We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fine hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sir Stamford was originally a Ritz Carlton property, which explains the quietly elegant ambiance. The location couldn't be better -- just off Circular Quay and walking distance to many fine restaurants and almost all the tourist attractions Sydney has to offer! We spent three nights at the hotel and particularly enjoyed the friendly and helpful concierge staff, the easily-accessible (though small) business centre, and the beautiful lobby, complete with spectacled wombat. I had thought I had booked our room with breakfast included (through Booking.com) but apparently did not -- we were embarrassed when we went to the dining room the first morning and were told by a stern hostess. It wasn't her fault, but I would warn others to be certain they book breakfast. Restaurant food in Sydney is quite expensive, and it's nice to have convenient access to breakfast in one's hotel. Our room, though very comfortable and elegant, was not, in my mind, the "superior" room we had reserved. Perhaps if I had said something to the reception staff after seeing the room, the room could have been changed. However it was only after seeing the room of our traveling companions that I found fault with our room, and I would have been too lazy to move after unpacking! (Their room had a sitting area and a large patio with table and chairs.) The only real shortcoming, though, was the lack of an in-room safe. It is a small hotel with a warm and cozy feel. I would highly recommend the Sir Stamford.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter, as are rooms overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Detroit Guest

We certainbly appreciate your fine review, your observations and 5 star rating following 3 nights with us and having friends stay in the hotel with you. Our lovely boutique hotel was orignally a Ritz Carlton, but has been lovingly owned and cared for by the Stamford Hotel Group for the past 13 years. This rich legacy has ensured that our guests, diners and other Sydney visitors enjoy the space and style of another era in one of the cities prime locations. We are perplexed though about your safe query as all guest rooms do have a room safe which is located in the bedside cabinet - and we do also have a safety deposit box at reception. Just last week we had to race to the airport to reunite a guest with passport and vauables which were inadvertantly left in the in room safe. Our resident mascot Morris has recently acquired the spectacles, perhaps it was a gift from a recent guest?

Safe travels.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    289
    66
    18
    14
See reviews for
161
589
56
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights, as my brother has his wedding party in this hotel. Room was extremely big, clean, and very classic style. I love the bathroom, big and very clean..the location is perfect, walking distance to circular quay station, Sydney opera house, and the rocks.. Breakfast choices is quite standard. The price is quite costly but when you see the room it will be worth..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Singapore Wedding Guest

Many thanks for your lovely review. Sir Stamford at Circular Quay is the perfect venue for a Sydney wedding party. We are so pleased that your brother and his bride chose the hotel. It is a privilege to be part of family celebrations and ensure that parties are able to walk so easily to the gardens or Opera House for ceremonies or photographs. Autumn and Spring are always popular although Sydney seems to attract weddings all year round. We have a specialist team to assist for these events whether they are small or large. We are very pleased you found the hotel to be good value.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinsale, Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Sir Stamford in March 2013. Everyone there was very helpful. They helped with everything from booking a production at the opera house to reservations at the most sought after restaurants.The breakfast buffet, which was included in my room rate, was spectacular.I had room service for dinner one night. It was served on the balcony overlooking the harbour. Very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors on the city side have a better view. I could see the harbour, small cruise ships and T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Yes I like the city side of the hotel as well - as it receives the afternoon sun and has views of the ferry and train terminals, and if a cruise ship is docked they can also be seen. However we know from our return guests that every perspective has it's supporters. The Chief Concierge and his team will always try their very best to secure restaurant and show bookings and they can be contacted via email for advance requests - no matter how a booking is made. Most of our balconies are Juliette style and perhaps a little too small to dine from, but the Terrace Rooms would certainly offer that facility - on a balmy evening it would be the perfect end to a Sydney day.

Many thanks
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at Sir Stamford for 3 nights en route to New Zealand. Having booked 4 months in advance, we found the best deals were on the hotel's own website so we booked with them. We got a great deal which included breakfast. The breakfast itself was fantastic, the à la carte hot menu was great and would have cost and extra 35AUD per person had it not been included in the offer we booked. The choice and quality of the food was great, many different choices of fruit, juices and eggs and even a real honeycombe.
We had booked a room with 2 double beds which was located on the ninth floor with a side view to Circular quay. The room was very large, the bed(s) very comfy and we had a big bathroom with a bath and separate shower. We were very happy with the room and there was no street noise to disturb us.

The lounge area behined the reception was also gorgeous, very old English style and a beautiful place to relax.

The only issue we had was when we came to pay the bill.
Firstly 8 mins of phone calls to Europe cost AUD 90 and two 2 second calls which were cut off cost 9 AUD each...very expensive!!
We were glad we had turned up for breakfast half an hour early on the morning we checked out, at 6:30am on a Saturday (over the weekend breakfast started at 7am, we were not made aware of this) - we certainly needed the extra half an hour!!
All we needed to do was deduct my phone calls from the total bill and then split the remaining bill by 2 and add on the phone calls onto my bill. However it was not that simple, we received a bill for each day and the man who was checking us out was not able to understand our request. So in the end I asked for the calculator and worked it out myself. We then had an additional complication as our debit cards were not accepted, so we had to then add another 1,5% to each of our bills for the credit card charge. So we also worked this out and talied it up with the total bill...all was fine, it seemed.
So my friend paid her bill and went to take some breakfast as by then we only had 10 mins to eat breakfast before our taxi was due to arrive. I then went to pay my bill and found that another 15AUD had been added to my bill, I was then told that this was the additional 1.5%, which we had already taken into account in our calculations. A more senior member of reception staff then appeared to check what the problem was and without looking at our calculations, also insisted that this was the add'l 1.5 %. This was incredibly annoying as she had not been involved in any of the discussions... I refused to pay the additional amount and the reception staff eventually charged me based on the original calculations! I could not believe however that it had taken 35 mins to sort the bill ...I am sure we were not the first group of people that wanted to pay separately!

That aside, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, the location was perfect as were the rooms and breakfast. Just beware of the phone charges and allow time for paying the bill if you're paying separately.

Room Tip: If you're travelling as friends, book a room with 2 double beds :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Our breakfast Honeycombe is a popular feature of our breakfast - very healthy.
Advance bookings offer guests a good discount if paid in advance - a very good tip if planning in advance for a special trip - great advice for future travellers and the Stamford Hotels and Resorts website does have seasonal specials and added value offers - thank you for mentioning. We do apologise for the change in staff during your 6.30am/7.00am check out and the lack of clarity/understanding in the splitting of the bill - sharing the bill is it common as we do get many friends and family travelling together and we will ensure our team is re-trained and this procedure. It must have been frustrating for you - but we are delighted that it did not marr your experience with us and you loved the property. Our twin rooms do have double double bedding and the sizes of our rooms/bahtrooms are generous - very good for sharing - especially for 3 days. Thank you for your patience.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We chose to stay in the Sir Stamford based upon its location. Right at the Quay, the opera house, the rocks, ferry quay and the botanic gardens were minutes walk away from this well appointed hotel. the hotel had character - from the front entrance with the red carpet and Victorian sandstone facade to the huge room that we had. Very friendly and helpful staff and an interesting Wombat in a waistcoat who moved about the foyer to various locations throughout the day!

The room was well equipped with everything you need - lots of books and literature about what to see in Sydney was very welcome. A Time Out was a very nice touch. The bathroom - well - if you like Marble, then you'll love it. 2 sinks, lovely big bath and effective shower - LOVED it!

All in all, a great place to stay in Sydney if you want to be at the centre of all the major sites!

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view of the harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

We are very pleased to receive such a high rating from well travelled, prodigious reviewers like yourselves. Morris our resident mascot wombat - is a very busy marsupial indeed and does enjoy his lobby duties very much. It is also a tribute to the team that you recognise their friendliness and helpfulness. Thank you - we know that staff enhance the our guest experience as well as the gorgeous marble, fine art, and chandeliers.

Sir Stamford offers visitors an alternative from the high rise modern offerings in this beautful location - with charm and character as your title so aptly states.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 night stay at this property. First of all the hotel is in a fabulous location. We were in Sydney to attend the Handa Opera on the Harbour in Farm Cove and to visit the NSW Art Gallery. We were able to easily walk to these locations. It is just a 10 minute walk to the Opera House and 5 minutes to the ferries at Circular Quay from the hotel. It is also near to the Cahill Expressway which means that it is about a 20 minute taxi ride to and from the airport. The Hotel is very close to the entrance to a great walk which takes you across the Cahill Expressway and onto the Harbour Bridge – an easy walk with great views onto Circular Quay and the Rocks; highly recommended. The hotel faces gardens and is near the Botanic Gardens.

The hotel itself is comfortable and has an old world feel – no minimalist style here. The room we had was huge. It had a king size bed, lounge suite and writing desk plus an enormous marble bathroom with double vanity and separate toilet. It also had a Juliet balcony facing the back of the property and onto Circular Quay. Couldn’t see the bridge but could see the cruise ships coming and going and the Sydney skyline. Staff were really nice and efficient. I thought the hotel was good value for money for the heart of Sydney. Our room was about $280 a night. I have paid more staying in Darling Harbour. We didn’t try breakfast and it wasn’t included in our room rate. There are many, many places to eat near the hotel.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Adelaide Guest

The Handa Opera on Sydney Harbour, was certainly a huge experience for many guests recently - the amazing outdoor performances on the harbour stage is now an annual spectacle - La Traviata last year and Carmen performed this year. Many guests combined it with quite different shows like the Adams Family and Driving Miss Daisy and War Horse! The next big event that we are anticipating is "Vivid" - the light spectacle on the waterfront from the Opera House to Walsh Bay - on our doorstep of course - light shows each evening from Friday 24th May until Queens Birthday Weekend in May is free. The light shows use the facades of buidlings and structures and the only obstacles are the number of tripods, as it is a photographers delight. It attracts internaitonal participants and visitors and and big crowds of Sydneysiders of course.

We do sincererly thank you for all your comments and photos of our rooms and bathrooms - as accuracy is so important - we are a 105 room, boutique, olde world style hotel and it does help future guests choose the right hotel. Over 500 chandeliers and one of the largest private fine art collections in Australia to surpise and delight our guests on our 10th floors.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked two rooms at this hotel after getting a pretty good deal on the net. The rooms were well presented, very spacious with extremely big and comfortable beds. Huge marble bathrooms and separate bath/ shower with double sinks, felt very luxurious! The second room I booked, had a couple of issues, leaky shower, light not working and problems with lock on the door, these issues were all fixed after being given clear and honest time frames with the staff very apologetic and they even sent a couple of bottles of wine up! Very good customer service. The location is great, very close to the circular quay train station, with direct link to airport (bout 20 mins). Highly recommended and good value for money for some of the most spacious rooms in Sydney!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for recognising good service and timely responsiveness for the maintenance issues in one of your rooms. We do have many travellers comment on the room sizes and the marble bathrooms - which are reminiscent of another era of travel when space and comfort were key requirements. Many visitors to Sydney are not aware of the approx 20 minute airport train option from both Domestic and International that does stop and depart from Circular Quay. Having too much luggage can be a issue but for those travelling light - the train does ensure a quick trip and we thank you for highlighting this in your 5 star review.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.