip: The property has either parkland views or glimpses of the bridge - higher is better however the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    289
    65
    18
    14
See reviews for
160
589
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very good property, with wonderful staff who will go out of their way to make sure you have a positive experience.

However, the location of the hotel, with an entrance to a freeway on one side, and the train station and the freeway on the other, will simply make it too difficult to sleep if you are a relatively light sleeper.

I probably should have been more careful with my choice, but from their photographs, it didn't look like they were super close to the start of the freeway. When I asked to be moved (having been upgraded), they upgraded me yet again, and moved me to a room on the other side of the building. This time, the room faced on to a bus stop, and was close to the train station and the other part of the same freeway.

Clearly, this is not something that the hotel has any control over, and that is why I have given them five stars. Their service, and the Olde Worlde Charme of the hotel is very appealing.

However, if you are a light or medium-light sleeper, you will find it difficult to sleep. Maybe that is the way with city hotel rooms, although I have stayed in other Sydney hotel rooms, and had a very quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

First trip to Australia and to Sydney. We wanted to stay somewhere close to all the attractions (Opera House and Sydney Harbor Bridge). This hotel is just up the road (3-5 minute walk) from the Opera House and Circular Quay with ferry rides, restaurants and shoppes. Also walking distance to The Rocks with great restaurants, shoppes, bars, and sights. Fantastic location! We took a double decker bus tour (hop on/hop off) and it has a stop by the Opera House which is super convenient to see the rest of the city. The staff was friendly and helpful. The young lady at the front desk put us on the 9th floor so we had views of the Opera House and the Harbor. The concierges were helpful and friendly with ideas. Matt helped arrange a taxi to the airport and came up to the room to make sure all the luggage would fit in a certain taxi before he called to arrange. I appreciated the extra effort! The rooms were large and the bathrooms spacious with marble. They had a fire going every night in the lobby to enjoy which is a nice touch. Would stay here again no doubt!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

this is our second stay at Sir Stanford. an excellent hotel, quaint with character. rooms are very big. staff excellent. food and bar all good. having stayed at many Sydney hotels, this is our favourite. only small deficit was that the previous persons used coffee cups were still outside our room on the second day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ended up here as a result of a Secret Hotel deal on lastminute.com - so you don't know where you're staying until you pay. I've never stayed here before but oh boy it has the goods. The concierge was straight onto parking my car for me, check-in was straightforward and there was a cosy fire in the lobby. For an extra $20 I had breakfast included.
The room overlooked parkland, it had a small balcony, the bathroom was enormous and marble. The bathtub was even big enough to wallow in.
The breakfast was excellent - poached eggs cooked to order with smoked salmon and sourdough toast as well as a very extensive buffet. Just could have done with a few more coffee refills.
Only slight annoyance was waiting until 3pm for check-in which is excessively late, especially when I'd been driving for three hours.
I'd love to return but have heard its days are numbered. What a shame that is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Kathy W,

Thank you for your kind words of feedback after your recent stay with us...

I am glad that you were pleasantly surprised with your Secret Hotel deal. Our location is just perfect for those weekend getaways and shopping trips in the City, especially during the mid year sales.
Currently there is no approval to redevelop the Hotel in the near future, so next time you are looking to stay in Sydney, head to our website to review the seasonal packages that we have available. There is something there for every occasion.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I originally decided to stay at the Sir Stamford because of the location, it is 5 minutes walk from the Opera house and ferry port making visiting all the tourist attractions easy and convenient.
However the location was just one of the good things about this hotel. Service was great, we arrived late at night after a long flight from the UK and was helped with our bags out of the taxi and quickly checked in with no problems. We ordered room service which arrived quickly and was lovely.

The room itself was huge and provided the little extras like dressing gowns which make it that bit nicer then other hotels. The rooms were very quiet, The entrance area and lobby was beautiful and we sat down there a few times during our trip. The rooftop pool was a great place to relax and very clean.

The only improvement I would recommend to this hotel is to put free wifi in the rooms and not just the lobby area.

My advice would be to book this hotel for any trips to Sydney!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela K, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Jenni H,

Thank you for selecting the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay for your recent stay in Sydney.

My staff are a huge part of the great success of our property and I am very glad that they met your expectations. Many of our guests return because of our staff.
Our rooms are very comfortable and very large, they are the perfect oasis for a stay in Sydney.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela King
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My daughter and I travelled to Sydney to experience some of Sydney's sights and to see a show. As it was our first trip to Sydney, I chose Sir Stamford mainly for it's proximity to the Opera House and sights around Circular Quay and The Rocks. What an inspired choice that turned out to be!
The location perfect, the room and decor was gorgeous, but it was the staff who truly made our experience five star. Sir Stamford will definitely become our "Must Have" accommodation on any return visits to Sydney! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.