We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #7 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is located in a great position , close to the Opera House and museum etc. the staff are wonderful anticipating every need. Room service is great value and very efficient. Breakfast fabulously cooked to order. View from some rooms outstanding . Will be where I stay in future

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued August Guests from Plymouth
Thank you for your generous rating, especially the mention of how wonderful the team was at anticipating your needs. 550 chandeliers and acres of Italian marble and fine art are complemented by a fine team, who represented by over 30 nationalities. Working in such a heritage environment on leafy Macquarie Street is a pleasure. Just this week one of our Housekeeping Team Leaders played for guests on the lobbies baby grand Steinway - they are a talented team.
Room service is often overlooked in reviews and we thank you for your positive commendation. We do not charge a tray charge and offer an interesting selection - especially the a la carte breakfast options. We sincerely look forward to your return.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    287
    65
    18
    14
See reviews for
159
588
55
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Beautifully decorated and furnished hotel in an exclusive location opposite the botanic gardens and up the hill from the Opera House. Had a huge log fire blazing when we were there, made it very cosy. Big bedrooms with comfortable bed. Definitely worth spending that little bit extra as a treat

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear valued TOP Reviewer
It's very impressive to have your 5 star rating. Thank you - our welcoming winter log fire in the lobby each evening is certainly one of our unique features - the Antique French rouge marble fireplace is very grand and the ambience created in the lobby is quite romantic we agree. We are very pleased you chose our hotel for your Sydney visit from Singapore.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melboune
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night on Saturday for the rugby at Olympic Park. We booked the celebration package which included a high tea, two dressing gowns to keep and breakfast. The hotel upgraded us on check in, to a deluxe room, which had a proper balcony and amazing views of the harbour. The high tea was amazing, great selection of little sandwiches and cakes, really felt able to relax and take our time.

The room was beautiful and the bed was really comfortable. It was very clean and all the furniture of a good standard.

Breakfast was nice with a good selection of items.

There are only a couple if minor things which the hotel could consider, to be clear, they didn't impact on our stay, but would just be finishing touches for this super hotel.

1). The toiletries in use look very cheap, for a high end hotel you expect a brand name, like Molton Brown or L'Occitane.

2). There should be one complimentary bottle of water per person

3). Showers over baths and shower curtains aren't the most classy look!

As I say overall a fantastic stay. We are regular visitors to Sydney and will always try and go for Sir Stamford now as they treated us so well, we will reward this with our loyalty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Melbourne Guests
Sydney has had so many world class sports events this winter, and the Bledisloe Game last weekend was no exception, especially if you supported the All Blacks. Our Celebration Package is a winner that has several generous inclusions and is good value especially on a Saturday. It can be booked direct with us on our website - see above. We appreciate your points for improvement - (we do acually have alternative bathroom amenities in different room grades - indeed our 14 suites do have L'Occitane). Yes we do have a small portion of our rooms have with a shower over bath, and we encourage our guests to tell us their preferences :- so don't hesitate to record this before your next visit. Many regular guests do build up their profiles and where possible we do our very best to allocate rooms that best suite their needs - such as facing the Gardens or Cicular Quay wthin the room grade they choose.
Being a heritage building there are quite a few interesting features throughout the hotel waiting to be discovered we look forward to your return. Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed as a break away for us both, in addition to having booked to see a concert and take in some sightseeing and shopping. We could not have been staying anywhere better. From the moment we arrived and stepped onto the "red" carpet, until the time we left, we were treated to a wonderful level of service from the staff we encountered. We were made to feel like Sir Stamford was our home for a time , and we were very warmly greeted each and every time we came back from an outing.
The rooms are spacious, well appointed , and our room with views over the Botanical Gardens was a pleasure to retreat back to after shopping and sightseeing. As a destination for friends travelling together it has many benefits, such as a basin for each person and a more than ample sized bathroom and wardrobe for two people. We booked for breakfast each day and found this to be a great way to start the day after an early morning walk around the Quay, opera house or botanical gardens.
The hotel is central to all the shuttle buses, ferries and tourist buses that are on the doorstep ready to take you in whichever direction you choose, for whatever your purpose.
We cannot speak highly enough of the staff who were so friendly and ready to help in any way possible.
This was my second stay at a Stamford Hotel and it was once again a pleasurable experience that will be memorable for both my daughter and I. (..{she has not stopped telling her friends about it )

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the botanical gardens are a great way to start the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Valued Tasmanian Guests
It's nice to hear that your special treat away exceeded your daughters expectations, and all your arrangments were enhanced by the welcome you both received whenever you crossed the red carpet. You have highlihgted the hotels many positive features for families or friends travelling together for which we thank you. A short break in Sydney designed around an exhibition or concert, and the Sir Stamford as your choice of accommodation is an ideal winter warmer. Thank you.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our harbour view suite had previously hosted Nicole Kidman, Margaret Thatcher and Kevin Rudd to name a few. The bar and room service food was fantastic and the staff were efficient and friendly. We chose the Stamford as it is close to the Opera House as we also had concert tickets. The Stamford is actually close to everything including lots of restaurants, shops, the train station and ferry services. We would happily stay at the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Valued Senior Suite Reviewer

Thank you for your 5 star review of one of our special suites - as our hotel only rises to level 10 we don't have the "panoramic views" that our neighbouring skyscraper hotels have, our views are framed either by the trees or the nearby buildings. However how right you are, as we are so close to the Opera House - last night we had many guests who went to 2 fabulous events at the Opera House - the Joan Baez concert and Tosca the Opera, There was a buzz about breakfast as they discussed the performances (great by all accounts). Today the Sydney outdoor 2014 Habour Opera performance dates was announced for Madame Butterfly from 21st March to 11th April 2014. This will be the third year of this spectacular event which is walking distance from Sir Stamford at Circular Quay across the Botanical gardens where the Opera is performed - on a water stage. We do look forward to seeing you on your return.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, NJ
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I LOVED almost everything about this hotel. From the gorgeous common sitting area on the first floor with fresh flowers, leather chairs, a roaring fire at night, and a half-hour of free WiFi access, to the Old World class and charm of the Bar and Dining Room, I felt I'd walked into the best of the past with modern conveniences. Everything was top notch: the room (ours viewed onto Luna Park under the Harbour Bridge), the marble bath with deeper-than-usual bath and shower; the gym, sauna, steam room, and outdoor pool on the 5th floor; the sumptuous breakfast included with our room price ("bed and breakfast" level payment); and especially all of the hotel staff. We had experienced a problem with a theft of belongings prior to arriving at the hotel, and as we worked through contacting police and trying to replace what we'd lost, each person we worked with on different shifts (easily 6) was friendly, polite, professional, and offering genuine concern and help. Guests accustomed to lower-priced hotels are sometimes put off by this class of hotel, under the sometimes-correct belief that staff are snobby and don't feel you belong there. This is NOT the case with this particular hotel - in fact, quite the reverse: we felt fully welcomed from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. You would think this would be basic common sense with five-star properties, but it's been our experience that it's not: so we offer high praise not only when treated decently, but especially when staff have gone above and beyond to be kind and helpful. There are only five things we've found that this hotel could do to be an even better property, and they're all relatively minor: (1) put a small outdoor spa tub in the same enclosure as the rooftop pool - it would fit in the corner where the railing looks onto the city and the side balconies; (2) take a trip to the Sydney Boulevard Hotel, see which towels they are using, and replace yours with them - another reviewer mentioned the scratchiness of the towels, and we have to agree they could be better; (3) purchase some additional dumbbells for the gym so that higher weights (up to 50 lbs U.S.) could be used - the ones in the hotel presently go up to 20; (4) get an extra weight pin for the one portion of the gym missing it, and repair the leg curl machine, which is presently disconnected and not working; and (5) offer free Internet service for up to 2 hours in common areas, and consider reducing your daily Internet rate from $25 to $15 or, better, $10. Aside from that, there's nothing more to say: we had an absolutely outstanding one-night experience for under $300 in downtown Sydney. As strange as it may sound, we have been in Sydney for three days so far, and our moments INSIDE this hotel have been the best part of our trip thus far. Our only regret is that we prebooked other hotels for our remaining 2 nights here, and that we won't be able to further enjoy the elegant charm that the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers.

Room Tip: Great mix of rooms here - some with sitting balcony, some with "Juliet" (no seating) balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Very Valued USA Guest

Encompasing reviews, which are so thorough never fail to astonish us as we reflect how savvy our travellers are - so observant. You've highlighted our best features and given us great pointers for improvement in such a generous style. We thank you very much one behalf of our tremendous team. PS The hot tub installation on the pool deck, is a first class idea.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Located just around the corner from Circular Quay, this was an ideal base for our visit to Sydney. The kids first time in Australia. Easy walking to all the sights and close to the parks and botanic gardens.

Hotel has a great atmosphere and the staff are very welcoming and efficient on arrival. The lounge behind the reception was really nice with an open fire going in the fireplace. Very 'olde worlde' as mentioned in earlier reviews, and all the nicer for that.

Room was large with large bathroom and 2 big beds for us and our 2 children. Very comfortable, but sadly not a great view.

Only downsides were breakfast - not included and very expensive (but so is most of Sydney to be fair), and poor/no wifi in the lounge. Otherwise a very good stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Well travelled Abu Dhabi Family
Your recommendation and comments are very graciously received as hotel in the United Arab Emirates certainly inspire us. It's always a challenge to satisfy a wider family group, so we are especially pleased to have a review from a well travelled family. The generous size of our rooms is a constant comment - we are very fortunate to be the beneficiaries of the hotels design by Ritz Carlton in 1990. Their legacy is now enjoyed by Sir Stamford's guests. Our staff, though are of course the icing on the cake and we understand that they bring the hotel's natural assets to light. Thank you for acknowledging their warmth and efficiency. Our views are mainly of the park and the city with the inner harbour views only available from higher floors. Being opposite such a large public domain is feature that many of our guests enjoy of all ages - from a simple picnic to a wedding ceremony. Thank you again.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.