We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel to stay in while in Sydney! We loved everything about it! We arrived in the morning from our flight. Although we could not get in our room, we were able to shower in the gym/spa area. And then were able to leave our luggage and go explore the city. The location was perfect! Everything was in walking distance. The room was very comfortable and the decor was elegant! The breakfast that came with our room was delicious! I hope to get back there again some day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Valued Early Arrival Guests
Thank you for the recommendations and information for early arriving guests. Room Service Breakfast is surely one of travelling pleasures - it ensures a good start to exploring, making the most of our beautiful city. We look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    289
    66
    18
    14
See reviews for
161
590
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were going to a show at the Opera House for my partners birthday so booked a Superior Room at Sir Stamford based on tripadvisor reviews. Had a very pleasant overnight stay. Very impressed with the friendliness and overall service from most of the staff. Breakfast was tasty with plenty of choices. ( loved the honey from the honeycomb). An older style but charming and nice little touches like the very clever wombat reading the chinese news.
Ideal location to the Opera House, Botanic Gardens, Circular Quay.
Thank you for those little special efforts that added to my lady's birthday and we will return. when next in Sydney.
.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Senior Global Contributor
Reading that you will return based on your experience is a great reward for us - as we are a small hotel in a city with many fine large competitor hotels. Yes our multi-lingual Mascot Morris is a very well educated wombat and does move around the hotel ensuring he brings cheer to all. We are delighted that we were chosen for such a special birthday treat.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good front of house. Maid service great anf good value snd locstion for exploring. Hotel was a little stodgy but thats what it is. A beautiful historic place. If you need anything ask Keirn. Use the 555 bus for city travel. All ferries are very close.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
On behalf of the hotel team thank you for your service accolades. Thanks also for the free 555 bus tip for city travel, the transport hub near our hotel is very convenient - the cities monorail is currently being dismantled, and following the re-development of the Darling Habour Conference area over the next few years, Circular Quay will no doubt will become even more popular.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the decor in this hotel. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Parlor area was nice to be able to sit and ready or use internet. Bar/restaurant was great to be able to rest and have a drink in after exploring the city. Easy access to Circular Quay, couldn't have gotten a better location, and for the value I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued New York Guests
Thank you for your recommendation to other travellers - we love having such a diverse range of travellers who appreciate our comfortable style. Circular Quay has a rich history - and the walking foreshore on our doorstep are has many detailed points of interest - a simple walk from our red canopied front door mixes the contemporary with the past - Sydney was certainly once a colouful colonial outpost. We hope you were able to explore the Blue Mountain area - so lovely in Spring and the wine areas of the Hunter Valley. If not we would love to welcome you back again.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for work and was struck by the decor, I felt like I walked into an old castle.

The decor was great and luxurious. The service in all areas was outstanding especially in the restaurant.

Close to the city but quiet to ensure rest. Being opposite government house there's plenty of security when you've decided to go for that late night walk!

Staying there next week again!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Business Guest
We look forward to meeting you again next week - you may just be able to enjoy our new Spring menu in The Dining Room - our little restaurant. This new menu highlights the best produce for the season and after a special tasting last evening we eagerly await your comments. Our decor is an eclectic mix of fine art, antiquities and furnishings from all over the world - and ensures we stand out from other hotels as you noticed - we agree with your comments about being safe and secure and in a relatively quiet area of the city. The Conservatorium of Music adjacent to the hotel does resemble a castle - as it was the original stables of Government House - it's worth a look if you are interested in the architectural history of Sydney. The NSW Art Gallery also has a very good Renaissance to Goya Exhiibition (just opened) and does have a late night during the week - Wednesdays - it's a good evening walk from the hotel.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great hotel for a Sydney weekend. Well located close to Circular Quay, Opera House, The Rocks, Royal Botanic Garden etc. Charming hotel. Nice rooms. Great breakfast. Helpful friendly staff. Will book again next time in Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Valued Melbourne Weekend Family Guest
We are very pleased you liked the hotel so much - and that you will join the other return guests we accommodate from Melbourne. Having the harbour so close does make it appealing and while Sydney does not have as many laneway secrets as Melbourne - there are certainly many interesting eateries and little bars (including our own) in this precinct. Several within a few hundred metres have won coveted "Hats" this week in the annual SMH Good Food Guide.
Thank you again for choosing our Nice Hotel
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwarrin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had difficulty finding a quality hotel for a reasonable price in Sydney and settled on the Sir Stamford for 4 adults and 2 kids for two nights in August 2013. We were pleasantly surprised! The location could not be better (very close to Circular Quay and the botanic gardens), the rooms were spacious and well fit out, the breakfast was excellent, and staff were friendly and very helpful. I have traveled a lot and I would say that the Sir Stamford was one of the better hotels I have stayed at. I would highly recommend it and would stay there again without a secound thought!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Valued Family Guests
We thank you for your generous endorsement - Sir Stamford is very proud of the guests comments we get from such a wide range local, international, business, couples - especially five star families. Our location, when viewed on maps - or from satelitte photographs - clearly shows the advantages - from Harbour Bridge to Opera House, Ferries to Botanical Gardens. Spending quality time with loved ones creates memories to cherish - but it's also nice to know we were value for money in our category. Staying at Sir Stamford does save valuable time in being so accessible to the cities Circular Quay hub in a hotel that stands out from it's modern highrise competitors.
KInd regards
Heather Idoine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.