We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney to your Saves list
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Friendly reception, nice spacious rooms, very clean, excellent service, great continental breakfast, great night sleep. We were amused by the chandelier in the toilet!
Would stay there again as we had a good experience there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

A classic review, which perfectly sums up our beautful boutique hotel experience. We thank you for taking the time to share your five star rating.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    318
    74
    20
    15
See reviews for
182
659
62
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a Deluxe King room. The room is very spacious with the most comfortable bed and pillows we have ever found in a hotel. There is a little balcony with opening doors which is a nice touch compared to other city hotels where you feel a little trapped in your room. Bathroom was large with separate toilet. The ambience of the hotel is relaxed, with beautiful antique furniture. The pool area is amazing for a city hotel. The pool is heated, there are deck chairs, tables and lovely plants around the area making it feel more like an apartment style setting than a hotel pool. The gym is well equipped.

The staff are friendly and helpful, without being cold and detached as you find in big hotels. We didn't dine at the hotel as there are so many restaurants and cafes around the area so we decided to get out and about a bit. We normally don't use public transport, but did this time to get around and out to a concert at Moore Park, and it is so easy to access from the hotel. Ferries, buses and train all 5 minutes walk away.

As we are from Sydney we drove in and used the hotel carpark. You do get discounted parking for $25 a day.

This is a lovely hotel and would definitely stay again if we are going to the city. For overseas travellers it is a perfect location with personal service you wouldn't get at the bigger chain hotels.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Sydney Guest

We loved your review, it is wonderful to hear from a Sydneysider how relevant Sir Stamford is to access local transport (especially for concerts out at Moore Park) and how well the hotel was rated as an overall experience (especially from a local). Our deluxe rooms are a nice upgrade and they do feature our special mattress topper that provides great bed comfort among other benefits such as room size.

We sincerely appreciate your comments.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We wanted a boutique hotel and Sir Stamford ticked all the boxes. Stayed 4 nights ahead of a cruise. The location was terrific and we preferred the continental breakfast- which was beautifully presented. I swam each morning in the rooftop pool. Where else could you enjoy that alone in a city centre hotel? We took advantage of the additional food and beverage credits. The food was very good and we sampled the Australian microbrews in the bar. The staff were ever helpful, thoughtful and courteous- whatever their role. The Hotel even graciously looked after our luggage while we had a few final hours in Sydney before our flight. We were so impressed, I have written this review in the airport departure lounge. Many thanks to all the staff for a lovely 25th wedding anniversary stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Choosing the perfect hotel for a 25th Anniversary is very important and we are very pleased we ticked all your boxes. Our summer special did offer some enticing credit options for guests and we are pleased you used yours in our lovely Bar and Restaurant. You obviously did your research well - our hotel website does list all our current specials.

There are just 8 hotels in the Stamford Hotels and Resorts Group, these were all hand picked by our owner who chose to manage our hotels and build a luxury brand within Australia and New Zealand. There are several group packages that are unique to our company and provide excellent value for travellers from Celebration to Romance and Seduction.

On behalf of our team, hank you again for choosing Sir Stamford at Circular Quay.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stopped here as part of our honeymoon and from the moment that we entered the hotel till the moment we left we could not find a fault. The hotel is smaller and less glitzy than some of the major chain hotels but is so much more friendly. Our room which overlooked Sydney Harbour Bridge and the Opera House was beautifully furnished and superbly serviced.
The position of the hotel is brilliant and you can be on circular quay or in the opera house or in the botanical gardens in minutes.
Both The Bar and the Dining Room serve beautiful food and drink. Breakfast is served in the Dining Room and is excellent.
The staff throughout the hotel could not have been better.
The whole place exudes class and quality.
It was so good we have booked to go again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Honeymoon Guests

We do look forward to your return. We are delighted that the hotel was to your satisfaction and that the friendliness of the staff was highlighted. While we are very proud of our fine art collection and the style of our heritage hotel, we are very aware that it is staff that provide the personal touch.

Some of our rooms have beautifully framed views of the Harbour Bridge, however the hotel is so close to Circular Quay (where the first Colonial Fleet landed) so all guests can easily meander from the Opera House to the Rocks, even walk over the bridge. The entrance to the Cahill pedestrian stairs are only 200 metres and this walkway is very good for photographers.

Thank you again for chosing our boutique 105 room hotel as part of your honeymoon.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stranraer, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

beautiful hotel,nice staff very friendly,lovely room and so close to circular quay, well worth the stay breakfast was buffet style as much as you wanted no queuing, and cocktails were delicious in the evening served by a lovely italian waiter who chatted happily to us 2 old frustrated women haha

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guests

We do thank you for awarding our 105 room boutique city hotel with five stars. We have over 30 nationalities among our staff members including several very charming Italians and when they get the opportunity they all do love to chat to guests about the city and their travels.

Kind regards
Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is situated around corner from Circular Quay and Opera House, short walk into city centre. Beautiful, grand and welcoming rooms, with very friendly staff made our 2 night stay not long enough. Will only stay here in the future and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Not really suitable for children..choose room overlooking Quay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Melbourne Guest

We do appreciate your 5 star review and your description of our "Grand and Comfortable" hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Having friendly staff, who show passion and go the extra mile is one of the missions of the Stamford Hotels and Resorts Group and we try our very best to recruit and train people who love the city, the hotel its' style and heritage and anticipating the needs of our guests. We are pleased that their friendliness shone through during your recent two day stay.

Kind regards
Heather idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This hotel was once a Ritz Carlton hotel, so the interior architecture design is fairly lavish, and pleasing to the eye. There is a nice sitting area just behind the reception desk, which is a pleasant place to sit and make use of the free wifi (wifi in your room is not free). Our room was very clean and spacious (we had a king bed). It was also well furnished. The bathroom was also spacious with a separate toilet. The staff was courteous and helpful. While not a cheap hotel, we felt the value to be reasonable. We ate breakfast at the restaurant. It was a bit expensive, but good quality. We went twice to the hotel bar/lounge. The drinks were a bit expensive, but good. We especially enjoyed a curry dish on the bar menu. This hotel is a short walk to Circular Quai, and the Sydney Opera House as well as the Cruise Ship terminal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSCQManager, General Manager at Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Our Heritage buidling began life as The NSW Health Department in the 1860's and now our Bar showcases that original architecture - so anyone can come in and and enjoy, sip a cocktail or partake one of our famous Devonshire or High Teas - 7 days a week, it's a welcome retreat from busy Circular Quay.

Converted into a hotel by Ritz Carlton in 1990, the hotel grew its' reputation as a classic boutique hotel under the Stamford Hotels and Resorts brand in the year 2000 and is the only hotel of the current 8 Stamfords to be afforded the title "Sir". This privilege is indeed due to the many fine pieces of art, furniture and fittings that adorn the hotel - including 3 Steinway Baby Grand Pianos and over 550 handcut chandliers!

Located at 93 Macquarie Street, (Opera House street end) , the hotel provides a calm oasis from the Rocks/Circular Quay area and gives guests many easy walking options and transport links to special city areas for first time and regular visitors.

Thank you for posting you review on our hotel, we appreciate it.

Heather Idoine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney

Address: 93 Macquarie Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sir Stamford at Circular Quay offers 105 generously sized, well appointed hotel guest rooms, including 15 hotel suites, the majority of deluxe rooms and suites feature French doors opening onto Juliet Balconies, which overlook the Sydney Harbour, Circular Quay, Sydney Conservatorium of Music or the Royal Botanic Gardens. Significant fine art collection featuring 18th Century Louis XV and Georgian antique furniture, Staffordshire ceramics, French marble urns, Persian rugs and hundreds of hand cut chandeliers. The hotel itself partly resides in a stunning 1897 historic Health Department Building. Open fireplaces in winter and the pleasure of a roof top swimming pool in the summer. A fully equipped gym complete with a sauna. Famous for High Teas, Sir Stamford at Circular Quay has excellent one bedroom suites and one of Sydney's largest Presidential suites complete with a Steinway baby grand piano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sir Stamford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sir Stamford at Circular Quay Hotel Sydney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.