We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Saver - From $239
Ranked #8 of 184 Hotels in Sydney
Orange, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“If only!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

If only I could stay at the Sir Stamford more often! Unfortunately a tight departmental budget that must cope with multiple Sydney trips makes this a special occasion or 'good deal' option. Shame as its fantastic. From the welcoming staff to the luxurious rooms this is a place to be savoured. Each room is slightly different which, when combined with the public lounge and the atmospheric bar, give it a country house feel. Comfortable bed and quiet rooms are to be expected at this level but it's the little things like classic FM playing when you first enter your room rather than the in- house Muzak linked to the TV and some fake welcome message. And the tea things laid out on a side table rather than an adventure in finding the kettle let alone discovering a power point. Nice sun deck and small pool and great location near the Quay with a quick walk to the station which is on the airport line. Didn't need to use wireless but note comments by others, charging for wifi really is a thing of the past, funny that it's mostly hotels at the top end of the market which find it necessary to do so.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We very much apppreciate your 5 star review - our hotel must be a good match for your needs. It's nice to know that even for a business trip we make your stay in Sydney special. The hotel does offer competitive rates for companies with volume travel, which we hope has been negotiated for your department. We have only recently changed the tea and coffee making facilities to make them more accessible for guests - and place them near to a power point on a side table. It's great to see that this little change has been noticed. Cities can be noisier for some guests especially those from a country area like yourself so we are pleased you found your room quiet.
Travel for business should be a pleasure and we look forward to your return.
Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    279
    60
    18
    14
See reviews for
156
561
54
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. The location is brilliant - just around the corner from Circular Quay for direct trains to and from the airport and walking access to The Rocks, The Opera House and the ferry system to get you almost everywhere else in Sydney. The staff are wonderful - very helpful and attentive. The decor perfectly captures the ambiance of a lush boutique hotel and the rooms are huge - with the added bonus of a small Juliet balcony. I would thoroughly recommend the Sir Stamford at Circular Quay - particularly when you compare their prices to those of other similarly located hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued First Time Reviewer
We are honoured to be your first reviewed hotel and we do like your opinions and the 5 star rating. Great that you have mentioned our value as when comparison shopping on the various websites available we do try to ensure we have good advance purchase rates that provide good benefits for travellers who shop around. Our hotel website will always list any specials - for example we have a wonderful 2013 upcoming Winter Warmer Package that will provide superior rooms from $239.00 per night and some enticing extra options. The lobby fire will be lit in the evenings as soon as the winter starts and this does add to the already lush boutique atmosphere you described, so do come back for winte - perhaps even the Vivid Festival.in May.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The location of the hotel was very good for our two day stay in Sydney, very close to Botanical gardens, opera house and the Rocks. The reception is decorated in lovely colonial decor and the staff were very friendly. The room was very big and the bed was very comfortable although we found that the walls were very thin as the room next door had a few people in their room and we could hear a lot of noise and unfortunately we didn't get a great view but I suppose somebody has got to have a room facing the side street. We stayed in three hotels in Australia and this was the most expensive hotel out of them all so we expected free wi-fi (like we had received in the previous two hotels). The wi-fi here is extremely expensive as they charge you either per day or per minute so we didn't use it at all. I would recommend this hotel despite the little noise we had from other guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued UK Guests

It has been wonderful to have had so many international UK guests choose Sir Stamford at Circular Quay over the summer season - with the Lions Test, Manchestor United, and the Ashes all coming up in the future we expect many more. We are sorry that you experienced some noise from a neighbouring room - we do followup any calls to the Duty Manager so that we can address in a timely manner. Our 105 room boutique hotel has a variety of room styles from Superior to Presidential which has it's very own Steinway baby grand piano - and there are 3 sides to the building - Macquarie Street, Albert Steet and Philip Street. Guests can pay for an upgrade if they wish to change their room grade upon arrival (based on availability). It is only $50 extra per day for a Deluxe room for example and $150 additional per night for a suite. Our in room wifi is secure and is capped at $24.95 for a 24 hour period (up to 2 devices) but for short term use we do offer 30 minutes free per guest in the lobby area and also the business centre - which is near the Bar on the ground floor. We do thank you for recommending the hotel, and your 4 star rating.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle West, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect for our requirements. The superior twin room was luxurious and comfortable. There was an abundant supply of soft towels and the beds were very comfortable. The service was fabulous and, in fact, when we discovered we'd left a mobile phone in our car, which was valet parked, we phoned down to the front desk and the phone was brought to our room within 10 minutes or so. Would highly recommend this hotel. We weren't disturbed or woken by any noise at any time.

Room Tip: We had a fourth floor room with a Juliet balcony looking towards Circular Quay and could see some of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Newcastle Guest

Fabulous review - thank you. Delighted to hear that the team responded in a timely manner. Valet parking does have advantages. Sir Stamford at Circualar quay is relatively easy to access by vehicles as Macquarie Street is a wide two way tree lined road, with several main aterial motorways exits from the airport, the harbour bridge and the Eastern Distributor. We do have many regular guests from Newcastle and other nearby driving distance cities to Sydney. Parking is a premium in the CBD and $45 Valet parking or $35 self parking for 24 hours in our on site car park is convenient quite reasonable.

Kind regards and return again soon.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at Sir Stamford on Circular Quay as part of our Honeymoon trip.
This hotel is a classical beauty rich in colonial splendor and gives one the feeling of being special. It was of course named after Sir Stamford Raffles founder of Singapore (synonymous with Raffles Hotel) so what could we expect!!
The reception area and lounge are full of furnishings and pictures of an age before the glass and plastic of the modern hotel era. The staff were truly amazing, friendly, helpful and went out of their way to ensure we lacked for nothing.
Our room on the sixth floor had a lovely view over the Botanical Gardens and was so quiet we could even sleep with the doors to the Juliette Balcony open and from which we could see the QM2 leaving Sydney at midnight!! The room was huge clean and lacked for nothing with the linen changed daily and water and fruit provided. Breakfast was a bit pricey as was high tea but you only do this sort of thing once.
Free wifi was available in the lounge but you had to pay to use it in your room which was a bit of a nuisance in this age when we expect it to be freely available as standard
The location of the hotel was perfect just 5 minutes walk to Circular Quay and the main tourist attractions.
This hotel made our stay in Sydney perfect and we would have no hesitation in staying here agin on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a high floor with Juliette Balcony overlooking the Botanical Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Honeymoon Guests

Your review was so comprehensive, we truly appreciate your valuable comments (especially that you would return from the UK on another visit). Yes our name was inspired by the founder of Singapore and there are currenlty 7 other fine Stamford hotels within Australia and New Zealand. Location in large cities is so important for first time travellers and it can be a major saving as the convenience of accessing attractions and transport options saves both time and tiredness. The huge cruise ships coming and going everyday from Circular Quay are magnificent - even for locals. There are many waterways, islands and rivers in the Sydney harbour area and while a water taxi private hire to a waters edge restaurant is a deluxe option there are also small kayak companies that offer tours for the intrepid traveller. One of the most unusual treats is a seaplane flight to the Palm Beach area of Sydney for a light lunch - these leave from Rose Bay a nearby inner city suburb.

We look forward to your anniversary trip to Sydney.
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room with views over the harbour and bridge, well appointed, only down side was wifi, extremely expensive and so out of date for today's travellers. We spoke to the Concierge on a few separate occassions and with three different guys, all were superb, great service. Loved the colonial style and decor, a drink in the bar was very pleasant. Perfect location from which to explore Sydney and the room was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued New Zealand Guest

Thank you for your review - and your comments about location and staff. The Royal Botanic Gardens are accessible from several gates near the hotel, across Macquarie Street and many specialist areas from Succulents, Camelias, Begonias Gardens to the "dinasour" trees - the Wollemi Pines. Popular for the extensive walks around the harbours edge it has a small scenic train which departs every 20 mins from near the Opera House (weather permitting). A free guided walk daily at 10.30am from the Palm Grove Centre in the Gardens is a great introduction to the flora and fauna of Australia, plus a little history. Our Bar which you enjoyed is also a historic room, with original 1860's features retained from when the heritage buidling was NSW's first Health Department.

Free wifi for 30 minutes for houseguests is available in the lobby area and our ground floor business centre, however there are varying charges for in room use, which are relatively standard for Australian hotels. Thank you for your feedback we appreciate it.

Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night before taking a cruise that left from Sydney. There was some confusion about our airport pickup, however the hotel was very apologetic and we were not charged for the pickup.

Our room was very comfortable and had every amenity that we could want. The service was also very good. The breadfast buffet was excellent.

This hotel is also in a great location for walking around Sydney Harbor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear valued reviewer
Sir Stamford thanks you for your positive hotel review as the perfect cruise stopover hotel. We can see from 76 previous reviews you are very well travelled. Sydney has such a glorious harbour and cruise ships that dock in the Overseas passenger terminal in the Rocks are just a walk away (gently downhill approx 700 metres). Our rooms are a generous size and ideal as a base to explore the city and the hinterland prior or post cruises. Water Taxi's, day cruises and the many commuter ferries all depart just around the corner on Circular Quay. Guests who enjoyed the harbour performance of Carmen enjoyed the water taxi service to return them to the Quay.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.