We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Opera House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a stunning hotel close to the Opera House. We arrived to be greeted by the doorman, who promptly arranged for our car to be taken the the parking area.

Reception was quick and staff were smiling and extremely helpful. Our room was large and had a small balcony which faced towards the harbour giving us glimpes of the water.

We loved the lounge were you could sit quietly and chat with your friends. The bar was great and after a few drinks we wandered to the Opera House for the rest of our evening.

Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    289
    66
    18
    14
See reviews for
161
590
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary, we were upgraded to a superior king and the room was big, huge marble bathroom. Hotel is old but well looked after, you couldn't get a better spot, close to everything the city has to offer. Will def stay here again. The free room upgrade and complimentary champagne, it's these things that make a 5 star hotel stand out among the crowd.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frbill92@hotmail.com
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
288 helpful votes 288 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this wonderful hotel for three nights. The price was reasonable for a downtown Sidney hotel...about $250/night. My room was upgraded at no cost to a Harbor Bridge view that included a balcony, table and lounge chair. The room was a classic old hotel room but very comfortable. It had a marble bathroom with two sinks and a tub/shower combo. But the best thing about the hotel is the location. It is a short 5 minute walk to the Sydney Opera House and a shorter walk to the heart of the Circular Quay. Everything in downtown Sydney is within a 20 minute walk from the hotel including Darling Harbor. I definitely would stay here again on a future trip.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I recently spent a week here while on business in Sydney. From my arrival to my departure, the staff were excellent and my stay was without any difficulties. The great location near Circular Quay and the Rocks cannot be beat. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Charm, 'old world'..an oasis amongst new 'chic' ( read InterContinental next door ) hotels in area.
Perfect for Opera House, Botanic Gardens, and Circular Quay..with access to ferries, large ship terminal ( if your catching a ship..as we are ), or simply grab a subway train around corner..
LOTS of restaurants in CBD...all likely very overpriced, and tourist fare. Really needn't venture far. I'm sure hotel could serve you up something very good and competitively priced. Ambience in hotels..The Bar ..as good as any. Nice music, great art, high ceilings..fine things of a time long ago..

Room Tip: High floor, 7 or above, suggest its a special occasion, book as far in advance as allowable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac, France
Top Contributor
590 reviews 590 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 217 cities Reviews in 217 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A 5 minute walk from Circular Quay so right in the middle of it all but, the hotel remains calm, quiet and unruffled! Old fashioned - doesn't lack modern amenities but has a style reminiscent of the 30's/40's! Our room (suite) was cavernous (100m2++)with massive bedroom; 2 bathrooms ; living area etc... A small family could have moved in! (Restricted) view of the opera house and the bridge from some rooms.....

Room Tip: We had 912 - famous list of past guests incl Prime Ministers; Hollywood stars; Royalty....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Loved this hotel, very good service and would highly recommend it. Our suite was amazing with a fabulous sitting room and marble bathroom. Very quite and the view from the balcony was a bonus.The location was ideal just a quick walk to Circular Quay and the ferry.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.